We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Cook Won't Cook”
Review of Bay Tor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
mexborough
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can't Cook Won't Cook”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Wow what can i say. Just got back from a Monday to Friday Shearings break found the hotel to be ok the staff in general were pleasant, especially the 2 behind the bar Trina & Fran (Good fun) We had Elaine as our waitress whom was overworked in our area of the dining hall. The evening entertainment was very good, and value for money, But will not be returning as the food we were served up was ridiculous. To list but a few items black toast every morning without fail,the chef if thats what you can call him didn't even know how to flip an egg, our breakfast was cold every morning never enough milk jugs on the table as there was eight of us and one jug and we had to ask for everything like butter, water etc,we had to walk through three doors to get cereal from another room out of my 4 main meals for the week i had raw fish (not cooked) a chilli that everyone in the hotel complained about, a burned shepherds pie and a piece of turkey that i wouldn't have fed the dog. I think they should employ a chef...........another gripe we had was that the urinal in the downstairs lobby must have been built by a giant as none of us could reach we could have done with a box to stand on. Sorry not going back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jeffMexborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear JeffMexborough

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of you recent stay at the Tor Park Hotel. We appreciate all comments both positive and negative as it is through this process that we are able to improve the experience that we offer our guests. I am pleased that you found the hotel, staff and entertainment pleasant and good value for money. I am disappointed that on this occasion we have been unable to exceed your expectations with the food you received. I only wish you had raised the issues you mention with me directly while you were here as I most certainly would have been able to sort this to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    195
    89
    30
    11
See reviews for
46
302
23
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel Mon to Fri on a Shearings coach break. The hotel is in the process of being refurbished which is definately overdue in some areas! That's the only grumble out of the way! The value for money on this trip was tremendous but please be aware "The Ritz" it is not!
The hotel is very clean, bedroom was tatty but clean. The food is very good,the evening entertainment was the best that we have ever had on a shearings trip. Last but by no means least were the hotel staff,,,, with NO exceptions the most friendly and helpful people you could ever wish for in a hotel! nothing was too much trouble for any of them. Thank you all very much you have all got the right idea on customer service, Well Done!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Roy Z

Thank you for taking the time to write such an honest review of your recent stay at the Tor Park Hotel. I am really pleased that you like the changes and refurbishments that have been made to the hotel over the past year as we have many more in the pipeline. All our staff work really hard to achieve a high standard of customer care and it is really gratifying when it is noticed by our guests. I do hope you will return again soon for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we just spent new year at tor park the manageress and staff were all brilliant couldnt do enough for you special thanks to the sisters who managed the bar so well and kept us happy xx we will be back next year xx

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dieandmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear dieandmal

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your new year break at the Tor Park. It's really great that you had an enjoyable New year with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for New Year 2014 ........if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is our first new year break that we have been on, and I must say that we was not disappointed with the break at the hotel, after reading some of the reviews beforehand we went with an open mind, on arriving at the hotel we was greeted by the staff with a Buck's Fizz, (a nice little touch) the staff at the hotel are very friendly and welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble for them, arriving at our room we found the room to be spotlessly clean, warm and another nice little touch was the welcome basket of fruit and chocolates and 2 bottles of wine, the food at the the hotel was of good quality and plenty of choice, the entertainment on all 3 nights was very good, and credit must go to the staff including the host Suzie, Elaine and to Fran and Trina who worked extremely hard to make sure everyone had a great time, overall I would recommend this lovely, clean comfortable hotel to anyone wishing to visit Torquay, Thanks to everyone at the hotel we all had a great New Year's Eve and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jan1965_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Jan1965_9

Thank you for posting a review of your New Year break at the Tor Park. It is always pleasing when it is noticed how hard our staff work to make your stay an enjoyable one along with those extra 'little' touches. I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Tor Park during 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights on a Shearings holiday. Our standard room was a reasonable size, but a little dated in terms of carpeting, furniture & especially the very old portable TV (no 'freeview' channels) - however, it was very clean, warm & the bed was comfortable. The breakfasts & dinners were quite nice, though perhaps portions were a little on the small size, & not much fruit on offer. Good service overall. The downstairs dining & entertainment areas look recently renovated. There is free Wi-Fi available downstairs, but not in rooms.
The evening entertainment wasn't really to our taste - the nightly bingo & quizzes seemed to take up much of the evening - but think we were in the minority!
The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the town centre/marina (uphill on the way back), but there is a bus stop outside (that said we did speak with some quite elderly people who were wishing that perhaps they should have gone to the other Shearings hotel next to the marina.
We're recently new to Shearings hotels & holidays, but taking into account what we paid, we'd certainly be happy to return here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lettyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Lettyger

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Tor Park. It is always pleasing to receive a review that balances both positive and negative aspects of a holiday. It is also nice when new guests notice the improvements and new facilities (such as WiFi) that we do have. It is always our wish to provide good value for money and I am very pleased that you may return to the Tor Park again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Just returned from break with Shearings. From outside hotel was a little disappointing and inside decor in need of upgrade, however the rooms were spotlessly clean and lovely and warm with plenty of hot water.The stars at this hotel are the staff who worked tirelessly throughout our stay to ensure everything was to our satisfaction, It would be unfair to single out 1 person as they were all excellent Entertainment was provided each night and this was also very good. All in all considering what we paid this was good value for money

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AHoward-iom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear AHoward-iom

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Tor Park and for your very kind comments about our staff. I agree that our building is not the greatest piece of architectural design but i am so pleased that the welcome and service your received more than made up for it. Please do come back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We have just returned from a Shearings Bay Break holiday. Very good value for money. The hotel decor is tired with the need for a refurb but the staff are very friendly and helpful. The service was excellent. The only niggles we had were that although the room was comfy (even the bed!) there were cobwebs everywhere, especially at the side of the wardrobe. Our room was no. 45 on the ground floor, just outside the kitchen door and at 7.00a.m. every morning the night porter tipped the bottles from the bar into one of the bins - we nearly jumped out of our skins with the noise - didn't need an alarm clock! The shower was a bit cramped (our caravan shower cubicle is bigger than that one) but the hot water was good. On the first night we had chicken for dinner and was very tough. The plaice on Tuesday was ghastly but from then on we couldn't fault the meals. Overall it was good value for money. The entertainment was good, especially the comedian on Thursday evening. The only criticism on service would be that although Elaine our waitress never stopped dashing about, meals times were very long, Evening meal served at 6.30p.m. we were just finishing our meal at 8.00p.m. and breakfast at 8.00a.m. took over an hour but Elaine was always smiling, pleasant and very helpful, we couldn't fault her in any way. The bus route No.12 is also very good with the stops being just across the road from the Hotel, taking you up and down the coast.

Room Tip: Room 45 doesn't have anyone at the side or above but is near to the bottle bins and so you get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Wendy W

Thank you for taking the time to post a review or your stay at the Tor Park Hotel. All comments that we receive are taken seriously and help us to both improve the hotel and try to exceed our customers' expectations. Refurbishment of the hotel is ongoing and although there are still areas i wish to improve i am pleased with how the hotel has improved during the past year. I have taken onboard your comments about the disposal of the bottles and indeed staff have now been instructed to dispose of the waste at a later time. All our showers are industry standard 760mm x 760mm but another time maybe you would prefer one of our bath/showers. Your comments about some of the food have been noted and i can only apologize if your wait in our restaurant was longer than we would have liked.I do agree with you that Elaine is a very hardworking and valued member of our team and know she would have done her very best. In conclusion it is still pleasing to note that you have called your review Good value for the money and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,182 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
580 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,757 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tor Park Hotel

Property: Bay Tor Park Hotel
Address: 24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Torquay
#31 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tor Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area of Torquay half a mile from the seafront, the Bay Tor Park hotel is also within easy reach of the marina and the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. The hotel offers great facilities for you to enjoy and all the public areas are conveniently located on the ground floor. There are comfortable lounge areas in which to sit and relax in and the ever-popular sun terrace, which is a perfect place to unwind with a drink on a balmy summer’s eve! Inside, the entertainment suite has a dance floor and bar. The hotel is very popular for all inclusive breaks and prides itself on having many repeat customers year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay Tor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Park Torquay
Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing