We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected”
Review of Bay Tor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just returned from a 4 night self drive break and have to say the weather was brilliant shame about the Hotel. Breakfast on day one was a shambles no glasses/orange juice/dishes and no staff to ask, when found they said they were busy. Dinner was OK but not for the those with an appetite. Breakfast day two was how it should be. Dinner was so bad we chose to eat out, Pate that looked like it had been liquidised and the fattest Pork Loin sliced wafer thin (you could see the pattern on the plate through it).Everyone was complaining about the quality and/or quantity of the food. The service was rushed with plates being cleared as soon as you put the fork down, if you want a leisurely meal this isn't the place.
Dinner is served between 6.30-8.00pm so everyone has to be fed then, perhaps an extra 1/2 hour would help.
Had two flat pints of beer served which were exchanged without question. Otherwise the bar was fine. Hotel gives 4 free drinks per person per night but would be better not doing this and using money on food.
As for the room we had the usual squeaky floor but its an old property, pity you can see the lines of the floorboards through the carpet as well as the horrible tea/coffee stains where the tea making facilities are. Beds are furnished with sheets and blankets with overthrows, a little old fashioned with solid wooden headboards in 2013? would prefer duvets and more modern look. We booked a double and got a family room with 2 extra single beds so it was a large room plenty of space. Bedroom furniture looks like its been in a family room for some time.
Bathroom was clean with a good shower over the bath.
This hotel is built on a hillside with extensions added so yes you are going up and down stairs and along corridors.
Entertainment was excellent especially Steve the comic who adjusted his act to suit the youngsters in the room
Lot of people on the coach tours said this was not Shearings' normal standards, I hope so as the hotel itself isn't badly placed you can walk into town or the beach in 10-15 mins buses do stop close by and the Station (Torre) is only 10 mins so you don't need a car to get around once you're there. You can reserve a parking space but there is on street free parking available.
Sorry to say not what I was expecting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Petensue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Petensue2013

I appreciate the time you have spent posting a review of the Tor Park Hotel after your recent stay. I am disappointed that not everything was to your liking. I will investigate the issues you mention to do with food and service -However after many meal times guests are to be found still eating and chatting so i am surprised that you felt rushed. As I have mentioned before on this forum we are progressively refurbishing the hotel and the room you were in was changed over to duvets the day you left. We now have only a handful of rooms with blankets. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not exceed your expectations but hope that one day you may give us another try

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
There are newer reviews for Bay Tor Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

just returned from this hotel 8 night stay , booked this holiday last thing on arrival we got our room this was aroom set up for disable people .We asked to be moved the next day no was the answer on the second day we moved to another room . The only clean part of the room was the bathroom everywhere was stained, damp marks on walls and carpet , staff were good but rushed of there feet ,bar staff friendly and efficient ,food was of a poor quality and small ,not up to Shearings usual standed . If this was the first holiday with Shearings we would not have done anymore

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ron h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear ron h

I am sorry that you felt your holiday at the Tor Park was a 'Nightmare'. Our reservation team do work very hard to try and match guests with a suitable room. Obviously it is not always possible and it would seem on this occasion this was so. As you noticed our staff try very hard to please and even though we were fully booked, managed to offer you an alternative at the earliest opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay. Must say not one of Shearings better hotels. Although our room was lovely, clean and quite large.The hotel is a maze of corridors and stairs. We had no tv for all of our stay, a notice in reception stated that the problem was being fixed, but it never was. the food was very hit and miss, breakfast was really good but evening meals not the usual standard that we expected from a Shearing hotel. All the staff were great as was the entertainment, so not to bad. As ever good value for the money.

Room Tip: front facing rooms are noisy traffic and deliveries in the early hours every day.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patts0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Patts0

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Tor Park. I apologize for the lack of a decent tv signal to the hotel during your stay. Unfortunately this was beyond our control and the repair has taken longer and was more involved that we anticipated. I am very glad that you enjoyed the service provided by the staff and the entertainment and still found your holiday to be good value for money

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night self drive trip to this hotel and have just one thing to complain about and that is the state of our room that is in much need of a good clear out of the stained carpets and out of date bed and furniture in room 53. That is all the negatives out of the way so now the positives. We had table 45 in the restaurant and our waitress was Jane who was pleasant and efficient. The bar staff of Andy and Fran worked really hard and were fast at serving the guests their drinks and at times carried the drinks to the tables for some guests who could not carry their drinks. The shows at night were good with the best comedian (by the name of Steve Lasiter) that we have ever seen at a Bay Hotel. His act was just like the old acts the were in the working mens clubs years ago. His act was clean and he never slagged off any of the guests at any time. It was worth the money just to see him. We would definitely return to this hotel, but please speed up the refurbishing of the hotel

Room Tip: Avoid room 53 if you don't like stains on the carpets
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReddragonWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear ReddraggonWrexham

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us your likes and dislikes of your holiday at the Tor Park. I am sure you are aware that we are continually refurbishing both the hotel and the bedrooms as part of an ongoing programme. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff as they all work very hard. I will pass on your remarks to Steve Laister - I also find him very entertaining too! I do hope you will return very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned from an enjoyable holiday. Hotel good and staff very friendly and helpful. Food was good but service quite slow. Not sure whether this was due to staff having to wait in kitchen in a queue or whether they needed another waiter in the dining room. We had a bath with a shower attachment but no shower curtain. Room was clean and comfortable. The hotel was a bus ride away from the town which is ok if you have a bus pass as we did! Plenty of buses into town.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel can be quite noisy early mornings due to van deliveries and refuse collectio...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Olive D

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Tor Park. I am very pleased that you found the hotekl to your liking. We did have two new members of restaurant staff during your stay and i am sorry if this slowed down service in the restaurant. I do hope you will return to visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

comfortable hotel...bar and restaurant staff were great...fran and tina behind the bar worked hard and were very helpful...damion and elaine working in the restaurant were amazing ...restaurant let down by staff not trained well but that wasnt their fault. location good..bus services were great and organised trips out we enjoyed...enjoyed the entertainment and had a win on the bingo....would return mainly because of the staff...they made this hotel...well done to you all.

Room Tip: choose a room without a sqeaky floor if they exist!!!...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Margaret K

Thank you for your positive review of our Hotel. I shall certainly pass on your thanks to the members of staff you have mentioned as they do indeed work very hard. I am so pleased you intend to return and we shall look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Very friendly Hotel, warm & welcoming Staff. Good facilities, food and nightly entertainment. Bar Staff particularly efficient and most friendly, nothing too much trouble. We had a very good room,nicely decorated and clean, as was the shower room. We have now been 3 times and will no doubt go again in future years.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Dorothy B

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Tor Park Hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, once again and i will pass on your comments to our hard working staff. Come Back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#38 of 87 in Torquay
751 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,946 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
528 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
644 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tor Park Hotel

Address: 24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Torquay
#31 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £84 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tor Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area of Torquay half a mile from the seafront, the Bay Tor Park hotel is also within easy reach of the marina and the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. The hotel offers great facilities for you to enjoy and all the public areas are conveniently located on the ground floor. There are comfortable lounge areas in which to sit and relax in and the ever-popular sun terrace, which is a perfect place to unwind with a drink on a balmy summer’s eve! Inside, the entertainment suite has a dance floor and bar. The hotel is very popular for all inclusive breaks and prides itself on having many repeat customers year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay Tor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Park Torquay
Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing