We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for what you pay”
Review of Bay Tor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
manchester, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent value for what you pay”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights on a Shearings holiday. Our standard room was a reasonable size, but a little dated in terms of carpeting, furniture & especially the very old portable TV (no 'freeview' channels) - however, it was very clean, warm & the bed was comfortable. The breakfasts & dinners were quite nice, though perhaps portions were a little on the small size, & not much fruit on offer. Good service overall. The downstairs dining & entertainment areas look recently renovated. There is free Wi-Fi available downstairs, but not in rooms.
The evening entertainment wasn't really to our taste - the nightly bingo & quizzes seemed to take up much of the evening - but think we were in the minority!
The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the town centre/marina (uphill on the way back), but there is a bus stop outside (that said we did speak with some quite elderly people who were wishing that perhaps they should have gone to the other Shearings hotel next to the marina.
We're recently new to Shearings hotels & holidays, but taking into account what we paid, we'd certainly be happy to return here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lettyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Lettyger

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Tor Park. It is always pleasing to receive a review that balances both positive and negative aspects of a holiday. It is also nice when new guests notice the improvements and new facilities (such as WiFi) that we do have. It is always our wish to provide good value for money and I am very pleased that you may return to the Tor Park again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    195
    89
    30
    11
See reviews for
46
302
23
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Just returned from break with Shearings. From outside hotel was a little disappointing and inside decor in need of upgrade, however the rooms were spotlessly clean and lovely and warm with plenty of hot water.The stars at this hotel are the staff who worked tirelessly throughout our stay to ensure everything was to our satisfaction, It would be unfair to single out 1 person as they were all excellent Entertainment was provided each night and this was also very good. All in all considering what we paid this was good value for money

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AHoward-iom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear AHoward-iom

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Tor Park and for your very kind comments about our staff. I agree that our building is not the greatest piece of architectural design but i am so pleased that the welcome and service your received more than made up for it. Please do come back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We have just returned from a Shearings Bay Break holiday. Very good value for money. The hotel decor is tired with the need for a refurb but the staff are very friendly and helpful. The service was excellent. The only niggles we had were that although the room was comfy (even the bed!) there were cobwebs everywhere, especially at the side of the wardrobe. Our room was no. 45 on the ground floor, just outside the kitchen door and at 7.00a.m. every morning the night porter tipped the bottles from the bar into one of the bins - we nearly jumped out of our skins with the noise - didn't need an alarm clock! The shower was a bit cramped (our caravan shower cubicle is bigger than that one) but the hot water was good. On the first night we had chicken for dinner and was very tough. The plaice on Tuesday was ghastly but from then on we couldn't fault the meals. Overall it was good value for money. The entertainment was good, especially the comedian on Thursday evening. The only criticism on service would be that although Elaine our waitress never stopped dashing about, meals times were very long, Evening meal served at 6.30p.m. we were just finishing our meal at 8.00p.m. and breakfast at 8.00a.m. took over an hour but Elaine was always smiling, pleasant and very helpful, we couldn't fault her in any way. The bus route No.12 is also very good with the stops being just across the road from the Hotel, taking you up and down the coast.

Room Tip: Room 45 doesn't have anyone at the side or above but is near to the bottle bins and so you get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Wendy W

Thank you for taking the time to post a review or your stay at the Tor Park Hotel. All comments that we receive are taken seriously and help us to both improve the hotel and try to exceed our customers' expectations. Refurbishment of the hotel is ongoing and although there are still areas i wish to improve i am pleased with how the hotel has improved during the past year. I have taken onboard your comments about the disposal of the bottles and indeed staff have now been instructed to dispose of the waste at a later time. All our showers are industry standard 760mm x 760mm but another time maybe you would prefer one of our bath/showers. Your comments about some of the food have been noted and i can only apologize if your wait in our restaurant was longer than we would have liked.I do agree with you that Elaine is a very hardworking and valued member of our team and know she would have done her very best. In conclusion it is still pleasing to note that you have called your review Good value for the money and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Me and my husband went on a Shearing's break to this hotel. Value for money was excellent. All staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The only fault we could find was our room. Although spotlessly clean and a comfortable bed, as we were on the ground floor we couldn't open our window and the room was extremely hot without the heating being on. Apart from that we wouldn't hesitate in staying at the Tor Park again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferAB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear JenniferAB2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Tor Park Hotel. I am very glad that you found everything to your satisfaction and i shall certainly pass on your comments to the staff. Our ground floor rooms are fitted with radiator thermostats which we could have altered for you if you were uncomfortable so when you return - please just ask
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have just had a wonderful holiday at The Tor Park Hotel in Torquay. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, the staff couldn't do enough for us. Always obliging, helpful & smiling. The whole hotel was spotless, bedrooms very comfortable & well equipped. Couldn't have asked for any more. The meals were excellent with plenty of choice at both breakfast & dinner, with a good lunch & snack menu available if required. Dining room, lounge & entertainment areas are bright & cheerful, the entertainment was very good, The hotel is situated on the edge of the town but within walking distance, and is also on the main bus route. The area is quiet & peaceful. This was only our second Shearings holiday but, we were with my parents who are probably among some of Shearings best customers, they love Torquay & always stay at the Tor Park. They chose our destination & all I can say is "what a great choice" We will definitely be back. Thank you everyone at Tor Park for making our stay so enoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Margaret

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at the Tor Park hotel. Your commendation of the hotel on this site is very pleasing to receive. I sincerely hope to welcome you, your parents and hopefully some more of your family and friends back to the hotel in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. This was a Shearings Holiday with Direct Travel not via an Interchange which was much better. The Hotel is at the back of TORQUAY not near the beach. There is a Bus Stop a very short walk away. We had a cosy quiet Room at the side of the Hotel.
DOUBLE ROOM Spotlessly clean. Big Wardrobe Very comfortable bed. Hairdryer. Small old TV with good picture. Full length Mirror. Modern BATHROOM with Shower ( see photo ) Plenty of hot water
MEALS BREAKFAST was between 8am and 9am. Cereals, Prunes, Grapefruit and Juice ( see photo ) Plenty of choice between Full English, Porridge, Kipper or Ham and Egg, Toast, Tea and Coffee
DINNER was between 6.30pm and 8 pm. Food was very very good. Service was run with Military Precision. The best Dinners we have had in any Shearings Hotel so far. If there is an Employee of the Month Award it should go to Dameon. He was totally unflappable under pressure. His natural Customer Service skills are 5 star.
ENTERTAINMENT Bingo ( cash prize ) Quiz ( prize Maltesers ) Singer / Comedian was good and encouraged Audience participation. Dancing. Everyone appeared to enjoy the Entertainment and relaxed with the 4 free drinks available. THANK YOU TOR PARK we really enjoyed our stay with you

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappymouseWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear happymousewest!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the hotel. Also thank you for posting such lovely pictures of both room 4 and the public areas. Ironically the restaurant has been decorated since you left and is now looking very clean and smart. Thank you also for your very kind comments about Daemon. He is a very capable young man and I am glad his service was of a high standard and I shall certainly pass on your comments to our chef. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimsby
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Visited the Tor Park Hotel as part of a Shearing's 5 day break. The hotel situated in a quiet residential area is not the most impressive of buildings. However the sunny disposition of the welcoming Manager and the fast and efficient check in soon dispel any doubts. Our room number 40 was a little cramped but had a comfortable bed and plenty of storage /hangers etc. The shower and toilet were in a cubicle but the sink was fitted in the bedroom. I had two complaints, (1) There should have been a towel hook fitted close to sink and(2) the entrance door to the shower was far too small for anyone but the slimmest (not me) of people. As mentioned before in other reviews the lift is a bit ancient talking nearly a minute to climb two floors.
The restaurant is a bright and pleasant place to eat, and the entertainment room functional but with little comfortable seating, There is however an adjacent lounge with settees and armchairs.
There is a bus stop just across the road and there are frequent services to town and to Newton Abbot.
Meals were tasty, well prepared ,choices available at breakfast and Dinner, plus a lunch and takeaway menu available.
Service. One word, excellent. All staff we met, reception, waiters, bar staff, cleaners, repairmen were friendly and efficient (even under pressure).
Entertainment was enjoyable.
All in all they say you get what you pay for. You do at the Tor Park and more!!
Oh forgot, the weather was poor, but the sunshine at the hotel made up for it.

Room Tip: If you are over 10 stone, refuse room 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ragrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear ragrut

Thank you for writing such a balanced and detailed review of your stay at the hotel. As you have said unfortunately our hotel architecture is never going to win any prizes but I am so pleased that the 'sunshine' from our staff more than made up for it. I take on board your comment about the towel ring which I think is a good idea. Unfortunately all our showers are a similar size but some of them have full-door openings rather than the corner type in room 40. Also some of our rooms have bath with a shower over which may suit you better. If you do book and return please do not hesitate to call the hotel direct and I will do my best to find you the most suitable room. You and indeed so many contributors to this site have mentioned the high standard of service provided by our staff -who all do an excellent job. Thank you once again and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,181 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
580 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,748 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tor Park Hotel

Property: Bay Tor Park Hotel
Address: 24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Torquay
#31 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tor Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area of Torquay half a mile from the seafront, the Bay Tor Park hotel is also within easy reach of the marina and the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. The hotel offers great facilities for you to enjoy and all the public areas are conveniently located on the ground floor. There are comfortable lounge areas in which to sit and relax in and the ever-popular sun terrace, which is a perfect place to unwind with a drink on a balmy summer’s eve! Inside, the entertainment suite has a dance floor and bar. The hotel is very popular for all inclusive breaks and prides itself on having many repeat customers year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay Tor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Park Torquay
Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing