We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taunton Party On Tour!!!!”
Review of Bay Tor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taunton Party On Tour!!!!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Excellent Hotel, had a brilliant weekend, All staff were lovely,a special thank you to Sharen who looked after us at meal times,and also the to lovely girls behind the bar,Fran and Trina,many thanks xx

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Susan B

It was a pleasure to have your party to stay at the hotel and I am really pleased that all your party enjoyed their stay. I do hope you will return to stay at the hotel.....soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    195
    88
    30
    11
See reviews for
46
301
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Had lovely break with Shearings hol last weekend! No complaints about any part of weekend. Staff excellent all round. Food was fine and value for money 5*. We paid a little more had room with double bed and two singles which hadn't long been refurbished and at back of hotel which was very quiet with nice views. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Carole c

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. All our staff work really hard to make your stay enjoyable and it is very pleasing to know this is appreciated. Please don't hesitate! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereforshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

great weekend, girls behind bar priceless,great value for money,will be booking again early next year, entertainment good every night.sharon in restarent couldnt do enough for us.food was good great value for money,we go on these short breaks to shearings six times a year this is one we will be going back to.tom and jennie

Room Tip: dont go on lower floor too hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Tom & Jennie

Thank you for your lovely review of the Tor Park Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. The breaks do offer really good value for money and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
111 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

On arrival pleasant young man showed us to our room and helped with the luggage. This hotel is like a rabbit warren with rooms off the dining room bar and everywhere else. Room not too bad but not a very pleasant outlook. On the first night the menu had smoked salmon which was off but there was deep fried potted shrimps. Yes you tell me! The following night there was a mispelt buttered fish on the menu. We were subjected at each meal to a coach driver on a mobile phone interminably shouting into it. He was one of the two loud National drivers and not the Shearings driver who was a gentleman. Breakfasts were terrible. Cold and either burnt or undercooked. Towards the end of the week we had a different waitress when two people came in nd said we were in their seat. The waitress asked us why we were in their seats and we said we had been there all the week. She told the two peoplr rather rudlely to go to reception. This resulted in a manager who had recently returned to come in the room and virtually interrogate us. We did receive the following day a message under our door saying that our table was actually ours, On top of this we were subjected to noise from building work on the roof. The only redeeming feature was the two sisters who ran the bar and who went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Two_ronnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Two Ronnies

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate all reviews both positive and negative as it does help us to improve the holiday experience of all our guests. I am indeed sorry that your mealtimes were spoilt for more than one reason and i only wish that you had raised these issues at the time as i would then have been able to put things right. I can only apologise for the behaviour of the coach driver and how this spoilt your stay. I do hope that you will return again and have a more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Although this hotel is a bit dated the welcome and service is great.
From the welcome on arrival the staff are brilliant,the restaurant staff are quick pleasant and polite,
the bar staff are among the best we have encountered,and the rooms although not modern are clean and comfortable ,we would have liked heavier curtains and less noisy floorboards.
The food is typical home cooking and could have been a bit more adventurous (especially the veg)
but they do have to cater for all tastes,
All in all the hotel was great value for money and if you are looking for a cheap few days away you could do much worse.

Room Tip: Rooms 68 and 69 have the noisiest floorboards we have ever heard so if next door gets up in the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Helen m
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Tor park. I am glad you found our hotel to your liking and good value for money. I do take on board your comments about the floorboards and curtains and the hotel does have an ongoing refurbishment programme and these are some of the issues I intend to put right. I look forward to you returning and being able to show you the improvements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed at tor park hotel on28 September 2013 for 7 days me and my wife Yvonne we had great time rooms were spotless cleaned every day reception girls were very nice and helpful went with shearings 4 free drinks every night bar staff Fran Trina Damien were absolutely fantastic would go back again no problem

Room Tip: Room58 very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Philip M
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Tor Park. The Bay inclusive package is very good value for money and is also flexible to suit most tastes.I will pass on your thanks to Fran Trina and Daemon who all work very hard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We have just re turned from the Tor Park Hotel,were we had a weeks stay.Its not a large Hotel so your not a face among many.Your looked after in if not modern,but comfortable settings.Staff are friendly,helpful,and courteous.We traveled with Shearings ,so had lots of trips out to.Its not the Ritz,but we liked it give it a try.
X46124

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickyp44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Mickyp 44

It is always pleasing when we receive a review of our hotel that is complimentary of both our staff and the value for money which we offer our guests. I sincerely hope you will pay us a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#35 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#88 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
0.3 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#26 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tor Park Hotel

Property: Bay Tor Park Hotel
Address: 24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Torquay
#32 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tor Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area of Torquay half a mile from the seafront, the Bay Tor Park hotel is also within easy reach of the marina and the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. The hotel offers great facilities for you to enjoy and all the public areas are conveniently located on the ground floor. There are comfortable lounge areas in which to sit and relax in and the ever-popular sun terrace, which is a perfect place to unwind with a drink on a balmy summer’s eve! Inside, the entertainment suite has a dance floor and bar. The hotel is very popular for all inclusive breaks and prides itself on having many repeat customers year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Tor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Park Torquay
Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing