We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Break”
Review of Kings Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Lodge
Ranked #7 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights in August everything was perfect.on arrival paul made us feel very welcome with tea/coffee and a chat.we stayed in the four poster bedroom which was as like the rest of the hotel, food, service and hospitality excellent we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsedgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed for a few nights in August, with the exception of the British weather everything was perfect. Our Host Paul was waiting for our arrival and our bags were carried to the ground floor room, perfectly located within easy reach of the bar! We stayed in a family room and the kids loved the bunk beds. The facilities in the room were excellent, tea, coffee, biscuits, mints etc. replenished every day! The breakfasts were superb, especially the 'Full Monty' which set me up for the day, cooked perfectly and in excellent time.
The location is ideal, just a short, flatish walk into the town, 10-15 minutes, we did it 2/3 times a day with a 5 and 7 year old.
We couldn't have wanted for anything and will definitely be calling at he Kings Lodge again soon.

Room Tip: Our kids go to bed between 7-9pm so it was good to be on the ground floor so we could pop for a drin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobmarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Spent a lovely week in Torquay at the Kings Lodge Hotel. Paul was the perfect host. Nothing was too much trouble. Room was lovely and clean. We all really enjoyed the breakfasts with a wide range menu, was nice to be able to have something different every day. The boys even had the use of the hotel's buckets and spades for the beach! Would highly recommend and can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miller12521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

From the moment we arrived we were very impressed. Paul was very welcoming and made us feel at home- the room was spacious and comfortable, very clean and for each day we were there, it maintained at the same standard.

The breakfast was plentiful with lots of variety prepared especially and was very well done. Paul made sure there was space for our baby and ensured his bottles were steralised....we are so thankful for having found this little gem so close to the beach, we wouldnt have wanted to stay anywhere else.

Cannot fault this hotel for a moment...it is ideal in every way and the perfect location to explore Torquay and all its wonders.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiningNDining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My husband and I went to torquay for a few days after our wedding. We had such a lovely welcome from Paul and the B&B had such a lovely atmosphere. Our room was so clean and tidy on arrival and was consistantly done to the same standard each day we were there. Paul was a wonderful host, we got in after a late dinner one night and he was still up with some of the other guest's so we stayed and had a drink with them which was so nice. The breakfast was also fantastic!! All in all a lovely place to stay and I'm sure we will be back!!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just spent three nights at Kings Lodge in the Four poster
Great little Hotel with a very attentive friendly owner - Thanks Paul
If you are looking for somewhere quiet , clean , 10mins walk from the beach , Great Breakfast ( and choice ) look no further
We really were made to feel welcome and cannot recommend Kings highly enough
clean, quiet ,great breakfast,free parking,nice comfy airy rooms , great host ! , oh and great power shower .
See you again

Room Tip: Four Poster room excellent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridinggod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

Fantastic little b&b in the best location-10 minutes from absolutely everything. Paul is a fantastic host who was always there to help. Breakfast was lovely and rooms always clean. Perfect place to stay for a few days break :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xSteph90x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 150 in Torquay
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 150 in Torquay
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 150 in Torquay
504 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 150 in Torquay
1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Lodge

Address: 44 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England (Formerly Kings Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £59 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Lodge Guest House is a situated in a tree lined avenue and is perfectly placed for enjoying the facilities within Torquay or for sightseeing around Devon. Our Sunny terraced garden and our relaxing conservatory are perfect for enjoying an evening drink from our well stocked bar. We have onsite parking spaces for guests, along with plenty of on road parking. We are a family and pet dog friendly guest house. We are located within easy access to the beach, marina, town centre, Torre Abbey, the Riviera Conference Centre and Torquay Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kings Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Torquay
Kings Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing