We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rudeness personified!!”
Review of Ashley Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashley Court Hotel
Ranked #84 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Colchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rudeness personified!!”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Extemely rude hotel owners, very dirty pillows, cramped bathroom (don't go to room 19 if you are over 6ft tall) and room very dirty with broken furniture. Don't try to change room as the management are uncooperative. In this day and age - why were there blankets and not duvets???
Only saving graces were the food and the location of the hotel which was good!

Room Tip: Do not go in Room 19 as the bathrom is small and cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoobylouColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    120
    76
    57
    87
See reviews for
64
153
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
port talbot
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

having just had a week in torquay at the ashley court hotel, i only spent one night there as i was taken ill and landed up in hospital, the owners and staff of the hotel couldn't do enough for my husband and then my daughter and friend came down to be with him. the management put them up for the length of time i was in hospital free of charge for which we are very grateful. the hotel is so friendly spotlessly clean food was excellant and a good selection on the menu. thank you once again for your kindness

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannie5PortTalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Went on our first trip with Leisure time ,Cannot fault the whole weekend except the hotel.
Our driver was Caroline and she was brilliant, what a fantastic driver . She did everything possible to make our weekend great. Would deffenetly go with Lesuire time again as long as we can have Caroline as our driver.
Next day we went to Dartmouth and enjoyed the whole day.
No hassle, no driving, no parking all in with the price. oh and lovely company with the people you meet.AND CAROLINE. :-)
HOTEL..
The food was lovely not a problem, the only thing was the Hotel,it was very dated, shower didnt work felt as though we gone back to the 70s.

All we can say for the price it was very good value.

Will be booking again with Lesuire time cardiff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Just returned from an organised coach trip by Urquhart travel. Great value. The hotel was a 2-star. I found the room very clean and spacious. The cleaning staff were very diligent and pleasant. The waitresses were very friendly and helpful. The most surprising thing for me was the high standard of food that was served. Me and my girlfriend stayed for four nights. Every meal was delicious!! How the chef Paul does it I don't Know. There were one hundred and fifty guests, yet the food was always hot and on time. The food was really well cooked and seasoned perfectly. It was obvious that Paul the chef puts his heart and soul into his food. This guest really appreciated the effort..... it really paid off!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sim0n25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I read the reviews before we left but having visited there last weekend I am amazed how other people could say the food was good. It was appalling! I had tinned oranges for starter with a slice of kiwi (it was supposed to be mandarin and kiwi cocktail).The main course was salmon which was nice but the accompanying vegetables were frozen sprouts, frozen parsnips, tinned carrots and tinned potatoes.Yuk! The dessert was also frozen. Even the cutlery was cheap and nasty. Did they think we would steal any decent cutlery? Honestly!! The beds were clean although we were surprised to have a blanket on the bed and not a duvet.The mattress had definately seen better days. I know we were on a cheap deal with Leisuretime but have been completely satisfied with other hotels with them. What a disappointment!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joneseySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
swansea
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2011

booked this cheap weekend break with leasuretime went with an open mind but were pleasantly surprised yes it is dated but how much are you paying? exactly the room was spotless the food was excellent and you cant fault the staff,we all enjoyed our stay worh every penny if you want the hilton dig a lot deeper in your pockets if you want a cheap break you cant fault it

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dd7swansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

After discovering bed bugs rampant in the bed and having to change rooms at 12 o clock in the night, the manager was extremly unsympathetic to us as customers. He blamed the bed bugs on a certain bus firm for bringing dirty customers to stay at the hotel. How disrespectful! He didn't even offer any discount for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
941 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#85 of 87 in Torquay
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#72 of 87 in Torquay
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#74 of 87 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#32 of 87 in Torquay
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Court Hotel

Property: Ashley Court Hotel
Address: Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashley Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ashley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing