We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay here, still a good find!!”
Review of Bay Tor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
suffolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2nd stay here, still a good find!!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

we stay here last week, we have be here before, we always have enjoyed our stay, it has good rooms and great staff. this our 2nd stay here , it was long time ago since but we still enjoy our holidays here. we will come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear ann P

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. It is so good to hear that you enjoy your visits to the Tor Park and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    196
    90
    30
    11
See reviews for
46
303
23
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here on 12th July 2013 for 3 nights. Our room (43 I think) was clean but in need of updating.
Our Waitress Sharon was off on the first night so service was a bit slow, the staff explained the slowness and apologised and did there very best. Sharon was back for the next 2 nights and was terrific. nothing was to much trouble. The 2 girls behind the bar Tina and Fran, were brilliant explaining how to upgrade your drinks and the best way of doing it.The reception staff were very helpful, we had booked a round robin trip on the Monday and the girl behind the desk told me she had done the same trip and gave good tips on the best way round to do it, food was excellent. My only slight complaint is the TV, terrible reception and very few channels. Overall as on previous trips with Shearings excellent experience and great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Kim A

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Tor Park Hotel. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and i shall certainly pass on your compliments to Sharon Trina & Fran who all do a great job. We are currently in the middle of a refurbishment programme which will include newer flat screen TV's with freeview so hopefully by your next visit you will be pleasantly suprised
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had a great 3 Day break at this hotel. Having booked direct with Bay Hotels the value was brilliant and included 4 drinks per person per night. The bar staff Tina and Fran were fantastic as was our Table Waitress Sharen. Good old fashioned personal service nothing was too much trouble wish they were at every hotel we used !! Although a fifteen minute walk to the front the no 12 bus stops just outside the Hotel and runs every 15 mins or so. If you like Value for Money this is a fantastic way to see Torbay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul PAFC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Paul PAFC S

Thank you for your FIVE STAR review of the Tor Park hotel. Our aim is always to exceed our customer's expectations and provide value for money. It would seem by your review that we have succeeded and we sincerely hope this will be the first of many visits to our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mersea island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by a pleasant young man ,and from that moment on things went downhill. The room was dark and 1950 style dark furniture also the room was dark.The food menu looked brilliant but the food was rubbish as a male I could done better hands down,THERE WERE 4 FREE DRINKS PER PERSON PER NIGHT IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER IF THERE FOURTEEN TO LESSEN THE DISSAPOINTMENT WE FELT AT THE LACK OF A RATHER ambeice which we believed was a nice hotel this is fifth time we have used shearings and the last time wish to take my wife to such a dismal hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank georgeMerseaIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear georgeMerseasla

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is nice to know that you felt welcomed into the hotel by Alex and i shall pass on your comment to him. It is obvious that on this occasion we were unable to exceed your expectations of our hotel and i think you may find that one of our coast & country hotels would be more to your liking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had a great time the hotel is renovating parts of the hotel but not inconveniencing any guests the restaurant staff are great they go out of their way to please you if you did not like certain things on the menu they always offered an alterative Fran one of the waitresses was really excellent nothing was to much trouble well done Fran Hotel was clean and tidy we would go there again Pat Tiller Banbury ox16 1uq

Room Tip: Ground floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Pat T

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the efforts that are being made to improve the hotel. I shall certainly pass on your thanks to Fran - She is a diamond! I look forward to welcoming you back to the Tor Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

this was a late deal holiday - had them before with Shearings and have had good time and good
hotel - but this was the worst we have been on the hotel is like a maze - you need a sat nav to find yr way back to dinning and reception areas- states its a good 20 mins walk down hill to the
seafront or town shops- but first you have to negotiate the 1-12" hill at the front anyone with a wheel chair or walker would find it impossible to push up or even hang on when come back down
unless big and stong - and as most were elderly they did not venture out unless they had a taxi
but a bus stop is 100 yard away and most would be free travel - unless they were on the all inclusive holidays with trips out - but the hotel did not offer much if you stayed in - you could order Lunch during a limited time period and a limited lounge area , which also used to eat lunch- they did have new Deck area - only suitable in fine weather.

the Hotel staff very helpful and obliging but with an old hotel could not have been very nice
with every one complaining about rooms, bathrooms , stairs, lifts .
food was average - some items did not go together for a meal and could have been warmer

Room Tip: some gound floor rooms behind ballroom and stage - numbers 42 +- would have loud music most night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rugbylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Rugbylynn

I always appreciate people taking the time to post a review even when it is not a favourable one. It is through this process that we are able to adapt and improve our hotel. The hotel is positioned in a quiet residential area and there is an incline walking from the hotel to the bus stop. However, if you had asked we would have pointed out alternative routes that avoid the incline. We have never had a problem with guests not being able to venture out and indeed most days the hotel is very quiet with all guests out and about. I am once again pleased that you found our staff obliging and helpful (and suprisingly we get very few complaints!) I am sorry that the Tor Park was not for you and we did not meet your expectations on this occasion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was our first visit to The Tor Park Hotel as we normally stay in the Torbay Hotel when in Torquay but the holiday on offer was very reasonably priced so we booked it. The Tor Park is not one of the better Shearings Bay Hotels we have stayed in, being quite small and a bit run down but the staff all do their very best and are friendly and helpful at all times. Our room was very dark (on the ground floor, it looked out onto a flight of concrete steps which were part of the fire escape) and also we had the noise of the bins being filled/emptied each day just outside our window. The twin beds were not very comfy - well past their best in fact - but at least they had duvets unlike some of the Bay Hotels we have stayed in. The room and Bathroom were kept clean but there was mould and peeling paint in the Bathroom so it was definitely due for some refurbishment. The shower (over the bath) was good - water pressure good and water always nice and hot, The Dining-Room, Entertainment Room and Quiet Lounge are all interconnected (ie you walk through the Restaurant to get to Reception & we walked through the Restaurant and the Entertainment Room to get to our rooms) The Entertainment Room was quite crowded after dinner and did get very hot. Apparently the Air Conditioning was not working. Entertainment was the usual Bingo & a quiz followed by cabaret and some of the visiting acts were excellent (Steve Laister, Stevie G & Stevie Davis being the best).
The meals were always hot and mainly very good but our waitress seemed to have too many tables to deal with and sometimes we were kept waiting. However, she was always very pleasant and was obviously doing her best. Service at the bar was also very good. There is also a patio area outside with seating if the weather is warm or you want some fresh air.
This Hotel is situated at the rear of the town, about a 20 minute walk (downhill) to the sea front but there are frequent buses from stops just outside the Hotel. Buses also go from Torquay to Paignton, Brixham, Newton Abbott, Exeter, Teignmouth & Babbacombe & Marychurch.
We enjoyed our holiday and it was good value, but we will probably return to the Torbay Hotel next time we visit Torquay as it is larger, you can up-grade your room and also it is more centrally placed. I was undecided whether to put 3 (average) or 4 (good) as my rating for this Hotel as the building itself is poor to average but the hard-working and friendly restaurant/bar & reception staff make it so much better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Seaside Dancer (I missed out on seeing your moves!)

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your very welcome praise for the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. You are indeed correct that the Tor park is one of Shearings smaller hotels but as you will have seen whilst you were here we are refurbishing the public areas of the hotel to bring them in line with the larger hotels. I am very glad you liked the Duvets and indeed over 75% of our rooms now have them. I have looked into the bathroom decor issue you mentioned and it has already been sorted. We pride ourselves in giving good value for money and i am very happy that you found this to be the case
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
721 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,184 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
580 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tor Park Hotel

Property: Bay Tor Park Hotel
Address: 24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Torquay
#31 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tor Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area of Torquay half a mile from the seafront, the Bay Tor Park hotel is also within easy reach of the marina and the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. The hotel offers great facilities for you to enjoy and all the public areas are conveniently located on the ground floor. There are comfortable lounge areas in which to sit and relax in and the ever-popular sun terrace, which is a perfect place to unwind with a drink on a balmy summer’s eve! Inside, the entertainment suite has a dance floor and bar. The hotel is very popular for all inclusive breaks and prides itself on having many repeat customers year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay Tor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Park Torquay
Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing