We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Babbacombe Guest House
Ranked #65 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I must add to the positive reviews. My husband and I spent two nights at the Babbacombe Guest House and had a wonderful time. Tony and Pauline were welcoming and very helpful, a pleasure to talk to. The room we has was spotlessly clean and comfortable, with ample provisions. It is well situated and was an excellent base for our travels around the area. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyson O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Alyson. Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

What a place. Lovely comfortable rooms, great breakfast selection, good location. A perfect spot to relax, I was very reluctant to leave! Tony and Pauline are wonderful, very attentive and were even so kind as to drive me to the station on my departure. I am already looking forward to returning in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Claire M, thank you for your very kind review - you are very welcome to stay with us again, it was our pleasure to drive you to the station for your onward journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Tony and Pauline gave us a very warm welcome on our arrival and continued to be fine hosts throughout our stay. The breakfasts were excellent with a good choice offered and our rooms were generously stocked with an excellent range of provisions. The whole place was spotlessly clean and we felt at home. The position of the guest house, so near to many facilities including the sea, was excellent. We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Barry G, You are quite right that we are under a 5 minute stroll to the views of the sea and Babbacombe Downs. We are pleased you enjoyed the stay with us and that you particularly mentioned our award winning breakfast. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We can only add to the positive reviews here - Tony and Pauline run a faultless guest house. They're great hosts, Pauline's breakfasts are already missed, the rooms are kept to a high standard. What can we say? It's just a great place to stay. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Kevin S, thank you for leaving a review of your stay with us, and adding to the positive comments. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

What a gem of a place. The location, hosts, food, rooms. Could not fault anything. Pauline and Tony were the perfect hosts throughout our whole stay and Paulines breakfasts are to die for. Very clean and comfortable rooms which were decorated to a high standard. We had a double room on the ground floor and our children (aged 14 and 5) had the double room on the first floor. This guest house is like a home from home. Would recommend anyone to stay here. Thanks Tony and Pauline for making our stay a fantastic one. Hope to see you again in the future.

Room Tip: The room on the first floor has 2 big windows which is lovely and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakiHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear JakiHJ, thank you so much for your kind words about your stay with us. It was a pleasure to make the visit for your family comfortable and we are so glad you enjoyed the award winning breakfast. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Tony and Pauline are probably the best hosts I have encountered, they were very friendly and made me feel at home instantly, breakfast was first rate.
The room was clean and comfortable and adequate for my needs.
If I could give 10 out of 10 for this guest house I would certainly do so.
Am looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 601Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear 601Steve, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you mentioned our award winning breakfast. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Beautiful guest house, friendly hosts, great location. Stayed in a double room on the top floor, really clean and well maintained. The breakfast provided was of great quality and the hosts were very accomodating. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Jamie N. Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed the double room on the top floor and our award winning breakfast. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#54 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbacombe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbacombe Guest House

Address: 53 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £55 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Babbacombe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit England 4* SILVER AWARD with BREAKFAST AWARD Guest House ideally situated on the picturesque boundary of Babbacombe and St Marychurch. The spectacular views from Babbacombe Downs are just 300 yards away, St Marychurch's popular shopping precinct is just a 5 minutes walk away, and the main town centre of Torquay is just a few minutes drive away. Free off road parking and free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Babbacombe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbacombe Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing