We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“God's waiting room needs redecorating!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rainbow International Hotel
Ranked #51 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“God's waiting room needs redecorating!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I will start with a positive - The young man on reception called Michael was really friendly and helpful, and our room was a decent size. It was made bigger by the holes in the ceiling tiles! Last decorated in the 90's this is a very sad and tired hotel. to quote a Radio 6 DJ it is the type of hotel that "caters for people who don't care what they eat so long as there is plenty of it!" I had the tomato soup to start - red salt water would be a better description. I followed this with boiled turkey (yes ...boiled!) roast potatoes hard on the outside and mush in the middle, still hard frozen veg and watery gravy. I was amazed at how good the chef was at removing any trace of flavour. The only good part was the cheddar on the cheese board. The bar was unmanned so we couldn't even get a drink to wash it down with - just water from a machine. Breakfast was more of the same, I wont bore you. In a town full of faded hotels this is very definately one to miss

Room Tip: choose one in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raoulthemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    307
    193
    102
    131
See reviews for
145
378
46
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

In January 2013 my wife and I had a four night stay at the Rainbow International; we enjoyed our stay so much that I said we would return as soon as we could. On Monday 17th February this year we did return on a ‘Just Go Holiday’.
Our room was warm and clean, the entertainment was good, and all the staff were pleasant and helpful. Now I come to the highlight of the hotel, the dinners, they are fantastic, I can’t speak highly enough of the Chefs, what they serve in the restaurant is nothing short of magic. Thanks to all the staff at the Rainbow for making our stay so pleasent, I only hope we will be able to return again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger H, Operations Director at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed yourselves staying with us.
I will pass on your compliments to our chefs, and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neath
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Travled by car,plenty of parking.Hotel was warm and staff very friendly.Room was clean and tidy though furniture was dated bed and towels excellent.Breakfast was good but would have liked scrambled eggs on the buffet.Evening meal was superb,mashed and roast potatoes were like home cooking,no powdered mash here,the Devon oatmeal soup was brilliant and so was the sweet selection.Staff in the dining room appeared like magic to remove used plates as soon as you finished,no waiting.One regret we had was the table allocated for the burlesque show we could not see the stage properly,would have paid extra to get a front row seat down stairs on the dancefloor,being old it brings back memories.Overall a really excellent weekendand tremendous value for money.Pity about the weather especially Friday night but Sunday was lovelly and sunny.Will come back again.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor 2 have double glazing so are much warmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithfromneath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Travelled with Just Go for a four night break . We enjoyed our stay very much . The hotel is in need of a refurbish but the friendly staff and great food make up for that. But for what we paid it was excellent value for money and we will certainly return .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fluffyblackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This place is such super value for money !!! Food, room, entertainment worth every penny..
Shame some others don't really understand what they get for the cash...
Rainbow is a happy friendly hotel, it's situated in a lovely spot and our family are looking forward to our third visit this year in August!!!


Long may the rainbow continue!!

Julie Coe

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tawn1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Had a great birthday weekend at the Rainbow.. As ever staff and owner were great. Food excellent, great entertainment and the Torre Abbey room was worth the upgrade...
The best value hotel in the UK for sure!!
Thanks see you in August!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank caking99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Wanted a weekend away with a friend. Looked around and found the Rainbow International. On checking the hotel web site found that they had a specialist weekend. (Psychic Weekend). Not really my cup of tea but they were offering a bed, breakfast and evening meal package and free entry to all the different events for £75.00 per person for two nights this seemed like excellent value.

Upon arrival there is no getting away from the fact that the hotel is a little tired and dated. But we were given a friendly welcome on reception and dealt with very quickly. On arrival at our room again it was a little tired and dated and the wallpaper on all four walls took a bit of adjustment but the room was spotlessly clean. I think we were at the back of the main part of the hotel, as I had lost my sense of bearings due to the layout of the hotel, our window overlooked the trees so it was very pleasant. I think we must have had one of the bathrooms that had been updated as it was bright and clean (not at all like the pictures I had seen from previous reviewers) I was pleasantly surprised to find that we had a Jacuzzi bath but was slightly confused by the shower arrangement. The bath had a mixer tap with shower head but this was fixed to the wall very low down. (Ok if you wanted to wash your knees) There was no shower curtain or enclosure so didn’t use it for fear of flooding the bathroom. (Have to say I do prefer a shower in the morning). At the time I woke up in the morning there was only tepid water available for the bath so not the most pleasant way to have a bath but not the end of the world.

Going down to dinner we were greeted warmly by the staff and taken through in detail how we severed ourselves to the three course meal. There were two different soups on offer along with three choices for your main meal and then a variety of sweets. All the food was hot and well cooked and thoroughly enjoyed on both evenings. In our case as we left the table to get our next course by the time we came back the table was clear of the previous course. One thing I did miss in the evening, or it could be down to me not asking, there was no coffee or tea available. The bar was open so you could buy wine and drinks for your meal but I do like a cup of coffee to round off a good meal. (again a personal preference).

Breakfast was the same arrangement helping yourself to juices and cereals and then a cooked breakfast. Only two points for me with the breakfast was no mushrooms (personal favourite) and no scrambled egg (preferred over fried) but again the quality of the food was excellent. (have to say compliments to the chef as the fried eggs did not have hard bottoms and the yolk was runny, lovely)

I am due back with my husband in a couple of weeks, again to a speciality weekend and have not been put off at all. The comfy bed, clean room, excellent food, friendly staff and value for money more than make up for the tired and dated décor.

Watch this space for my return visit review

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheyanne50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#81 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#44 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bancourt Hotel
Bancourt Hotel
#85 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow International Hotel

Property: Rainbow International Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rainbow International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Rainbow International Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing