We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay!”
Review of Ashley Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashley Court Hotel
Ranked #82 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a warm welcome and staff were very friendly and accommodating. The food was fresh and when we asked for more milk or toast they got it for us. Entertainment was very good and hotel wasn't far from town which was a bonus!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank BlaenauGwentFletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

just had a lovely 5 day break at Ashley court after reading the reviews was a little worried about going but as we had payed we decided to chance it was very pleased food fantastic staff so helpful and obliging even though hotel full so that speaks for it self it entertainment brilliant never a dull moment off to bed worried bed not clean sheets mattress pillows spotless and the room very clean so really don't know why people complain unless they live in a palace only complaint seagulls noisy :( and only needed 1 number for each game of bingo :( lol but taking this aside will be going again keep up the the good and hard work Ashley court gang x

Room Tip: don't really know but we were in no 19 very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank ellen6029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Took our dad here for a 5 day break he is in a wheelchair there is no wheelchair access we asked for ground floor they put us on the second floor you couldn't get the wheelchair in the lift so we had to take him out of it to get to room not wheelchair friendly as we were told.Could do with a good clean there was food on the floor under our table all the time we was there,staff and management are very rude not helpful at all.I asked if we could borrow a fan for my heavily pregnant daughter as the rooms are very hot they said no had to go and buy one ,couldn't take my dad by the pool no way of getting the wheelchair to it ,paid a lot of money for a total crap holiday and food wasn't nice we ended up eating out so would not recommend this place to anyone ,It was very noisy at night slamming doors etc all night .

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Tracy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Entertainment good staff quite rude hotel needs completly updating and the staff need to go on a customer service course i would not recomend this place to anyone. However the entertainment was excellent just a shame the trip was spoilt by the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 934Suzanne_R_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Went on a coach trip with a friend, arrived late for dinner we were rushed into dining room even before we had time to wash our hands, food tasted as if it had been hanging around for the hour we were late. Had change our room as I have trouble with stairs, lift had only space for two people and when with my walker only one. Room not very clean dust everywhere, only good thing clean towels every day. Some staff were great but some not so. Hotel could do with a lot of updating, lounge very tired and carpets would do with a good clean.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if I was you choose other hotels in the same area that looked better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Ngaire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I Stayed three nights at the Ashley Court on a coach trip from South Wales to Torquay. Having become accustomed to staying in 4 and 5 star hotels our first impression of the establishment was not good we had a feeling it might be a long and uncomfortable weekend. The hotel although noticeably clean and tidy is badly in need of updating to realise its potential, The routine at mealtimes is very regimental but when we realised how many were being catered for at one time we understood why. I think this hotel relies heavily on large coach parties for its business and has to accommodate for large numbers all at the same time.Food was very good served by very diligent,friendly and attentive staff where no request was to much trouble. Service at the bar was excellent,reception extremely helpful and the cleanliness of the rooms beyond any criticism. In spite of our first impression, thanks to the staff we enjoyed a very nice weekend.. ..

Room Tip: We booked this tour with Leisuretime just several days before when booking we were asked if we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Jeffbulldogburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

To be able to ignore the dreadful state of this hotel Iam sure is a very useful attribute one you will certainly need. the staff are very good and are the saving grace they work hard and fast and despite this they are cheerful. This however nowhere near compensates for the lack of investment the smells the dust the patronising attitude of management. The old people who are taken by coach to the hotel may well be stalwarts and grateful for the opportunity to get away cheaply but they deserve better. If this place were a place where people of questionable nature ,perhaps even if rough sleepers were homed here there may be an excuse for the condition of the dark aged furnishings and poor conditions in the buildings This place and its management are getting away with something that would be unacceptable to an average person who is not dependant

Room Tip: go some where else try next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank jacquesclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#83 of 85 in Torquay
370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#63 of 85 in Torquay
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#77 of 85 in Torquay
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#54 of 85 in Torquay
973 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Court Hotel

Address: Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £46 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashley Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ashley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing