We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashley Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashley Court Hotel
Ranked #82 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Camborne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We came here on a self-drive with Travelstyles Tours, but were actually meant to have stayed at the Cavendish Hotel in Torquay. Due to a booking mess up by the Cavendish, the Ashley Court was used instead. Initially, we were disappointed, as we were looking forward to the indoor pool at the Cavendish, but the staff at Ashley Court were really good to us, and at very short notice, managed to find us rooms that could be reached by a lift, as 2 of our party had problems with stairs.

We found the rooms perfectly adequate, and far from cold - in fact, if anything, too warm!! Ok, this is not the Ritz, but for £49.95 per person for dinner, bed and breakfast, we thought it was brilliant value. Yes, the hotel is old, but it was spotlessly clean in our rooms, and we had a good nights sleep.

The best part for us was the food!! A lovely three course dinner, - the fish is really good here, followed by coffee or tea with a mint. Breakfast was also three course, and all with waitress service! I have never met such cheerful, polite and helpful waitresses, they were brilliant!!

We didn't go to the Friday night's entertainment, as we were too tired after travelling and motorhome hunting on the way up from Cornwall. However, the entertainer on Saturday night was well worth staying up for. Barrie B, you were a real laugh, and good to listen to when you sang. Sorry you didn't have a bigger audience, as you definitely deserved one, and sorrier still we didn't stay down for the second half, but we'd been motorhome hunting again!! I would recommend making the effort to stay up for Barrie, as he is well worth it!!

The staff here are so kind, cheerful and helpful, and work really hard to make the guests stay enjoyable. Ok, things were a little fraught to begin with, as we had problems with the first allocation of rooms, but that was more OUR fault than theirs. Security is taken very seriously here, which is why you have to ring the doorbell when you first arrive, but after that you have your own key and can come and go as you please. Car parking is round the back of the hotel, and protected by a big shutter, so no worries about leaving your pride and joy.

There are a few points that I think are worth bringing up for anyone planning to visit this hotel.

If you are disabled, do try and get in touch with the management before your arrival, so they can do their best to accommodate your needs.

The hot water in the bathrooms takes a long time to get through because of the long pipe runs, so please don't complain about cold showers without running off the cold water in the wash basin for long enough to give it a chance to come through. It does take a minute or too, but it gets there in the end!!

Get down to breakfast as soon as possible after 8.30 am, as the tea and coffee are put out then, and will get cold. I am sure the waitresses would bring fresh if required, though.

The lift IS small, and best used by 2 people, but it is very fast, and you don't have to wait too long for it.

I am really looking forward to staying there again!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    111
    70
    54
    72
See reviews for
56
138
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Ashley Court was a last minute shunt courtesy of Leisuretime i.e.didn't know our hotel had been changed until the coach picked us up.
We were a party of ten and all were happy with their rooms,very clean,dated yes but that wasn't an issue.Would have welcomed porter service as most of us were disabled and lift too small for more than one person at a time plus case.
Plenty of food at both breakfast and evening meals,lots of choice,Vegetables over cooked for my liking but thats me.If you change your mind from breakfast to evening meal about choice of main course forget it......On our last night I had but they wouldn't oblige except for meat and that was all I had,....delicious and lots of it but a few chips which were requested would not have gone amiss.I ran my own catering company and went the extra mile for my customers. The dining room was freezing and I tend not to feel the cold. Waiting staff were friendly and helpful and deserve lots of praise.
Evening entertainment bit of a mixture "Chris Chaplin" is a worthy mention,he kept us laughing from first to last.Kenny Mc we groaned initially thinking the worst but proved to be good entertainment.The rest I pass on.
Good location for town centre very close,but beach if we'ed managed to walk down it would have been a taxi back.
However for money it was excellent value and we would definitely go there again....would have given it a "good" if it had been a rating choice.
Our room was on the 2nd floor number16 and we had a good view of the sea as the buildings in front dropped away.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I am a frequent visitor to this hotel for work purposes and to see the character assassination of Thelma in a previous review is appalling. She is one of the warmest nicest, caring women I know.She goes out of her way to help her guests, even driving some to medical treatment in her own car on occasions, dealing with a large intake of people all asking questions and niggling is stressful for anyone, how they cope I do not know but they manage to provide good value, good service and food at a price that is dictated by the coach firms and a fraction of the trip cost to punters.No wonder so many hoteliers are giving up when the rewards for what is a stressful and increasingly thankless way of life are so poor nowadays, yes some will find things not to their liking, but the majority of guests have a great time and come back time and again, please sort out any grievances face to face before printing hurtful and damaging revues. Oh and the chap who does not smile! is rather ill and comes in to help out his family with chores, also a very nice chap.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

excellent value for the cost good food and service waitresses were good beds were comfortable and c lean thanks to bill the milk for the trip

Room Tip: ground floor of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank safebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

just come back from a mystry trip to the ashley court hotel the rooms r very outdated and basic but clean wicvh was good i got to say though the comedian was very good had such a larf and he made everybody feel welcome by mixing people in wich was great when we first got there the reseptionist wasnt much helpful the manager was ok on the other hand helping you the meals where ok for what we paid but breackfast was a disapointment they put your coffe out early by time you go down you get cold tea and coffe and a standerd breakfast i wouldnt stay here again in puticalar but got to say it was a exspereance an d we met some nice people
another thing with this hotel it was frezing the heating wouldnt go up much but we got what we paid for e
0.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RICHARD T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

We've just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and having read mostly poor reviews prior to our holiday, we were not expecting much. Well, okay, the room was basic and dated although well equipped and spotlessy clean, The food was excellent and the staff couldn't have been more friendly, helpful and obliging. We had a very enjoyable stay and we certainly had value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barnacle336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I have just spent two nights here with a friend, the hotel was lovely and warm, beds comfy and the room was clean, the food was good with plenty of choice, the service was very good ...no waiting for your meal, the food was hot and served on hot plates, all the diningroom staff were very pleasant, it was our base to go to the Eden Project, a place well worth visiting, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hanjo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#87 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#70 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Court Hotel

Property: Ashley Court Hotel
Address: Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashley Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ashley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing