We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money hotel”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #57 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value for money hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was great value for money, the food was fantastic and very hot at all times. The staff were very friendly and helpful. And the bed was very comfortable. The evening entertainment was the only thing which we did not like.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    322
    199
    109
    139
See reviews for
153
404
46
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

When we arrived I found the exterior to be in poor repair that gave me a very poor impression however once inside I found that the dinning room bar and various areas had been up-dated. The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful, the room was dated but clean loads of hot water and everything you need! The bed was very comfortable. The food was repetitive though good tasty and plentiful full English in the morning carvery in the evening, however there were alternatives and the menu for these was clearly displayed. All in all my stay was pleasant and for what we paid excellent value for money

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms are a bit dated and needs modernised but they were clean, the staff are friendly and can't do enough for you and food was brill, can't fault it for the price and location a short walk to the harbour and town centre

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xswax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Returned with hubby for second trip. Again the service, food and room more than made up for the tired decor.

This time used the pool which was great but the changing rooms were freezing. The pool was just about warm enough for a swim but not for long.

The staff were friendly and helpful and once again value for money. This was a special deal weekend and the show may not be to every ones taste but the value for money on a bed breakfast and evenng meal is excellent. If you are not interested in the show just go for the value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheyanne50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I use about 25 - 30 hotels in a year and this one seams to be going downhill..FAST..if something is not done soon it will go they way of a lot of the others .....to the bottom of the lists.
The staff are ok and work very hard apart from the resturaunt manager who seams to be in a world of his own...... special requests are made and promised then he keeps the doors locked some no one can get in at the agreed times , making all coach passengers late. It sounds a small thing but this often causes problems with coach drivers driving hours.
Also the bar prices are so racked up it is almost robbery.....................Just because this hotel has been the center of clubbing and night life an this part of Torquay some time in the past, they think it still is ..... think again management.....
COME ON RAINBOW SHAPE UP AND GET THINGS SORTED It COULD BE GOOD AGAIN IF YOU TRY> THE

Room Tip: Try not to get a room over the disco room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 370tobin_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Having recently come back from a weekend break with Just Go holidays to stay at The Rainbow Hotel l would like to report back that l had a lovely time. The lift is a problem but tends to be a joke in the end. The cabaret room is lovely, food is excellent and my room was very nice and had everything l needed. The indoor pool is very nice and there is also a ironing room which l think is a very good idea. I will be returning again.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor to avoid long delays with the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Having read some of the really bad reviews prior to my stay, I have to say that I it wasn't as bad as I thought!

It is true that this is possibly the most confusing hotel in the world in terms of it's layout and a little more signage wouldn't go amiss but generally it was fine. The room was clean and had everything I needed. The shower didn't work when I arrived but this was quickly rectified and the buffet breakfast was very good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#56 of 87 in Torquay
811 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#84 of 87 in Torquay
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Property: Riviera Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England (Formerly Rainbow International Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Riviera Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing