We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 nights. top of the tree”
Review of Ashley Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashley Court Hotel
Ranked #80 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“4 nights. top of the tree”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

been to the hotel again last week. always a welcome, good food as always. how they do it for the price? drinks are cheaper than the pubs and entertainment too. anything you want just ask. looking forward to the next trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 900jeff1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    112
    71
    55
    73
See reviews for
57
141
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SUFFOLK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Had a wonderful trip with Diamond Holidays to the Eden project and a day in Bath, the only gripe is the hotel the company chose. We can only describe it as very dated and tired, a 1960 - 70s time warp. The decor is dated and worn as are the paisley carpets, there is an overwhelming smell of damp when you enter the hotel, the furniture looks like its been purchased from a local charity. The bedrooms are a mish mash of assorted dated furniture with 1970s pink headboards and old small outdated crt tvs mounted on wall brackets, and I'm sure the showers were installed by Basil Faulty, faulty being the operative word, although you do get hot water ( eventually, ) the bed was very lumpy due to worn mattress and springs.To be fair if your going to stay at this hotel, some positive points, the staff were friendly and polite, the bedding was fresh and clean, and the food was good, always promptly served and hot. And the evening entertainment was passable. Its a two star hotel, so be aware of this before you book. If your with a coach company you will have to go with the flow.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BROADHORIZON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Well where do I start! I travelled to this hotel as part of a turkey And tinsel coach trip age range from 23-89, when we all arrived at the hotel we had a welcome sherry and mince, one member of our party is tee total so asked for a coffee at the hotel bar and was told very rudely by the owner of the hotel who I must say looked like he was about to keel over a die "Yes, if you go to your room and make it!"...and the rudeness of the bar staff didn't stop there, on our first night we all decide to stay at the hotel and give them out money rather than venture into the town but we all wished we hadn't, the younger members of our trip asked for 14 shot drinks to which Poppet the bar lady told them they did not do shot drinks and only sold normal measures which we understood so we asked could we buy the normal measure of both spirits so we could mix them ourselves Poppet then shouted at the lady buying the drinks that she did not have enough glasses and that she only works for minimum wage and has to pay her £2000 rates on that (tell us this had no relevance what so ever) poppet then came across the bar a proceeded to poke and prod the lady saying "who do you think you are coming her in your posh clothes asking for drinks!!!" When our ladies husband went to on complain to the owner she didn't want to know and rudely told them they were lying!!

The owner was just as rude as Poppet on our second night Santa was there to give our presents, and the owner announces your name over the mic so your can go
And get your present of Santa!! Out trip organiser misheard the owner so went and asked didn't you say "Mrs *****" to which the owner replied in a rude tone "no I did not, now go away and wait your turn!" As if she was talking to a child at school!! She also called this lady an 'IT' when saying she could not see passed 'IT' when looking for people!!

I could go on and on about how rude the bar staff and management were but all I will say EVERYTHING you asked them to do was an unwanted effort!

There were cleaners present at the hotel in the morning but they must have forgot the polish when ordering cleaning products, the dust in the rooms was as thick as jam jar bottoms!!!

The only positive I will say is the restaurant staff were polite and pleasant but the food wasn't the best and some members of the trip experienced upset stomachs after eating there.

I would not recommend going to this hotel to my dog!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Swansea12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked a cheap mystery coach trip 2 nights including breakfast & evening meal on a Tinsel Turkey theme.
Based on the price we certainly were not expecting anything other than value for money with a clean base for our group of family & friends to enjoy.

We were of mixed age from 30yrs to 89yrs made up of family & friends with the younger generation of our party full of harmless fun!

On the first night we had travelled all day and stayed at the hotel. After the night we had it confirmed to us that our second night would be spent out!

The bar staff were AWFUL!! Whilst our break was cheap at the end of the day we were spending money at the bar, good money too!! Customer service is non existent in fact it was sooooo bad it was laughable, one lady in particular really was the female version of basil faulty, everything you asked for was just too much.

An elderly gent in our party asked for a vodka and before he could finish his sentence the member of staff began shouting at him 'WITH WHAT? WITH WHAT? AND SAY PLEASE'

There were many more situations like this where rudeness was the norm and everything was too much.

The worst incident however was when we asked for a drink that they didn't have, even though they did have the 2 drinks to make it up???? so when it was suggested we buy the 2 drinks and make our own drink the same member of staff began her irrelevant rude aggressive RANT!! in a nutshell she ranted :-
'we are not a bar!! we are a hotel, so you want more glasses for us to wash, you come here asking for drinks that are giving us more work to do I'm on minimum wage, its ok for you coming here dressed in your posh clothes' I could go on!!!!
All this being said whilst coming over the bar with her hand out stretched and actually physically poking and prodding the customer!!!!!
It really was a good job that the person who she did this to was a far better person than her and was able to rise above such awful awful behaviour from a member of staff who was very very lucky that our whole party are well mannered enough and mature enough not to let this incident ruin our short break away. I could name the member of staff and none of us will forget her name as it was quite unusual, however, again I am a better person than she and I will save her a little bit of dignity.
The following evening we went out and the next day we had umpteen people not from our group asking where we had been as they had missed our group and the fun factor we brought to the hotel, so many older people came on to us and said that we had made their weekend so much better as we were full of fun and our replies to these people were it was a shame the staff at the hotel didn't feel the same about us.
Met upon arrival with sherry & mince pie, lovely gesture.
Food > Good value for money
Restaurant > Staff Good.
Hotel location > Good.
Cleanliness > Below average.
Beer rating > Very Poor, if you want a good pint then out you had to go out.
Bar staff > Disgraceful, so bad it could really be the ruin of your break!! and would be the reason that we will never ever return.
I do hope that the lady & her bar colleague (who although didn't get physical & personal was just as bad when it came to customer service) read this and use it as a self help tool. With the attitude we witnessed in my opinion you should not have a job at all never mind moaning to us about being on minimum wage, your very lucky to be employed and with so many people looking for jobs you should embrace yours with a better attitude and remember that whilst it doesn't make a difference to your wage how much people spend at the bar there, whilst they are spending there is still a job for someone, you at the moment, so appreciate it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank emma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

just back from a weekend staying at ashley court what do people want for the money they pay we stayed in room 15 it was clean and tidy food was lovely staff brilliant cant wait to go back oh and dave the bus driver from brent thomas was brilliant

Room Tip: room 15 was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gaynorfromponty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just a short review on my stay at the Ashleigh court hotel , what a disaster , hotel smelt damp room that we had was no bigger than a beach hut which is terrible very basic standard and in total need of revamp , room that we stayed was dusty insufficient space in shower room very chlostophobic, restaurant staff very nice and polite bar staff rude , with a complaint very un sympathetic would give this hotel a 2star rating and would not recommend at any cost (faulty towers is right in what they say)

Room Tip: Avoid the above hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here on a bus tour for 4 nights. The food was good and plentiful and the dining room staff delightful, nothing was too much trouble. Entertainment in the evenings was good.
However our bed was less than comfortable and badly in need of a new mattress, springs were sticking up and it was difficult to find a position to sleep without one sticking into you.
Our only contact with the owner/manager was in reception in the morning when he was indifferent to a complaint about a bed light and blamed his staff for not dusting properly. On following mornings did not respond to a greeting. I can only assume he is a graduate of the Basil Fawlty Charm School. Otherwise our stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weeshee945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
1.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#88 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#71 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#86 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#52 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Court Hotel

Property: Ashley Court Hotel
Address: Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashley Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ashley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing