We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great weekend!!..”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #56 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a great weekend!!..”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Although the hotel is dated is was very clean with new towels everyday, tv , tea and coffee facilities in our room.
The meals were outstanding for a 3 star, everything you could wish for at breakfast.
Buffet for evening meal which was a superb carvery with meat that melted in your mouth, lots of veg and great roasties - other alternatives were fish pie, curry and pasta.
Due to the weather being extremely hot we did not venture into the cabaret/night entertainment as there was no aircon in there. Nice 5-10min walk to the beach and restaurants. Staff very friendly too,I would definately return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 999Pat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    322
    199
    109
    139
See reviews for
153
404
46
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Rainbow. The price for evening meal, tickets for the burlesque show, the double room with a sea view, and breakfast in the morning was an absolute bargain!

We had fantastic seats for the show, with a great view. The price of drinks was very reasonable. the standard of the acts was very high. My partner and I really enjoyed the night, and stayed to dance afterwards; the DJ played some great stuff!

It was a long journey down from Yorkshire but well worth it, will definitely go and stay at the Rainbow again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RaeShearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Have just stayed at the Rainbow for two nights and after reading reviews before we went we were very worried and even thought about cancelling. What we found in reality was totally different, yes the rooms are slightly dated and do need air conditioning but we asked for a fan at reception and one soon arrived in our room. The room was spacious and clean and had every thing we needed even a hair dryer. We opted for bed, breakfast and evening meal and I must say the food was varied, hot and the service in the dining room was good, just lacking the air conditioning once again. We received a warm welcome from all staff and nothing seemed too much trouble all in all a great stay for reasonable price, just glad now we didn't cancel!!

Room Tip: First floor was fine for us not too much noise and we were facing onto the main road. Lovely bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Title says it all. Rooms are in need of a refurb, but large and generally clean enough. Same goes for the bathrooms. Old and tired, but large and clean enough. Staff friendly, food mediocre but good location a stones throw from the seafront . At less than £70 for a double high season B & B you won't get the Ritz, it's good enough though to make me return at that price though!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank poppy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The rainbow was a lovely hotel all the staff were excellent, Craig at the desk was most helpfull ten out off ten for this young man. The food at this hotel was hot plenty off it and well cooked,Excellent.

Room Tip: Are room was 421.it was very quite would book this room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Annie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger H, Operations Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Annie T

Many thanks for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards, Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

hotel needs air conditioning and some tlc but rooms clean for a two star the food was plentiful and ok we went june 16th entertainment room too hot to sit in with no air at all so couldent sit in there such a shame don't think I would go back to this hotel this hotel is in need of an outdoor seating area with clean tables

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skipdog95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

we stayed in this hotel back in april. we had a five night stay there. the entertainment wasnt to bad and hotel staff quite pleasant. our stay was bed breakfast and evening meal. on the fourth night i ordered the cheesecake which was green underneath. i did complain and they told me it was the berries that was making it that colour. and still insisted after writing a letter of complaint. there is no way a fruit cheesecake with berries in it make it go green. they have now taken the cheesecake off the menu what a surprise!! we will not be returning to this hotel again and that was our first time staying there. they never even gave us a complimentary stay or anything. not good

Room Tip: room at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger H, Operations Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Marie R

We are glad you enjoyed the entertainment and found the staff pleasant. As previously discussed, the berry cheesecake was perfectly fine, it was where the fruit had leaked through to the bottom of the cheesecake; we no longer use the cheesecake to help eliminate confusion. An alternative sweet/dessert was offered to you, however you refused this. 32 portions of the cheesecake were served that night with no other complaints received. We are unable to offer you a complimentary stay and am sorry you would not return otherwise.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#54 of 87 in Torquay
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#84 of 87 in Torquay
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Property: Riviera Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England (Formerly Rainbow International Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Riviera Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing