We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“down the dip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rainbow International Hotel
Ranked #56 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“down the dip”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

what a shame was one of the best hotels in torquay,this year the standards have dropped so much,the food was repetive every night roast beef no selection on cheeseboard when there was a cheeseboard ,over priced beers,that were flat,dangerous showers hot water coming out of cold taps.the young thin chef quite rude,when i asked for something different.nothing special about hotel no more,another one bites the dust..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger H, Operations Director at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Anne C

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
We have, on our menu, 2 roast joints every evening, as well as specialities - including vegetarian dishes, or a cold meat selection if preferred.
We offer cheddar cheese on our buffet, we do not offer a "cheese board". I am sorry you were disappointed.
Regarding the prices of beers, we are competitive with all the local bars & considerably cheaper than other similar standard hotel bars.

I cannot comment on the hot water coming out of the cold taps, as we are not aware of this report & it is difficult for me to follow it through when I have no information of your room number or date of stay.

I find it very hard to believe that any of my chefs would be rude to any guests. the youngest chef we have, may not have understood fully what was being requested. Please accept my apologies for his misunderstanding.

I do hope you will come back & join us again.

Roger
Operation Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    318
    197
    108
    135
See reviews for
152
394
46
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The staff are helpful, entertainment room is nicely designed, but the hotel is clearly not being maintained, Much decoration is needed. The swinging pool is small but adequate. If you like greasy food and over boiled vegetables then the restaurant is fine. Salad only seems to be available if you ask for it. The bear in the bars had that watered down taste. But can't fault the staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickymuddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Rainbow Hotel has clearly seen better days. I spent a weekend there at the end of February 2014 and noticed that the carpets were badly stained in many places while some of the paintwork was in need of renewing.

The rooms, which are accessed by a veritable maze of narrow corridors and only poorly signposted are adequately furnished though mine had a window which didn't properly close admitting a draught which was particularly noisy at such time as when the outside wind blew strongly.

The corridors were characterised by creaky floors which did little to enhance a quiet night's sleep. There is also an attached 'night club' open 'till late' the noise from which reverberates through the lower floors of the hotel though was virtually inaudible on the fifth floor where my room was situated.

The restaurant served truly excellent well cooked English food on a buffet basis and in seemingly limitless quantities while the restaurant staff, most of whom appeared to be from Eastern Europe, had only a limited command of English such that I experienced difficulty in explaining what I meant when asking for a wine list.

All of that said, the weekend break offered by the hotel, which included entrance to a boogie-woogie music festival being held in the 'night club', represented excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor are the quitest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepton Mallet, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

excellent choice of food . lovely staff. If any criticism at all rooms look a little dated and tired but are very comfortable. The night entertainment is worth seeing .The bar is a little pricey which stopped me from buying as much as I might.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

took a five day break with National Holidays and you know, you just cannot fault the package they provide in terms of value. We had two trips out included to Devonport and Plymouth both excellent though the weather was not that good. Hotel staff were very nice and could not have been more helpful. Restaurant was good with a nice touch every evening which offered an additional "freshly cooked" main course - had to wait a wee while but well worth it. Hotel looking a little battle worn in places but there was nice atmosphere. There was an excellent concert with reasonable entertainment nightly including BINGO - the room was spoiled due to the fact that it was very poorly heated, many people went back for coats or simply left as it was so uncomfortable. Pool was small and once again, poorly heated, there is no sauna or Jacuzzi and a single shower in the tiny changing rooms. The Torbay area is splendid and you are sure to enjoy looking around Torquay and the other local towns a short bus ride away

Room Tip: rooms on sub ground floor to be avoided - very cold down there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicholass d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned again for a short break with family after new year break, food was excellent again with a good selection and well cooked, friendly happy staff make this place, Exceptional value thank you for looking after us so well and see you soon new year booked again

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank penden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger H, Operations Director at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us once more.
We look forward to seeing you again for the New Year break ... if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from a stay at the Rainbow this weekend( February 21st to 23rd 2014). Booked online 2 twin rooms , the rooms were spacious and clean. The buffet breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. The dinner was such good value and the best carvery I have had, everything was fresh and well cooked and replenished all the time .The pool was lovely and clean ( although a tad cold) . All the staff were helpful and polite. We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel and will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salsaliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger H, Operations Director at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hello
Many thanks for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to hopefully welcoming you back with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 87 in Torquay
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 87 in Torquay
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#54 of 87 in Torquay
754 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,281 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#38 of 87 in Torquay
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow International Hotel

Property: Rainbow International Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rainbow International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Rainbow International Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing