We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“girly holiday”
Review of Bay Tor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Had a lovely relaxing stay at Shearing's Tor Park Hotel , my friend and I stayed for an eight day holiday 7th to 15th June, we were unsure initially about this hotel as it is not seafront, but my! were we glad we chose it. Firstly although small , it was certainly the most friendly hotel I've ever been to, and that is down to the excellent staff they employ, a BIG well done to them all, especially our waitress Jane who served us each day with a smile and a chat no matter how busy the restaurant, I'm a non meat eater but there was always a tasty choice of meals. Four free drinks a day, and all branded drinks, always served with a smile and a giggle with Fran and Trina, nothing too much trouble for these staff, Robert the restaurant manager we met last year while staying at Torbay Hotel, but the change of hotel seems to have been a good move for him as he seemed very happy, and never without a smile, and a word, well done. Our room. no 21 was a large twin bedded with shower kept spotless, with constant daily clean towels, and only down half a dozen steps to dining room and bar, also served by lift.Entertainment for us was excellent as a first time visitor, bingo quiz's, and some very good cabaret, although some regular visitors did comment that, the entertainment did need changing as they saw the same acts each visit and they knew it word for word, probably the only negative comment on this hotel, but one that could be looked at, especially, as I will definitely be returning to this lovely, friendly Hotel, as you can't fail to have a great holiday, and relax, thanks to all the staff for their service and friendliness,and making our holiday special

Room Tip: room 21 was good with shower cubicle and close to lift and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beryl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Beryl, Firstly thank you so much for taking the time to go into such detail on your recent stay, it certainly gives the team a real boost when guests take time to mention them, especially by name. I am delighted to hear all was well during your stay with us and will take great pleasure in passing on such glowing feedback to all of the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Torquay and I will have a little word with the entertainers to see if they can throw something in the mix, and confuse everyone ;-).

Thank you once again and I look forward to meeting you on your next stay.

Regards

Steve Stott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

had a fantastic stay here for my birthday week 19th may to the 23rd very clean and lovely big family room, staff very friendly and helpful loved the bar staff fran and trina they were so helpful and friendly towards me and my children and the waitress elaine was very nice helpful and lovely to of met them all , food was nice would of been good if there was a different menu to order from ie scampi chips , and shepherds pie , but what i did eat was lovely , seemed a long way to town but it was in fact 20 mins so not bad there was buses to town from across the rd , entertainment was good too , hotel was very relaxing will be going back

Room Tip: my room was 66 and it was lovely good views very quiet at evening time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Julie, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us, I'm so pleased to hear you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us and the team will be absolutely delighted with such lovely feedback.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Steve Stott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

the staff at this hotel go out of their way to make your holiday a great one. all very happy helpful and kind. smiling faces every where. I have to say the evening dinners are not great . but always served with a smile from Sharon or Jane or a young man whose name we did not manage to get. the bar staff are never without a smile our room was cleaned daily and lovely fresh towels whenever we needed them . the hotel is a little tired but very clean and fresh smelling. a great holiday meeting new friends on a happy coach driven by happy and helpful Garry . well done Shearings

Room Tip: no sea view so whichever seemed fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellinggirlsKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team, I thank you so much for your comments. Its always nice to hear when our guests have appreciated the hard work the team put into making their stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. They all do a fantastic job and they too will be over the moon with your comments.

I look forward to seeing you again in the very near future and thank you once again for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Regards

Steve Stott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Firstly would like to thank all staff at the tor park hotel you done a smashing job so friendly , helpful , really really had a wonderful time special thanks to Elaine, Fran and Trina always service with a smile from all staff will stay again did not want to come home had such a great time hotel very clean food ok could not fault any of thing about the hotel or the holiday entertainment was good beds was comfy stayed in room 68 twin bedroom very cosy quiet and spotless enjoyed every minute of the holiday with shearings' , the hotel is close to the town centre and seafront not a far walk will come back again soon :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Michelle, Thanks for taking the time to give us such glowing feedback and for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor readers. The ladies will be so pleased to hear of your comments and I will take great pleasure in relaying them to the team. I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Regards

Steve Stott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

When we arrived at hotel, first impressions were of typical seaside hotel, but once inside, the atmosphere is brilliant. All staff very friendly, especially lovely ladies behind the bar and our waitress at mealtimes. Couldn't fault them, and all so helpful. Bedroom and bathroom were cleaned every day, and fresh towels supplied... Evening entertainment very good. Have read few quite bad reviews but we had brilliant time at the Bay Tor Horel and would definately visit them again.....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Jennifer, thank you so much for your lovely feedback, I am glad to hear the team helped make your stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Regards
Steve Stott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much at tor park(12th may -16th may), with shearings.
staff very helpful and friendly, especially,Trina and Fran.and our waitress Elaine.
The hotel rooms lovely and clean. Food was ok.
Entertainment was the best we have had and we have been on quite a few shearings.
Hotel is a bit out of centre but ther are local buses to take you down to the centre.
Not a big hotel but well worth the visit.
Well done tor park.

Room Tip: top floor if possible, like one reviewer says if the room above gets up at 6am you do as werll.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback and for sharing your experience with others. We very much appreciate your comments and will certainly pass on your kind words to Fran, Trina and Elaine, who I am sure will be delighted.

It was our pleasure having you here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Steve Stott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just returned from a terrific Shearings holiday staying at this hotel.We had a fantastic time in this brilliant hotel.All the staff are top notch.from the super efficient waitresses,reception ,chambermaids and the two sisters looking after the bar.All the meals were good and varied,top entertainment every night,and clean rooms.Nice spacious room with a recently refurbished bathroom.Quality excursions with an excellent driver,David.All in all a brilliant holiday in a brilliant hotel,with great,helpful staff,from a good holiday company ,Shearings.Will certainly be recommending you to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mags008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Mags008

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Tor Park Hotel. It is really great that you seemed to enjoy every aspect of your holiday and will recommend both the hotel and Shearings to your family and friends. We always aim to achieve that kind of recommendation and it is so pleasing to have you say it - Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#33 of 85 in Torquay
783 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
548 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.4 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 85 in Torquay
1,159 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tor Park Hotel

Address: 24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £50 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tor Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area of Torquay half a mile from the seafront, the Bay Tor Park hotel is also within easy reach of the marina and the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. The hotel offers great facilities for you to enjoy and all the public areas are conveniently located on the ground floor. There are comfortable lounge areas in which to sit and relax in and the ever-popular sun terrace, which is a perfect place to unwind with a drink on a balmy summer’s eve! Inside, the entertainment suite has a dance floor and bar. The hotel is very popular for all inclusive breaks and prides itself on having many repeat customers year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Tor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Park Torquay
Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing