We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent!”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #56 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Brillant hotel absolutly loved it. Brillant indoor pool, great entertainment at night lovley staff workers, love the resturant food was lovley and very tasty. Our hotel room was quite cold but we didnt complain due to us not freezing but was a lovley hotel room very very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    321
    197
    108
    137
See reviews for
153
398
46
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed for one night on a coach trip. After reading the reviews on here and realising there could be a lot of stairs involved, I rang the hotel and we were promised a room accessible by lift. We had a lovely room overlooking the tennis club next door. Very quiet and peaceful during the night and waking to hear nothing but birdsong was a real treat. The food is great - I'm diabetic and normally find one menu option I can eat but here it was fantastic to have a carvery and a wide choice. Good quality food, well-cooked. The buffet breakfast was just as good. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. My only regret is that I didn't pack my swimsuit so couldn't use the pool. A very pleasant stay in a warm and friendly hotel. We're undecided about Torquay, but if we ever go back we'll happily return to the Rainbow International.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

went on a 5 day break with National Holidays. We were disappointed with the look from outside.It reminded us of a 1980's bingo hall, but never judge a book by its cover. The room decor was dated but clean and comfortable. The food was brilliant as was the service in the restaurant. The location was good and access to the town centre was a 15min walk at a slow pace. We didn't pay a 5star price so didn't expect a 5star hotel. The only fault we had was with the shower, the water pressure seemed inadequate for the shower to work properly but we had a bath...no problem. Will definitely go there again. A big thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieSimon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We booked an overnight stay here for me the wife and my granddaughter in a family room with breakfast and paid in full through Superbreak Reservations.
We arrived at about Eleven am and were advised our room was ready early and we could move in immediately.So far so good
Then we were advised that in fact we had to pay for our five year old granddaughters breakfast whether she had any or not although according to our receipt it was already paid.But the receptionist pointed out something in the small print to say meals had to be paid for and so we paid up.
The room was clean and tidy the staff very friendly and the breakfast very good. I do not like feeling like i have been ripped off so beware if you book for any unseen extras. This spoilt what was otherwise a very good break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carpetman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger H, Operations Director at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear carpetman56

Thank you for your nice comments regarding the hotel and staff. With regards to your room booked via Superbreaks, the offer with the family room is that the childs accommodation is free of charge, however any meals during the stay are charged for at the hotel on arrival. This is in accordance with your booking, i.e if you have booked Bed & Breakfast, you will be charged for the childs breakfast on arrival (£3.95).

I am sorry if your booking agent did not make you aware of this, however it would have been printed on your booking form and is also noted on their website and in their brochures.

Thank you again for your lovely comments and we hope you will return to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have had one of the best hotel stays we have ever had in the UK. The Rainbow is a lovely hotel , well maintained both inside and out. The food is good, and plentiful,
and the room was clean and comfortable What more can I say? Oh yes! The staff are very helpful.. We will most certainly visit again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travellerColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

we stayed at rainbow hotel in march 2014 for our third time again i upgraded to the burlesqe room as i did before luv that room my brother had single room he was happy with that his room bit small but ok for what he wanted but i have to have double room for my comfort as i spend more time in room i like to be home from home the upstairs rooms are better we enjoyed turkey nd tinsel last year it was brill best xmas decor i have seen that was in nov or dec we looking to go back to rainbow again sept or nov can't wait staff are lovely nd friendly very helpfull food is brill

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 613shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Fantastic value for the money. Basic rooms but clean and comfortable. Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent buffet food. The indoor Pool was small but very clean as were the changing facilities.Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We had a double room facing the main road, but the traffic noise wasn't a problem. We were a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#37 of 87 in Torquay
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 87 in Torquay
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
778 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
622 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#38 of 87 in Torquay
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Property: Riviera Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England (Formerly Rainbow International Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Riviera Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing