We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shearings Hotel Holiday”
Review of Bay Tor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shearings Hotel Holiday”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Hotel is looking tired but the staff are one hundred percent at there work,we had a slight problem with the room we had been given and told the desk manager Alex. He then took us a tour of the Hotel and let us choose another room which was much better.He could not do enough for us, he is a credit to Shearings staff.

Room Tip: would not recommend room 60 has a fan out side the window also room 62 is very dark inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear John W

It is always pleasing when a guest takes the time to post a review that compliments our Staff. Alex is a hard worker , and i agree a credit to Bay Hotels. All our rooms are of a similar standard but obviously each guest will have different requirements. If we are informed that a room is not to your taste we always try, where possible, to find a more suitable one and i am glad in this case we were able to do so
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    195
    88
    30
    11
See reviews for
46
301
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Just returned from a 5 day stay at this hoel. Sharron our waiter was excellent, she had a lot of customers to look after, but made are meals pleasent. All the staff were great and the food and accomodation was good, this was not an expensive holiday but was excellent value for money, it is one of the best Bay hotels we have stayed in. Bus stop just outside the front door made getting around easy. Thanks again to Sharron and all our mob around table 15.

Room Tip: Try room 4. Very quiet
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank gordoncooper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear nodrogcheshire

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of the Tor Park Hotel and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and found it excellent value for money. I shall certainly pass on your compliments to Sharon who does work very hard in the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Many people unfortunately will spend time with a bad review but fewer spend the time to praise,well I for one feel the praise for one particular hotel is such that it needs to be said,The Tor Park in Torquay is like a real family feel with excellent service and friendly staff. Shearing Hotel's may be viewed as cheap and cheerful,however there are the exceptions and for those who have never tried these hotels I suggest you give them a go.We have stayed at quite a few of their many Hotels and some are better than others but always excellent value for money.
We recently stayed at the "Tor Park Hotel" in Sunny Torquay (Shearings "Bay" Hotel's)
The hotel has recently had a change in Management (March 2013) and has undergone quite a lot of refurbishment,the General Manager "Annetta" has breathed new life into the hotel and her staff are right behind her.Every member of staff we had involvement with were not only attentive but went out of their way to help far beyond what would normally be expected.
From the very first arrival the receptionist "Bernadette" met us with a friendly smile and showed us to our room and even helped us with our cases up a flight of stairs as the lift was further away,nothing seemed too much trouble.Over the next four days was much the same with different waiting staff due to days off Ty and Sharon looked after us and were excellent also.
At night we had Trina and Fran in the Bar working tirelessly with speedy service mainly due to a voucher system where you get 4 complimentary drinks per day,but always served with a smile and never kept waiting (well done girls) and then there was "Tony" the Night (Dare I say) Manager, who cleared the glasses from the tables and looked after the hotel overnight who went way over what I would expect as service,he had served us at the table with a hot chocolate which unfortunately toppled over on the saucer spilling over one of our female party's leg of their trousers,he immediately insisted she give them to him to sort out,so changing into fresh clothes he took them and we found out later he had soaked them to remove staining,and his wife the housekeeper washed and pressed (in her own time) and returned to our friend.I tried to make a gesture by way of a small tip but refused politely and stated he liked his job, the Hotel and even praising the way the Hotel was now better with the new Management.With entertainment of some sort every night of the usual Bingo we had dance music and on our last night (Sunday) we had an excellent evening with music requested which kept the dance floor full and people up to the very end with also a Cabaret of a high standard. To conclude I think the Shearing Hotel group should recognise the superb staff for what they do as we definitely be returning for future visits,for the cost you will not find better

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Sylvia n

Thank you for your wonderful FIVE STAR review of the Tor Park. I am so pleased that the hard work that is being done to improve the hotel has exceeded your expectations. The Tor Park does have a great team of staff and I will pass on your thanks to them.

Please come back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay with Shearings at this hotel. The break was excellent value for money - half board with a good choice of menu and 4 tokens for drinks per day included too! However, please take note that this hotel is a little tired in decor but this is being addressed and re-decorating is taking place.

The hotel is in a very quiet spot and within a 15 minute walk to the Marina, however, if you have difficulty in walking distances there is a bus stop right by the hotel that will take you there.

There is evening entertainment at the hotel but if you wish there is a quiet lounge area where the hotel provide an assortment of daily papers. There is also a furnished patio area for when the weather is good or for any smokers to use.

mealtimes have the flexability of 1 hour for breakfast and 1 1/2 hours for dinner so no need to worry about rigid set times. The staff we found at this hotel were exceptionally polite and friendly with the attitude that nothing was too much trouble. The shearings experience was also very well organised too.

Would definately return and recommend this trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 which was a lovely big room with en-suite overlooking the patio area. The only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Christine T

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. It is very pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay, with us, and you would like to return. The hotel is well placed for the local buses and the town and i'm glad you enjoyed the 'Shearings Experience'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Me and my partner and my step daughter have just come home from the tor park hotel and would like to say a very big thank you to staff and management for making our 3 night stay so brilliant. We went with shearings and as soon as our coach pulled up outside the hotel, the staff were there to meet and greet us and take our luggage up to our room. The service in the restaurant was excellent, no hanging around for your meal to be served and the meals was bang on as the food was very nice and hot , everything was run so efficiently, and there was'nt anything that was too much trouble for the staff. we had three nights entertainments thay was very good. the rooms was very clean we had room 15 .The only complaint I have is that it all went too quickly. Thanks again for all hard work.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank libby186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear libby186402

Thank you for taking the time to post a FIVE STAR review of the Tor Park. It is pleasing to hear that all the hard work put in by our staff is being appreciated. I sincerely hope that you will return ....and next time stay longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed Friday and Saturday night, we only booked on Friday afternoon, but that wasn't a problem. It was really nice. From the moment we arrived Alex on reception was polite and informative, then every other staff member we walked past all had a smile and a hello for us. It's amazing how big the little things are. Breakfast was cooked well and you could have more tea and toast if you wanted. The room was a generous size, yes the carpet was a bit thread bare and the bath towels were not very big, but that really had no impact in the quality of my stay, the room was clean which is the most important thing. Good night sleep, and the entertainments area in the evening seemed very popular with the guests.
I was quite clearly the youngest person staying (I'm 32), but if you're going to a hotel that caters for mainly coach parties it's going to be geared to the 'older' market. But this in no way had any impact in our enjoyment of the weekend. If anything it means the guests will all say hello at breakfast, and you won't get the usual noisy comings and going during the night.
We're going back to the area in September, and we'll definately be thinking about using this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tracy80bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your FIVE STAR review of the Tor Park Hotel. As you have experienced all our staff work very hard to make your stay a pleasant one and i shall certainly pass on your thanks to Alex. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Tor Park in September
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern england
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Not an atractive building but friendly staff at reception. Lots of stairs and twists and turns and the decor needs updating but could be worse. Single bedroom was clean as was the bathroom which would have been improved by having shower gel/shampoo and better towels. Working on the theory that you get what you pay for then the food was OK but it is obvious that the kitchen has limited funds and much of the food seemed to be from the freezer,including the fish which is sad considering the hotel is so near the sea. It's also a long time since I had tinned potatoes and the salad could have been larger although the ham was good.The waitress for table 44 was lovely, friendly but not over familiar plus the bar staff serving the 4 free drinks were also very friendly.
David our driver was very good, helpful and friendly and full of information and made the tours very interesting.
Bus stops outside the hotel were handy to get into Torquay and other towns, especially good if you have a bus pass.
Doubt that I would go to the hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank walnutwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Walnutwonder

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Tor Park Hotel. Feedback on the service we provide -both positive and negative- allows us to identify areas where improvements can be made and therefore i appreciate all of your comments on your stay. Obviously our style of hotel does not suit everyone and you may find one of our Coast & Country hotels more to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#31 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#88 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
0.3 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#26 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tor Park Hotel

Property: Bay Tor Park Hotel
Address: 24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Torquay
#32 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tor Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area of Torquay half a mile from the seafront, the Bay Tor Park hotel is also within easy reach of the marina and the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. The hotel offers great facilities for you to enjoy and all the public areas are conveniently located on the ground floor. There are comfortable lounge areas in which to sit and relax in and the ever-popular sun terrace, which is a perfect place to unwind with a drink on a balmy summer’s eve! Inside, the entertainment suite has a dance floor and bar. The hotel is very popular for all inclusive breaks and prides itself on having many repeat customers year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bay Tor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Park Torquay
Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing