We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Tor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Ranked #24 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
west sussex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. This was a Shearings Holiday with Direct Travel not via an Interchange which was much better. The Hotel is at the back of TORQUAY not near the beach. There is a Bus Stop a very short walk away. We had a cosy quiet Room at the side of the Hotel.
DOUBLE ROOM Spotlessly clean. Big Wardrobe Very comfortable bed. Hairdryer. Small old TV with good picture. Full length Mirror. Modern BATHROOM with Shower ( see photo ) Plenty of hot water
MEALS BREAKFAST was between 8am and 9am. Cereals, Prunes, Grapefruit and Juice ( see photo ) Plenty of choice between Full English, Porridge, Kipper or Ham and Egg, Toast, Tea and Coffee
DINNER was between 6.30pm and 8 pm. Food was very very good. Service was run with Military Precision. The best Dinners we have had in any Shearings Hotel so far. If there is an Employee of the Month Award it should go to Dameon. He was totally unflappable under pressure. His natural Customer Service skills are 5 star.
ENTERTAINMENT Bingo ( cash prize ) Quiz ( prize Maltesers ) Singer / Comedian was good and encouraged Audience participation. Dancing. Everyone appeared to enjoy the Entertainment and relaxed with the 4 free drinks available. THANK YOU TOR PARK we really enjoyed our stay with you

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappymouseWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear happymousewest!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the hotel. Also thank you for posting such lovely pictures of both room 4 and the public areas. Ironically the restaurant has been decorated since you left and is now looking very clean and smart. Thank you also for your very kind comments about Daemon. He is a very capable young man and I am glad his service was of a high standard and I shall certainly pass on your comments to our chef. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    192
    86
    29
    11
See reviews for
46
296
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
grimsby
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Visited the Tor Park Hotel as part of a Shearing's 5 day break. The hotel situated in a quiet residential area is not the most impressive of buildings. However the sunny disposition of the welcoming Manager and the fast and efficient check in soon dispel any doubts. Our room number 40 was a little cramped but had a comfortable bed and plenty of storage /hangers etc. The shower and toilet were in a cubicle but the sink was fitted in the bedroom. I had two complaints, (1) There should have been a towel hook fitted close to sink and(2) the entrance door to the shower was far too small for anyone but the slimmest (not me) of people. As mentioned before in other reviews the lift is a bit ancient talking nearly a minute to climb two floors.
The restaurant is a bright and pleasant place to eat, and the entertainment room functional but with little comfortable seating, There is however an adjacent lounge with settees and armchairs.
There is a bus stop just across the road and there are frequent services to town and to Newton Abbot.
Meals were tasty, well prepared ,choices available at breakfast and Dinner, plus a lunch and takeaway menu available.
Service. One word, excellent. All staff we met, reception, waiters, bar staff, cleaners, repairmen were friendly and efficient (even under pressure).
Entertainment was enjoyable.
All in all they say you get what you pay for. You do at the Tor Park and more!!
Oh forgot, the weather was poor, but the sunshine at the hotel made up for it.

Room Tip: If you are over 10 stone, refuse room 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ragrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear ragrut

Thank you for writing such a balanced and detailed review of your stay at the hotel. As you have said unfortunately our hotel architecture is never going to win any prizes but I am so pleased that the 'sunshine' from our staff more than made up for it. I take on board your comment about the towel ring which I think is a good idea. Unfortunately all our showers are a similar size but some of them have full-door openings rather than the corner type in room 40. Also some of our rooms have bath with a shower over which may suit you better. If you do book and return please do not hesitate to call the hotel direct and I will do my best to find you the most suitable room. You and indeed so many contributors to this site have mentioned the high standard of service provided by our staff -who all do an excellent job. Thank you once again and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Just been to Tor Park Hotel in Devon for 5 days with 2 friends of ours on a shearings tour.
Everything was as perfect as you would want it to be.The food was fantastic the staff were
absolutely great,anything you asked for was no problem to anyone.Entertainment was also
brilliant,no complaints about anything Looking forward to going again very soon

Alan, Susan, Gordon & Andrea.

Room Tip: Book a double room there's lots more room. Try and get a room away from the kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendywol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Alan Susan Gordon & Andrea
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Tor park hotel? There is nothing more pleasing than when we have been able to exceed our guests expectations. As you have said we are always available to try and help (if we are able to!) and make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as is humanly possible. Please come back and visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Torpark hotel

We visited this hotel as a Shearings customer. The hotel is situated some considerable walking distance from the centre of Torquay and the Sea front. My impression of the hotel is that it is one of the better Shearings hotels I have visited. I would say it is a typical British 3 star hotel but it has the advantages of being run by excellent staff who, between them produce a comfortable stay in warm surroundings with a very good selection of food.
The evening entertainment was good and along with the warm welcome we were given made a very pleasant 4 night stay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malc333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Malc 333

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. It is very rewarding to hear you not only enjoyed your time at the hotel but also rated the hotel and staff so highly. I really look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel maybe in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Another fantastic stay at the Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, this is our 3rd visit this year for a Monday - Friday break with other family members. All the staff are exceptional but a very special mention to Sharon our waitress and Fran and Trina the fab duo behind the bar. Nothing is too much trouble for all the staff, and anything you have a problem with is dealt with efficiently and always with a smile. Although it is a Shearings Hotel and you can go by coach if you wish we always self drive. Great staff, great food, and great entertainment as well as being value for money. Looking forward to our next visit in the new year

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn_Roach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Lyn

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your 3rd (Yes 3rd!) visit to the hotel this year. I believe that we must be doing something right when guests return to the hotel with this frequency. Your comments regarding the staff, food and entertainment are very welcome and I look forward to welcoming back to the Tor Park in 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Been there many times always value for money. Staff always helpful and pleasant. Entertainment was very good. Room had everything we needed. Food was good always plenty of choice.We will be going back next year. A huge thanx to Sharen our waitress. Fran and Trina behind the bar for their excellent service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Dawn & Steve

Thank you for your great review of the Tor Park and your praise for Sharen, Fran & Trina is very welcome. I look forward to your return...soon I hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Had a good week great food always a good selection . All staff were friendly bar staff were excellent service first class .Room had everything we needed in it bed could have been more comfy, been there several times happy to go back

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear M & M Cox

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is always nice to receive a review from one of our regular guests and we look forward to your return. I wish you had mentioned the bed while you were here and we would have sorted the problem. We are currently in the process of replacing the majority of our beds so hopefully on your return you will be pleasantly suprised
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#28 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#88 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
0.3 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#26 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tor Park Hotel

Property: Bay Tor Park Hotel
Address: 24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Torquay
#32 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tor Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area of Torquay half a mile from the seafront, the Bay Tor Park hotel is also within easy reach of the marina and the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. The hotel offers great facilities for you to enjoy and all the public areas are conveniently located on the ground floor. There are comfortable lounge areas in which to sit and relax in and the ever-popular sun terrace, which is a perfect place to unwind with a drink on a balmy summer’s eve! Inside, the entertainment suite has a dance floor and bar. The hotel is very popular for all inclusive breaks and prides itself on having many repeat customers year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay Tor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Park Torquay
Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing