We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riviera Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orestone Manor(Torquay)
US$405
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$155
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$147
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cimon(Torquay)
US$126
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marquis Hotel(Torquay)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,045)
Filter reviews
1,045 results
Traveller rating
202
353
219
116
155
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
202
353
219
116
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrainbow hotelnational holidaysbuffet styleplenty of choicebit datedbreakfast and dinnerhalf boardcoach holidaybar priceseach eveningporridgeexcellent value for moneysea frontlong weekendgreat weekendtown centrecouldn't fault
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
607 - 612 of 1,045 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We booked an overnight stay here for me the wife and my granddaughter in a family room with breakfast and paid in full through Superbreak Reservations.
We arrived at about Eleven am and were advised our room was ready early and we could move in immediately.So far so good
Then we were advised that in fact we had to pay for our five year old granddaughters breakfast whether she had any or not although according to our receipt it was already paid.But the receptionist pointed out something in the small print to say meals had to be paid for and so we paid up.
The room was clean and tidy the staff very friendly and the breakfast very good. I do not like feeling like i have been ripped off so beware if you book for any unseen extras. This spoilt what was otherwise a very good break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carpetman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger H, Operations Director at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear carpetman56

Thank you for your nice comments regarding the hotel and staff. With regards to your room booked via Superbreaks, the offer with the family room is that the childs accommodation is free of charge, however any meals during the stay are charged for at the hotel on arrival. This is in accordance with your booking, i.e if you have booked Bed & Breakfast, you will be charged for the childs breakfast on arrival (£3.95).

I am sorry if your booking agent did not make you aware of this, however it would have been printed on your booking form and is also noted on their website and in their brochures.

Thank you again for your lovely comments and we hope you will return to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have had one of the best hotel stays we have ever had in the UK. The Rainbow is a lovely hotel , well maintained both inside and out. The food is good, and plentiful,
and the room was clean and comfortable What more can I say? Oh yes! The staff are very helpful.. We will most certainly visit again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travellerColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

we stayed at rainbow hotel in march 2014 for our third time again i upgraded to the burlesqe room as i did before luv that room my brother had single room he was happy with that his room bit small but ok for what he wanted but i have to have double room for my comfort as i spend more time in room i like to be home from home the upstairs rooms are better we enjoyed turkey nd tinsel last year it was brill best xmas decor i have seen that was in nov or dec we looking to go back to rainbow again sept or nov can't wait staff are lovely nd friendly very helpfull food is brill

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors are better
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 613shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Fantastic value for the money. Basic rooms but clean and comfortable. Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent buffet food. The indoor Pool was small but very clean as were the changing facilities.Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We had a double room facing the main road, but the traffic noise wasn't a problem. We were a good distance from the Ballroom so experienced no music noise.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 5 day break with National Holidays. On arrival check in was quick and efficient. Our room was on the first floor, which is located two levels below the dining room and show bar. It was was bright and very clean, also very warm with the radiator on.

The meals were buffet style with a great selection. Everything you could ask for at breakfast, always fresh and warm. There was a carvery each evening, also a selection on a specials board. Desserts were delicious!

The hotel was in an excellent location and very good value for money. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: March 2014
4  Thank 52Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews