We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at better Sherrings Holiday Hotels”
Review of Bay Tor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stayed at better Sherrings Holiday Hotels”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Our room was clean, the food was okay but had to send it back to be reheated on a couple of times. Tyler was our waiter, he did a top job. The girls at the bar were very professional. We didnt do the entaintment due to the small area it was in and the chairs we put in rows. We enjoyed our trips out with Robert our coach driver, who was very informative. I caught a stomach bug on the Wednesday of our 5 day break which I thought it was just me until I heard the next day twelve others were down with it. My partner caught it on the journey home, we are sorry for the people who were travelling near us. We didnt pay a lot for the holiday but the bug spoilt it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank louise_lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    195
    89
    30
    11
See reviews for
46
302
23
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

rooms outdated, food cold, tea cold otherwise serving staff very helpful and pleasent along with shearings drivers who were very imfortative!
seems many people caught NOROVIRUS maybe hotel should be closed and given a spring clean!!
maybe one should try the other shearings hotel on sea front!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank davron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed here from Feb 20 for 4 nights. Our stay cost £133 each for which we were more than adequately fed with similar food we would eat at home.
There was some dis-pleasure about the suspension of the free bar being replaced by a voucher system allowing each person 4 free drinks/day. I would estimate this to be equal to
£12 worth daily served by two friendly characters who more than earned their money. I would
say this applied to all the staff that we came into contact with.
If you take into account the free excursions as well this represents great value for money.
This Hotel is only rated two star by Shearings and is priced accordingly. I bet you would struggle to get a budget holiday to match this with any other company.

Room Tip: It's an old building with creaking floors.Maybe top floor would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wickosLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie-Parker1, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Hello wickosLeicestershire. The voucher system has got some very positive advantages the main one being able to use the voucher anytime during the day and not just during a 3 hour timeframe. The queues are very much reduced and the bar experience much more relaxed. Thank you for your comments regarding the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Our recent break at this hotel was satisfactory in all areas. Wayne our driver did a good job throughout the stay. The bar staff along with the restaurant staff were friendly & helpful. Other reviewers comment on small portions, I would endorse those, as I found the portions at meal times to be child size. EG garlic mushroom starter 3 tiny bits of mushroom in a ramakiin with barely a spoonful of sauce, with a few undressed leaves on the side. Main course portions also miserly, Others suggest asking for more if not adequate, I did not feel brave enough to ask. Yes some things had far too much salt in them, eg soup.
I too was miffed that the 3 hour free bar was changed to a 4 a day limit. No point in complaining T & C's will have that covered. The entertainment made up any shortfall in satisfaction that may have been felt.
Overall for what the break cost it was fair value for money.
Dave & Chris.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank squarepeg45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie-Parker1, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Hi Square Peg, thank you for taking time to place a comment much appreciated. We will take on board your comments regarding portions and encourage guests to ask for extra when they are on an inclusive holiday. I will pass on your comments and compliments regarding the staff too. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have just returned from a really pleasant four nights stay.

First of all, Sherarings are offering a great value coach holiday including 2 excellent excursions to Plymouth (stopping at very eerie Princetown on way back for obligatory Devon cream tea) and delightful, Georgian Teignmouth. Driver Darren was a mine of information, full of interesting titbits en route.

We enjoyed all our meals at the hotel. Our waitress Sharen really looked after us. One evening we slipped away early to see Colin Blunstone (of Zombies 60's band fame) in concert at nearby Paignton but Sharen still ensured we had our full evening meal, - and still got us away in good time to catch the local bus (very low fares, very reliable, with bus stop straight opposite the hotel).

The changeover to the voucher system for drinks was no bother to us as we never managed to take advantage of our full quota anyway. Very nice atmosphere in the ballroom (the two bar ladies are so welcoming) and TV lounge proved to be a quiet spot to just sit and read the newspapers.

Although hotel is a little way from the seafront, it's quite convenient for walking to nearby beauty spot Cockington. We were so lucky to go there on a really warm, sunny morning. Recommended.

Our room was fine and was always kept perfectly tidy.

Overall, not untypically, hotel neds continued maintenance/minor improvements but its hardworking and thoughtful staff ensure everyone has a good time.

That's our opinion, anyway!

Keith & Lyn

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie-Parker1, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Hi, so pleased the voucher system worked for you. You can now use your vouchers for teas, coffees and hot chocolate anytime during the day. Thank you for your compliments about the staff and I will make sure Darren is aware of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

just returned from a 5 day break staying at the Tor park. first we were informed by shearings just days before our departure that they had removed the free bar, and made it a voucher system instead with 4 vouchers per day, my upset is that they changed what I had booked. without regard to contract. there were a lot of very unhappy customers this week, ours was the first holiday to be effected in this way. it was the staff I felt sorry for in the hotel, they had to deal with the flack from this and it isnt there fault. shame on you shearings.

the journey down to torquay was lovely we had a lovely friendly helpful driver called wayne who pointed out places of interest and was the same throughout our stay, full of knowlege, he was happy to pass on his geographical knowledge whilst not being overpowering, thank you wayne.
our check in was quick and efficent and our room adequate, although very very hot in the bathroom as the radiatior couldnt be turned off.

we were served in the dining room mainly by sharon, who was friendly and efficient but the food i would say was just ok. soup tasteless and main meals small in portion size and one day so much salt it blew you away. I had salad on last night which was lovely, I wish i had sampled earlier as i would have had those than the main meal hot option. the breakfast was ok, i had kippers one day and wish i had had them before.

the bar was staffed by two lovely ladies, friendly and efficient. again the change from free bar to voucher system left us feeling cheated, not that we may have had more than the 4 drinks but it took away that choice and it was the underhand way it was done, I fear for jobs at the hotel with this introduction.

susie q the comare was lovely and friendly, althoug unable to sing for us due to throat difficulties she provide entertainment in the form of quizzes and the usual bingo and played a variety of music for alll kinds of dancing, the guest artists on two evenings were just ok in my opinion. the jokes a bit close to the knuckle for my liking.

the hotel is situated as others had said a walk into town but bus stop outside. I got a day rover pass for £4.70 which allowed unlimited travel around torbay for the day. i managed to see torquay, paington and brixham and enjoyed.

all in all a decent 2 star break. would i come again. sadly no, shearings underhanded way that they have treated us customers has put me and others right off.......

the staff at this hotel are the best asset, shame on you shearings for leaving them to do the dirty work. you could have at least left if for new bookings.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1nathanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The staff in this hotel are some of the best we have had ,they could not do enough for you.
The food was ok portions were a bit small but sufficient and that suited us.The drinks and bar service was exellent as always some people obuse the free bar and understandably I here Shearings are going to stop this facility .
Our driver Graham was exellent ,full of info and jokes far better than some we have had .
Nice big room very clean .The lounge was very small and the ballroom very crowded and difficult to get a seat .
All in all exellent all inclusive break .For what we paid anyone who complains if they have take there glass back must be looking for faults.
Pop.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank popBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie-Parker1, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for your comments. Yes, we do think that you get real good value for money. Hopefully we will see you again and you can let us know what you think of our new voucher system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,183 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
580 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tor Park Hotel

Property: Bay Tor Park Hotel
Address: 24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Torquay
#31 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tor Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area of Torquay half a mile from the seafront, the Bay Tor Park hotel is also within easy reach of the marina and the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. The hotel offers great facilities for you to enjoy and all the public areas are conveniently located on the ground floor. There are comfortable lounge areas in which to sit and relax in and the ever-popular sun terrace, which is a perfect place to unwind with a drink on a balmy summer’s eve! Inside, the entertainment suite has a dance floor and bar. The hotel is very popular for all inclusive breaks and prides itself on having many repeat customers year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Tor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Park Torquay
Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing