We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value”
Review of Bay Tor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Ranked #27 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This hotel is ok! We had a brilliant time and the staff were amazing and as for our waitress Sharon, she was the best we have ever had, thank you Sharon! The hotel is a bit lack luster, could do with a face lift, the rooms are small but warm and comfortable. Our bed was ok but the the duvet felt like a dead dog on my legs! The entertainment was very good, with a great comedian, talented host and singers. The quizzes and bingo were good fun too. The food was a bit hit and miss, although for the price we paid we could not complain. There were drinks included in the cost too, this was great and made the whole break exceptional value. I would really recommend that you try this break, go and have some fun and say hi to Sharon from me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank janjanevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie-Parker1, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. Sharen will be so pleased to hear that you have said such nice things about her. I will pass on your comments regarding the entertainment too and I am glad you enjoyed this. The housekeeping staff will be pleased to know you found your room clean and comfortable, our rooms vary in size and you are always more than welcome to contact us here at the hotel if you ever have any requests regarding the size of your room and we will always do our best to meet these requests. I am also pleased you enjoyed the drinks package we offer, the bay inclusive voucher system seems to be working well and I am glad that you found this such good value. Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

The tor park hotel is part of the bay hotels group owned by shearings the coach company ,we stayed there on a shearings coach deal on the 25th February for four nights.
Its a two star hotel as is apparent when you enter reception ,we had a standard room which was small but clean and tidy ,the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and tidy with a full size bath, the room was nice and warm (it was february) the room was cleaned and bed made up daily, the lock on the door looked a bit flimsy and we would have liked a chain that we could use at night on the door also the walls were not soundproof as we could hear quite plainly the TV and the people talking in the room next door.
The food in the restaurant was good and our waiter was quick and efficient and helpful also the two ladies serving at the bar were brilliant, they went out of their way to help. the evening entertainment was bingo and a quiz (we are not into that) but when that finished there was a singer and comedian who were ok
The hotel was about a 20 minutes walk to the harbour (downhill) ,but the no 12 bus stops almost right outside the hotel so you could use that is you wanted .
all in all the hotel was good value and the staff were helpful and friendly .

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rcp117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie-Parker1, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Hi Roger P, thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. The housekeeping staff will be so pleased to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable. Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff, they will be very pleased to hear these. It is nice to hear you had the chance to explore the area on foot and by bus whilst you were here and I hope you enjoyed Torquay. Again thank you for your comments they are very important to myself and my staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

the hotel is a little bit on the tired side but ok.Room not bad .Food quite ok for type of holiday.The staff at this hotel ars absolutly brilliant nothing was any trouble and service was great.Our waiter Daemon was one of best we have ever had he was very very attentive,Also the two ladies in the bar did a brilliant job.Hotel in easy walk to bus stops.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roger p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie-Parker1, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Hi Roger P, thank you very much for your review. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Daemon, Fran and Trina who I am sure will be very pleased to hear them. Our staff work very hard to ensure you enjoy your holiday and I am so glad you have such great things to say about them. I agree the hotel is in a great location with regard to the bus stop and it makes exploring Torbay very easy by bus. Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Rooms ok.hotel very cold .food not very good.dining room very cold.coach driver Robert not very friendly.this was a coach trip the third one this year with shearings no were as good as the first two.we paid £16-00 for two.to dumped in a the centre of a small town. To spend 3 hours sitting around waiting to get back on a nice warm bus.with the cold hotel and this cold expensive trip. which I would not have gone on for free?

Room Tip: ground floor best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie-Parker1, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Hi John Y. Thank you for your review. I am sorry to here that you were unhappy with your coach excursions and will ensure this is passed on to the relevant people. I also apologise that you were cold during your stay, we did have some issues with the boiler cutting out at some intervals during the week which may have caused this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Was very disappointed with this hotel. Not up to Shearings standards. From our many Xmas trips Shearings this was the worse. The food was excellent and the service fairly good. Our main complaints are that on Xmas Eve the bar did not open until 5PM,should have opened at 11AM. On Christmas day in the afternoon there was no backgroiund music, the ballroom was in darkness and the bar closed until 5 PM this was the case on all four days of our visit. The decorations were very sparse and not up to Shearings usual standards. Wold not visit this hotel again and would not recommend it to any of our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie-Parker1, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Hi John O. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to us. The bar was open between 11am-2pm and 5pm-midnight, however guests were able to get a drink at any time during the day from the Receptionist on duty. I am sorry if you were not aware of this and felt you were unable to get a drink during your stay. Thank you for your comments on the food and the service I will be sure to pass these on to my staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Just returned from a 5 day break at the Tor Park we arrived at about 5-15 and checked in we had room 49 to get to the room you walk along corridors and up and down 3 small flights of steps, the room was quite small and smelt a bit musty we later found a damp patch in the corner whitch could be the cause, we also found that clothes hung in the wardrobe also felt damp.
Food was ok plenty for us but probably not for anyone with a big appitite we found breakfast better than dinner but that is just personel preference .
Entertainment was good the comedian from Hartlepool was very funny, bar staff very good and the 4 drinks vouchers give great value .
For us the best part of the holiday were the journey down and the trips out with our driver David the guy lives in Toquay and it shows his knowledge of Devon is second to none whitch made the trips very interesting .
All in all very good value for money would we go again yes but not in room 49.

Room Tip: steer clear of room 49
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie-Parker1, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Thank you Richard for your comments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the entertainment and will pass on your comments to the entertainment team. David the driver is one of our regular drivers and I will also ensure that your comments reach him it is always nice to hear such lovely things and to hear that he made your holiday is wonderful. Please feel free to contact the hotel direct if you do decide to book again and we will do our very best to accommodate any requests or preferences you have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

A party of 10 have just returned from a 4 night 5 day break to this hotel. It took a while to find your bearings but once you did it was ok. The breakfast was good even though a little sparse. The evening meal was good choices and once again just enough. Easy enough to get served at the bar. The entertainment was ok but the comedian was excellent. Don't think we would go back there again, as we have had a much better time in other Shearings hotels. For the money it was ok though.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms 34 and 35 as these two rooms back onto the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara-harding1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie-Parker1, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Thank you for your comments. Yes the girls on the bar are very speedy and I am so pleased that you enjoyed the entertainment. I will pass on your kind comments to the entertainer who I am sure will be very pleased to hear them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#36 of 86 in Torquay
761 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 86 in Torquay
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
536 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 86 in Torquay
895 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tor Park Hotel

Address: 24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Torquay
#31 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £78 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tor Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area of Torquay half a mile from the seafront, the Bay Tor Park hotel is also within easy reach of the marina and the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. The hotel offers great facilities for you to enjoy and all the public areas are conveniently located on the ground floor. There are comfortable lounge areas in which to sit and relax in and the ever-popular sun terrace, which is a perfect place to unwind with a drink on a balmy summer’s eve! Inside, the entertainment suite has a dance floor and bar. The hotel is very popular for all inclusive breaks and prides itself on having many repeat customers year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Bay Tor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Park Torquay
Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing