We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel warm hosts make you feel welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Norcliffe Hotel
Ranked #138 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Friends stayed here on a week coach trip wanted everyone to know how welcome nick and staff made them feel. Good food,entertainment and hospitality. The bar was very reasonable and food very good plenty of choice. Good location. Would recommend hotel and would love to return again. Pool also available

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simmo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is a 2 star, its clean and tidy but in need of a makeover. Nick and his wife make you very welcome, The staff are very attentive and friendly, nothing is too much trouble for them, the food is edible but somewhat limited.

I would definately stay here again as its in a good position for hopping on the bus to venture out to other places.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A 2 star hotel but with 4 star service !
Stayed here for three nights over the Witsun Holiday. We were made to feel welcome from the minuet the coach stopped. The rooms are clean and tidy with tea & coffee facilities,the beds had clean linen.
This is a family run Hotel and the family ( Nick, Karen & Luke ) go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay. The food is mostly homemade, cooked and served on hot plates ! The dining room has a lovely view over Lymebay as does the lounge and a lot of the bedrooms.The bar area is a good size and can be used for the 'Entertainment'. We spent most evenings in the bar with the company of Nick who kept us entertained with stories of his childhood up to the presant day ! ! !
The hotel garden is ideal to sit in on a summer evening with a drink watching the sun go down.( it was too wet when we were there). There is also a swimming pool if required. Nearby you have The Cliff Railway, The Model Village and Bygones museum all worth a visit.
Thank you Nick for a nice weekend..............Ray & Charmaine

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We had a lovey weekend there nice place to stay, rooms were clean and comfortable, food was great and a very nice place with views that are wonderful to see
Nick and Karen are a great couple who looked after us well with a warm welcome we will be visiting there again soon
Many thanks
Vicki &Barry

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Baz711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This was a 4 Day/3 Night New Year break with David Urquhart Coach Travel and, taking into account it was a fairly late booking and a relatively low price in comparison with some others on offer, turned out to be fair value for what was on offer.
Family run, the hotel was quite well positioned and the family certainly put in an effort to help their guests. The bedroom/bathroom were both small and basic (e.g tea/coffee making facilities and very small screen tv but, never-the-less, good picture and soap only in the bathroom). More importantly, both were clean. Not the type of room though where you might want to sit around in for any length of time.
The dining room and lounge were both nicely positioned and the breakfasts were satisfactory as were the evening meals - which had to be pre-ordered and a somewhat limited choice - apart from one evening when my partner was disappointed with her offering.
Must be very difficult for hotels to survive in this day and age and no doubt costs have to be carefully considered but on New Years Day, when the weather was too adverse to venture out, it was not much fun sittting in a cold lounge!
That apart, we had an enjoyable few days and here we would like to say thank you to the other members of our coach party who were certainly amongst the friendlinest we have come across.
Whilst we would have no plans to return to the Norcliffe, we would wish them well in the future. .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Really enjoyable break. I dont know what people expect from a two star rated hotel,yes its basic but the beds had clean linen and were comfortable, there was plenty of hot water with a powerful shower. The tea and coffee was replenished every day. The food was very good, hot and plentiful, the scrambled eggs one of the best i have ever tasted in a hotel. It was good to have such friendly owners who made you feel at home here. One niggle the swimming pool was closed and we would have liked to use this facility. Maybe next time ..............
Chris and Ivor Southall - West Bromwich

Room Tip: A room facing the sea, fantastic location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrissouthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Norcliffe. Wasn't sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews. However we enjoyed it so much we are already planning to return. The room ticked all the boxes, clean, warm with a bath and shower. (Not all rooms have a bath). The food was cooked well and there was plenty of choice to suit all tastes. The entertainment was very good and the cash bingo during the early evening was good fun. All this was the result of the enthusiasm, hard work and customer service of the owner Nick. This hotel may be only rated a 2 star overall but deserves 4 stars for Customer Enjoyment!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 20 which has a partial sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anitabuckleyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#84 of 86 in Torquay
364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 86 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#36 of 86 in Torquay
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 86 in Torquay
1,283 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#44 of 150 in Torquay
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Downs, Babbacombe
The Downs, Babbacombe
#40 of 150 in Torquay
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norcliffe Hotel

Address: Seafront | Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
The Norcliffe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing