We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Babbacombe Guest House
Ranked #67 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was my first visit to Tony & Pauline's guest house and I will be more than pleased to stay with them on my next visit. There was a warm welcome and my single bedroom was very comfortable with all that I would need for a two night stay. My bathroom was across the corridor and this was fine with a robe and slippers available. Whilst the bathroom had a rather low ceiling one quickly became used to this and everywhere was extremely clean,
An excellent breakfast kept me going during the day and I felt that Tony and Pauline valued me as a guest.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Ann F - thank you for your kind review of our single guest room. We are especially pleased you liked the dressing robe and slippers and other items that we provide and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Can't praise Tony and Pauline enough: clean and tidy room with all the bits you need (and some v useful extras in the bathroom!). Wonderful breakfast. Great hospitality. Convenient location.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay again when in the area.

Thank you kindly.

Gordon

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Gordon H - Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at the Babbacombe Guest House on the final leg of our SW tour and loved it. Our double room was light and airy, the bed was the super comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic. A real testament to Tony and Pauline's hard work. I'm sure we will be staying with them again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaconIsBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear BaconIsBest, we are so happy that you stayed with us at the end of your holiday in the South West of England and that you were pleased enough with your stay to leave us this wonderful review. We hope our bacon was also the best! Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed at Babbacombe Guest House over the Easter weekend whilst visiting my mother who lives just around the corner. Tony and Pauline really are lovely and make you feel so welcome. I stayed in the ground floor room which was very well appointed and comfortable. The room was spotlessly clean and had everything in it to make your stay a good one. The menu for breakfast looked comprehensive and smelt fantastic but I didn't actually have breakfast as I don't eat it normally. I would highly recommend a stay here and you wouldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helenmary2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Helenmary2000, thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you found your room comfortable and welcoming. Next time, we hope you will try our breakfast, since it is included in your room rate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Another great weekend we had with Pauline and Tony. We stayed in Babbacombe Guesthouse over the Easter weekend with my friend and had a really nice time. They are lovely hosts providing excellent service. Twin room we were in was airy and spotless clean. Amazing breakfast choice. Highly recommend. Thank you, we will be seeing you again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Michaela M, it was so nice to see you again and we are so pleased you chose to stay with us again. Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here for the second time and received the same quality service as before. Great hosts, fantastic breakfasts. Room and all areas absolutely spotless. Would recommend to anyone. Great base for travelling devon or Cornwall as we did.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libs157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Libs157, thanks for the review. We appreciate comments and feedback like yours to assist other travellers when making their choice. As you mention, Babbacombe is an ideal place to be based for exploring Devon and Cornwall, and with our off road on site parking, you can even leave the car behind and take any tours or public transport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

4 star guest house with 5 star service and accommodation, Tony and Pauline are the perfect hosts and every visit brings new surprises. Breakfast is a gourmet experience not to be missed. We will be back in a short while and hope many others have as good experience as we always have.

Room Tip: Do your self a favour and experience the delights of this beautiful guest house......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacko49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear jacko49er, thank you for your wonderful review! We don't aim to be a secret, but we aim to provide comfortable homely rooms with a breakfast that won't leave you hungry. Already looking forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#35 of 86 in Torquay
193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#37 of 86 in Torquay
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Downs, Babbacombe
The Downs, Babbacombe
#39 of 150 in Torquay
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#40 of 150 in Torquay
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#45 of 150 in Torquay
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbacombe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbacombe Guest House

Address: 53 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £64 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Babbacombe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit England 4* SILVER AWARD with BREAKFAST AWARD Guest House ideally situated on the picturesque boundary of Babbacombe and St Marychurch. The spectacular views from Babbacombe Downs are just 300 yards away, St Marychurch's popular shopping precinct is just a 5 minutes walk away, and the main town centre of Torquay is just a few minutes drive away. Free off road parking and free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Babbacombe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbacombe Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing