We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good stay.”
Review of Ashley Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashley Court Hotel
Ranked #84 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed a few weeks ago at Ashley Court and after reading some very negative reviews wondered if we where in the same hotel..We stayed in room 19 that we found to be very clean and bed comfortable.
We found the staff to be very friendly and efficient and the food excellent and plenty of it, tea and coffee replenished when required.
The entertainment was on the 3 nights we stayed there very good, Chris Chaplain is a hoot, and the bar prices very reasonable. The bar staff where very helpful and competent.
We stayed as part of c coach party and for what we paid it was super value for money.
I just wonder just what some of the moaners want for for a 2 star price...5STAR FACILITIES?????
We look forward to our next stay at The Ashley Court.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19 very handy for everything.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Ashley Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

from entering this hotel we were made so welcome, our room was clean crisp white sheets / towels the food was superb as was the waitresses, entertainment every night, great for those who don't want to or are unable to walk around. Drinks available with cheerful staff, the standard of this 2 star hotel is under estimated, i have been in many hotels around England costing considerably more with food/sheets a lot less desired,

Room Tip: I can only speak on my room en suite, quiet, on low floor for disabled
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1953tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My husband and i were booked at the Burlington Hotel but this was over-booked so were contacted and asked if we would like to transfer our booking to the Ashley Court Hotel. We needed a overdue break, as i am a carer to 2 members of my family, so was just pleased to visit our favourite part of the UK for a few days, so agreed. After agreeing I thought I would just look the hotel up and check out the reviews, some of which being very negative. This did put a dampener on our trip but thought we'll judge for ourselves and were glad we did. The staff were lovely and helpful, food was excellent. The decor was a bit dated but we only showered, changed and slept in our room so didn't find this off-putting! I think credit where credit is due and people shouldn't be put off by critics who obviously want more for what they pay!

Room Tip: 2nd floor was quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucienne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed they from 28th till 31st on a coach trip with friends .The staff were very helpful and friendly and the meals were superb, the rooms are clean . We are already planning our next long weekend they .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel whilst on a total fiasco of a coach holiday arranged with Diamond Holidays, it was enlightened by the people at this hotel,we thought the food was excellent and well presented. The staff were sympathetic and helpful, the room was bright clean and spacious but ok it is a 2 star hotel. The sheer incompetence of the tour operator meant we spent more time around the hotel that we intended but nevertheless nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Ok it is a coach hotel and you will have a large number of people some of which were thoroughly fed up with the coach operator and tried to take it out on the staff but it was not their problem and they coped well with everything. The bar prices were very reasonable and a very nice touch we thought was handing all the ladies a bunch of daffs on Mothers day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MU4EVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed from 13 to 17 March on a Coach Holiday. Food was great with ample portions and plenty of variety. Entertainment was also very good and the Bar prices reasonable.. Waiting and Bar staff were Brilliant.. Room was clean and spacious.. Tis not the Ritz but we didn't pay any silly prices... All in all very good value and a very enjoyable stay .. Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hot-Blast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I am really not sure why there are so many negative reviews of this hotel. We stayed there as part of a coach party and found that as expected we got what we paid for ......The reception staff could have been more helpful BUT the waiting staff and the Bar staff both gave excellent service and were very pleasant and efficient, the food was plentiful and good quality, the Bar prices were competitive and the entertainment was second to none.Yes the rooms were not huge and a little tired and the TVs are a little outdated BUT we didn't go away to watch TV or sit in the bedroom
Reviewers need to remember if you want 5 star service then pay 5 star prices.
All in all would recommend this hotel for a short break in Torquay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rustie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,258 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#85 of 87 in Torquay
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#37 of 87 in Torquay
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#72 of 87 in Torquay
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#75 of 87 in Torquay
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Court Hotel

Address: Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £47 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashley Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ashley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing