We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable.”
Review of Bay Tor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Stayed here on a 5 day Shearings tour. Room was clean and roomy and beds comfortable.
All staff were extremely helpful and coach driver David was exceptional with his local knowledge. The food was good although my breakfast sausage one day had been cremated.
The bar staff coped very well and cheerfully with patrons who did not agree with the house rules of returning your glass before getting another drink on the all inclusive deal. The weather was not in our favour most days but overall we had a very enjoyable stay with good entertainment to round off the days.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2010

This hotel is only a 2 star and is tucked away about a mile from the seafront of Torquay, it's only saving grace is that it is on a bus route.So from the front door one can bus into Torquay or Paignton or Brixton. Don't even think of walking back to the Hotel from the seafront, you would get lost. The Hotel is a labrinth of short corridors fire doors and short rise staircases, it took us 2 days to learn the routes to the dining room from our room.Our room was hardly 2 star as the carpet was really badly stained and generally the room was in need of an update. Every evening we had bingo followed by the quiz and a single act singer or comedian.There was no garden area to sit in..

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank niltrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Went here with Shearings for 8days,cheap but not chearful.Note this is the Torbay Park Hotel not to confuse with the Grander Torbay Hotel on the sea front. We were.
misguided by the AI,however their AI was half board with a free bar for 3 hours after dinner.
Rooms / decor poor; bed-stand up springs.Good points good for walkers & stair climbers;good food pleasant catering staff.
Regards,Paul & Linda
.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paulD02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

On arriving at reception was met with musty smell and dirty carpet.Our room was better had new carpet ,bathroom was clean although curtains had not been cleaned for a long time.Net curtains needed bining.The whole place needs a spring clean at least.Bar @entertainment area needs new carpet.Entertainment was very good.Food quite good but done on the cheap i think,we ate at 7-30 @found there were some choices not available.Shearings gala dinner consists of an extra course "a slice of melon"hadly a gala dinner.On the upside our coach driver was very good @we saw alot of the area making me want to return but not to the Torpark unless things improve.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SPOONER6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Just came back from Tor Park hotel Torquay with Shearings we had a very enjoyable week
Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, meals were good and good choice menu.
Bedroom was a decent size, and a good size bathroom, but could do with a lick of paint all
over the Hotel.Rooms were cleaned every day ,and fresh towels when you wanted them. Only gripe we had was it,s a good ten minute walk to town centre going down was all right as it,s down hill it,s the coming back , but there is a bus stop right out side the hotel and they run every ten minutes.The weather was good also.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Just spent a week there with Shearings , would go again , the food was very good but the entertainment was first class , one night they had a lad playing three keyboards with a mixing console and strobe lights and you would have thought it was a six piece band . The only down side was the all inclusive bar , you had to take an empty glass back before you got another drink and you were served by a typical jobsworth barmaid , other than that , great holiday

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeppelinLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

recently stayed at the Tor Park Hotel on an 8 day all inclusive break with shearings.had good sized twin room which was cleaned daily.the food was excellant and service was quick at the all inclusive bar.thought the entertainment was quite good.the hotel is situated up a fairly steep hill but it is only a 5 or 10 minute walk to the seafront.my only complaint was that the bedroom was quite warm but we survived.my husband and i would stay at this hotel again if we went back to torquay.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedcarJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#33 of 85 in Torquay
774 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
546 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
662 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,293 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tor Park Hotel

Address: 24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Torquay
#31 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £67 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tor Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area of Torquay half a mile from the seafront, the Bay Tor Park hotel is also within easy reach of the marina and the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. The hotel offers great facilities for you to enjoy and all the public areas are conveniently located on the ground floor. There are comfortable lounge areas in which to sit and relax in and the ever-popular sun terrace, which is a perfect place to unwind with a drink on a balmy summer’s eve! Inside, the entertainment suite has a dance floor and bar. The hotel is very popular for all inclusive breaks and prides itself on having many repeat customers year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Tor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Park Torquay
Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing