We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantastic break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Babbacombe Guest House
Ranked #55 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a fantastic break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Tony and Pauline are probably the best hosts I have encountered, they were very friendly and made me feel at home instantly, breakfast was first rate.
The room was clean and comfortable and adequate for my needs.
If I could give 10 out of 10 for this guest house I would certainly do so.
Am looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 601Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear 601Steve, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you mentioned our award winning breakfast. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    29
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
111
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Beautiful guest house, friendly hosts, great location. Stayed in a double room on the top floor, really clean and well maintained. The breakfast provided was of great quality and the hosts were very accomodating. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Jamie N. Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed the double room on the top floor and our award winning breakfast. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were delighted with our short three day stay spur of the moment stay at Babbacombe Guest House in july 2013. We received a friendly greeting from Pauline and Tony who immediately made us feel at home. The double room on the ground floor was adequate and the bathroom and bedroom furnishing and fittings were of excellant quality. Breakfast was most enjoyable and cooked to perfection. We have no hesitation in recommending this estabishment to any one of our friends to stay and look forward to our next visit.
Jean and John
Tettenhall
Wolverhampton.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear John N, thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed the Award Winning breakfast and that you found our ground floor room comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed in July 2013 for 3 nights in the family room. The room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and cosy. The breakfast was outstanding and enjoyed by everyone in the family - varied choices were available as well.

Great hosts (Tony and Pauline), very friendly, knowledgable about the area and eager to help. The guest house itself felt like a welcoming home.

Very practical location, very close to Babbacombe and Odicombe beach - stunning views only 2 minute walk from the guest house.

We definitely recommend the guest house to anyone - fantastic experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsWithGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Jane K, thank you for reviewing your stay in our family room. We are really pleased you enjoyed your trip and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We loved the friendly welcome, great service and superb breakfasts. Our room and en suite had everything we required. The bed was particularly comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. The car parking was off the street. It was a little tight but adequate. We will definitely return to this first class B&B.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IMAK1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear IMAK1000, thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. We really appreciate it and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

What a lovely welcome you get. It is like being at home. The rooms are spotless and nothing is too much troubled. The breakfast is out of this world, cooked to order and so tasty. I hope that my mother is in good health next year, so we can return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa50Beeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Lisa50Beeks, it was a pleasure to have you with us as a returning guest this year. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you liked our new breakfast menu, and because of this we were awarded with a Breakfast Award in addition to the Silver Award by Visit England. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We holidayed in July 2013. Accommodation perfect , food first class. Will definitely go back again
Tony and Pauline were very friendly.We had been to this guest house before when it was under different owners. The difference now was amazing, clean and more spacious.We had the downstairs double room. could not find fault.

Room Tip: not neccessary all rooms fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivancfoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear ivancfoates, we were really pleased to hear that you like the changes we have made to the property since your previous visit under different owners. That kind of feedback makes our hard work worth while. We also received the Visit England Silver Award and Breakfast Award last week. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.1 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#44 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#49 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#47 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aveland House
Aveland House
#69 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbacombe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbacombe Guest House

Property: Babbacombe Guest House
Address: 53 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Babbacombe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit England 4* SILVER AWARD with BREAKFAST AWARD Guest House ideally situated on the picturesque boundary of Babbacombe and St Marychurch. The spectacular views from Babbacombe Downs are just 300 yards away, St Marychurch's popular shopping precinct is just a 5 minutes walk away, and the main town centre of Torquay is just a few minutes drive away. Free off road parking and free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Babbacombe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbacombe Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing