We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babbacombe Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Babbacombe Guest House
Ranked #54 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed at Babbacombe Guest House over the Easter weekend whilst visiting my mother who lives just around the corner. Tony and Pauline really are lovely and make you feel so welcome. I stayed in the ground floor room which was very well appointed and comfortable. The room was spotlessly clean and had everything in it to make your stay a good one. The menu for breakfast looked comprehensive and smelt fantastic but I didn't actually have breakfast as I don't eat it normally. I would highly recommend a stay here and you wouldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helenmary2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Helenmary2000, thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you found your room comfortable and welcoming. Next time, we hope you will try our breakfast, since it is included in your room rate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    29
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
111
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Another great weekend we had with Pauline and Tony. We stayed in Babbacombe Guesthouse over the Easter weekend with my friend and had a really nice time. They are lovely hosts providing excellent service. Twin room we were in was airy and spotless clean. Amazing breakfast choice. Highly recommend. Thank you, we will be seeing you again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Michaela M, it was so nice to see you again and we are so pleased you chose to stay with us again. Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here for the second time and received the same quality service as before. Great hosts, fantastic breakfasts. Room and all areas absolutely spotless. Would recommend to anyone. Great base for travelling devon or Cornwall as we did.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libs157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Libs157, thanks for the review. We appreciate comments and feedback like yours to assist other travellers when making their choice. As you mention, Babbacombe is an ideal place to be based for exploring Devon and Cornwall, and with our off road on site parking, you can even leave the car behind and take any tours or public transport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

4 star guest house with 5 star service and accommodation, Tony and Pauline are the perfect hosts and every visit brings new surprises. Breakfast is a gourmet experience not to be missed. We will be back in a short while and hope many others have as good experience as we always have.

Room Tip: Do your self a favour and experience the delights of this beautiful guest house......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacko49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear jacko49er, thank you for your wonderful review! We don't aim to be a secret, but we aim to provide comfortable homely rooms with a breakfast that won't leave you hungry. Already looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Pauline made us welcome from the minute we arrived. Everything is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. And the breakfast was fantastic. In line with other reviewers I cannot recommend the Babbacombe Guest House highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soo569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Soo569, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

A superb two night stay. Great hosts, tasty breakfast and a very comfortable room. I shall be staying here again in the near future. Only a short walk to the "Downs" area of Babbacombe where you can find some excellent eateries and watering holes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie2bikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Stevie2bikes, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and of course our breakfast, for which we received the Visit England Award.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is our second stay here. It was very last minute too as I rang in the morning when I needed a room the same night. Pauline was extremely welcoming. She was on her own so we were very grateful she was as welcoming as she was. We had a different bedroom this stay and the standard was as perfect as our first stay. The Babbacombe Guest House is immaculate. Breakfast is superb. The only downside was we weren't staying any longer. We would definitely recommend this fab place to anyone needing a home from home. Just brilliant!

Room Tip: Any room is a bonus as they're all fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEA1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear LEA1969, thank you for your wonderful review we are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#40 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#46 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#49 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aveland House
Aveland House
#72 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbacombe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbacombe Guest House

Property: Babbacombe Guest House
Address: 53 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Babbacombe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit England 4* SILVER AWARD with BREAKFAST AWARD Guest House ideally situated on the picturesque boundary of Babbacombe and St Marychurch. The spectacular views from Babbacombe Downs are just 300 yards away, St Marychurch's popular shopping precinct is just a 5 minutes walk away, and the main town centre of Torquay is just a few minutes drive away. Free off road parking and free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Babbacombe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbacombe Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing