We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Norcliffe Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
34
45
17
16
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
45
17
16
23
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Just arrived home after five day stay. Great value for money,Nick and Karen were excellent hosts and always had time for a chat and a laugh. Entertainment was good and room was clean and comfortable. If you're reading this, Nick, well done from room 26.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We have just retuned from a few days at the Norcliffe and have to say how much we enjoyed it.ok the place could do with a lick of paint but the room we had was ok linen was clean and towels soft.food was good,hot and always fresh,entertainment we enjoyed and the company were great.Nick and Karen are helpfull at all times and Nick is someone you will never forget.The pictures above are NOT the Norcliffe but it has good views and handy for shops and lovely walks.Weather was ugh but it didn.t spoil our stay.

Room Tip: wew were in room 27 but lots of stairs that could be a problem
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brawlassmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Would like to say what a lovely time my partner and I have had staying at norcliffe. Not long been back at home and already looking to return as soon as the weather brightens a little. We had a lovely clean room and warm hearty food. The views are amazing and location is picturesque. In house entertainment was very good with other local option like the theatre night on Wednesday great value. We read the reviews before deciding to go we didnt know what to expect. However upon our return, I am glad we decided to ignore these as they are unfair. We paid a very reasonable price to stay here and found that we got extremely good value for money which is all we wanted. Why do people expect the ritz at rock bottom cost? We will certainly be returning and would like to thank nick and Karen for their hospitality! Roll on sunshine!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eddyp100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My partner and i stayed here over xmas and must say we had a wonderful time. nick and Karen were both so hospitable and food was good too. Location is beautiful and its amazing value for money. Enjoyed the entertainment too. I'm already planning to go back next year with friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank natdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just returned from New year at the Norcliff, where do I begin we arrived by coach and were meet by hotel manager Nick who came onto the coach to welcome us and kissing all the ladies
I had phoned previous to our tour to alert the hotel of my wife's allergies to which Nick did not seem interest just keep saying no problem just remind me when you arrive.
At reception I reminded Nick's wife about the allergies and she was straight on the defensive however the allergy problem did not arise
There was no phone in our room, the bedding would not sell at a boot sale the shower was left over from Noah's ark, windows were filthy, TV was way out of date, head board not connected to bed but struck to wall, During the time we were there our room towels were never changed.
We went to the swimming pool for which there was a charge for the towel hire the 4ft 6in pool was only half full - disgraceful
the mini gym equipment was dangerous and broken, the sauna was not working
There was no heating in the pool area
how do they get away with advertising these facilities
Nick had this over whelming friendlyness and banter that he used to cover up the deficiencies of the hotel he seemed to me to rely on the senior guest being taken in by is charm in order to cover this nightmare
Food was served on very small plates to give the impression of a big meal, the waitresses had little idea of the job handling toast to guest and reaching across people to retrieve empty plates - food edible -- My wife dropped some food on the tablecloth at our first meal it was still there on our last day at breakfast
We selected this tour because it was well promoted and having recently got married we wanted our first new year married to be special so seeing the gala dinner was on offer we booked, when seeing the menu for New years eve the meal was cottage pie maybe very nice but not what you'd call a gala dinner so to escape the nightmare my wife and I booked ourselves in somewhere else we felt it was worth the extra expense to escape for the evening
New years night we returned to the hotel meal and entertainment (good) there is no central heating the ladies toilet on the ground floor resembled an icebox

Room Tip: go elsewhere
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews