We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problem with this hotel.”
Review of Ashley Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashley Court Hotel
Ranked #83 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We have just returned from a fice day break with Travelstyle, at the last minute we were sent to Ashley court hotel, the hotel is dated yes, and needs a refubishment downstairs, but we had a lovely clean and fresh room, with clean linen, nice towels, plenty of hot water too. The shower was a bit hit and miss but the bath was large and clean.

The food was hot and plentyful also fresh too, not frozen and the chef worked so hard to give everyone what they wanted. The staff are so lovely, especially Vicky our waitress, nothing to much trouble.

Anyone that complains about this hotel I feel as no real axe to grind, everyone enjoyed their stay, its not 5 star and people forget this when they only pay £120.00. We enjoyed it and we have stayed in top hotels and not had good service like we had here.

A good trip with Travel style thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high upstairs, room 74 -79 very clean and freshly painted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank citychick-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days from the 15th to the 19th of oct. we were part of a coach trip from scotland. We found the hotel very dirty and dated. blankets and not duvets in this day and age is terrible. we were a party of 5 and we took ill with sickness and the other thing!!. i ended up in hospital for 2 days. i did not get dischaged untill the thursday night. my dad had decided after much discussion with hospital staff i was not fit to travel the 12 hr journey home by bus he would hire a car. however he took ill as did my mum and 4 other people in the hotel. The manager spoke to us next day and told us we could stay free of charge but we were banned from going into his dining room. this was cheek. when i challenged him about his hotel being dirty he said they were so busy with coach tours they could only clean in January!!. management need a course on manners. i have worked in the hotel industry for 13 yrs and you dont treat people the way they do. this was a holiday from hell. First time i have been to torquay and all i saw was a dirty hotel room and a hospital bed. please think twice before booking this hotel. it should be shut down

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This hotel is one of the worst that i have ever stayed at, the management were very rude, food ok but very very small portions staff seemed very unhappy hotel could do with a very good clean and update. The meal times are set at 08.30 and 18.30 for dinner if you are late though luck you get whats left and it,s not very hot all in all a very bad experance.did not enjoy at all, even though it said pool open untill mid october it was closed when questioned they said it,s closed and that is that

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

What a dirty hotel this is - it has to be worst hotel I have ever stayed in in the UK - don't know how they get away with Public Health inspections. Went out and bought slippers so I could walk on the dirty carpets and disinfectant to clean the bathroom - this bathroom was so dirty I took the shower head off to clean it along with the shower unit and the extractor fan was broken.If we had not been on a coach tour we would have immediately checked out.
The only good thing about it was the girl who served us the cold and undercooked food in the restaurant - the kitchen waste bins must be full after every meal. Ate out on the last couple of nights as I could not face going back to their restaurant.
Was the first time our coach company had used this place and said it would be the last so that tells you something.
What a disappointment when people have been looking forward to a few nice days break and get lumbered with this excuse of a hotel

Room Tip: Don't think you will find one in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jeera27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is the worst hotel I have had the misfortune to stay in.The hotel requires a good clean it was cold when we stayed here ( September) I asked the manager if we could have the heat on in the bedroom and his reply was" the heating does not come on until October" In the dining room we were told to sit and do not move. The good thing about this hotel was the food, it was good and the young staff were very helpful unlike the manager.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We enjoyed staying at the Ashley Court.The food was not "cordon bleu" but was served quickley and served by pleasant waitresses.The entertainment in the evenings was enjoyable.For the price we paid you cant expect the X factor everynight.There is a very nice heated swimming pool in the middle of the "complex" ,I say complex because it is spread over a fairly large area with "wings" .A games room with darts, two pool tables and a "bandit"The bar prices were reasonable, bordering on the cheap.The room we had was small.The shower was sort of around the corner in the batthroom.It was typical of a lot of old English hotels .Lots of corridors and creaky floorboards.On the whole for £290 each for a week (dinner B&B).The breakfast included all the usual choices and the dinner also provided a good,although small choice. it was good value.The shops are only a few steps away (through a carpark and down a lift 5 floors).The TV in room was to say the very least "basic".It looked as though it came from a car boot sale but you dont go to Torquay to watch telie!! All in all it was great value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frednert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We have just returned from a 5 day break at this hotel, i can honestly say that this so called hotel is awful. We arrived at the hotel after a 11 hour coach journey, not to a friendly welcome or anything just a quick what do you want for evening dinner. We went to the room which was stepping back 30 years i dont mind old fashioned but i do expect hygiene. The dining room was very dated with bluebottles all over the place, so bad we only ate in once. The management need to have a better attitude towards their customers. The rest of the staff where great and worked very hard. Dont waste your money on this hotel....you deserve better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#85 of 87 in Torquay
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#38 of 87 in Torquay
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#16 of 87 in Torquay
418 reviews
1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,323 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#65 of 87 in Torquay
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Court Hotel

Address: Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £27 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashley Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ashley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing