We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't take any notice of the poor comments, go and see for yourself.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainbow International Hotel
Ranked #56 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't take any notice of the poor comments, go and see for yourself.”
Reviewed 3 December 2010

For the last 15 years I have organised a trip for appromimately 35 - 40 people. I booked to go to the Rainbow earlier this year, and after reading many of the reviews I was to say the least alarmed. I had 3 people cancel because of the reviews. I spoke to the hotel who assured me that everything would be fine. I took a chance and stayed with the booking. I am glad I did, the group said this was the best weekend they have ever had, the food was excellent and plentiful. The entertainment was extremely good. The only complaint I had was that the bar did not open long enough. I admit the rooms could do with a lick of paint but they were clean, also clean bedding and towels. They all want to go there again next year. What better recomendation could you have than this.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    318
    197
    108
    135
See reviews for
152
394
46
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2010

The staff were all very helpful,friendly & always available.
My room was very clean & tidy with the beds made every day & refreshments topped up.
The entertainment was appropriate for the time of year.
The whole hotel was clean & inviting.
I had a swim in the warm clean pool.
The food was very very good with plenty of selection.
Having said all that.The hotel could have done with decorating.only a small cosmetic thing that didn't cause any problems.
it was decorated ready for christmas very tastefully

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2010

The Service was Great,Food was 1st Class plenty of choice with cheerful staff ,who were polite and helpful. The entertainment was very Good,The Porters took our luggage to our rooms,and collected on our departure. The only down point is The shower are too high for short people who are disabled'
J Emary Bristol

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vonjon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hayling island
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2010

my mum has just came back from the rainbow hotel,and had a wonderful time and all the bad report's about this place .are from the staff that worked thair when the hotel was run by the old owners ..this place is being done up room by room as you could understand diy on a big scale like this takes time and thay have done so much and its wonderful ...my mum and the coach load.. all said.. that thay will be going back,and all thair is to say is well done to the new owner's and keep up the good work .....

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2010

probably the most shoddy accommodation I have stayed in. The carpets were filthy and there was mould around the window frame and it smelled of damp. It was in need of a complete re-furbishment when I was there. There was no restaurant, only a canteen where food was served buffet style but was dried out at 8:30pm under the blazing heat lamps. Stay clear- stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tailyour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2010

After reading the reviews we were a bit concerned about what to expect from our visit to this hotel in Torquay,to the degree that we were thinking of cancelling our booking.
We'd just like to say that we were so glad we didn't.We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Rainbow.
The staff were so friendly and helpful,the service was excellent and the food was fantastic,the entertainment was good and our whole time there was superb value for money.
We'd just like to thank everyone at the hotel for making it a great week for us and our friends.We were there for the tinsel and turkey and wouldn't hesitate to book up to go again.I can't think for the life of me think what people expect for their money,we couldn't fault it for what looking for,a fun break away for a few days with friends.many thanks.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pevensey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Our friends who visit the Rainbow Hotel 4 times a year suggested to us that we should take a break, and visit the Hotel. We where pleasantly surprise, a clean and comfortable room, a good breakfast and dinner every day for only £89 for 4 nights. How do they do it? Also a good fun entertaiment show every night. Well done to all staff, we will be back.
P. J. Buckingham
Pevensy Bay
East Sussex

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamJB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 87 in Torquay
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 87 in Torquay
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#54 of 87 in Torquay
758 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,284 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#38 of 87 in Torquay
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow International Hotel

Property: Rainbow International Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rainbow International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Rainbow International Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing