We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, Good Value”
Review of Kings Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Lodge
Ranked #5 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Norfolk
2 reviews
“Good Hotel, Good Value”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed here four years ago and loved it. Booked early this year for a week in August. By then it was under new management. It is just as warm and welcoming and small improvements appear to have been made (compared with four years ago, at least), including a cheaper tarrif. I booked through an agency, but the current tarrif appears to be at least £35 per night cheaper (for single occupance of a small double room) than I paid. Of course, sonce the hotel had paid commission, they were not going to give me any money back, but I was happy with the value that I was getting, and you will find it even more so. Still good, within easy reach of the sea front, and Torquay has become livelier (in a good way) in the last four years.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutchlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thankyou for your positive review and comments. As new owners, we have reviewed and simplified our room prices. In this instance, your booking was one which was made through a previous owner along with charges which we had no control over. Should you wish to return, you can be assured of a warm welcome and will be charged with the tariffs we have now set.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
118
173
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

we found this hotel through pet friendly and my wife and i travel with her Dad 93 years old and is disabled, its the first time a hotel has come up with all the boxes ticked for us and Amanda and Brian Callum and Katie look after us magnificantly and especially our dog who along with Scooby became friends, it was a wonderful week away, and have no hesitation in recommending them
Robin Sue VIv and Pledger

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
We are so glad you had an excellent week staying in our familiy friendly guesthouse and that we were able to meet all of your needs. Pledger and Scoobie did look as though they have become friends. We will look forward to seeing you all again and thankyou for your review. Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stumbled across Kings Lodge purely by chance after trawling through the internet trying to find a suitable hotel in Torquay. This hotel certainly didn't let us down. Upon arrival we were greeted by Amanda who was very welcoming. The king size bedroom was lovely and clean-as was the rest of the hotel. The breakfast was fab!!! We also enjoyed having a glass of wine outside on the front patio. Thank you Amanda, Bryan & family for a lovely stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dandm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Having you stay with us was a pleasure and we are pleased that you were so satisfied with your experience at Kings Lodge. Your review is greatly valued and appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were most impressed with our stay at Kings Lodge! We stayed for one night in the family room which was immaculate and had all the little extras that one would need for our stay. Breakfast was excellent and the choice was vast. Our eldest daughter was very impressed with having pancakes for breakfast! Great location with plenty to do within walking distance. Amanda and Bryan were brilliant hosts and nothing was too much bother for them - great source of information on things to do in the area that would suit all ages. The kids loved it, we loved it, hope to be back to visit soon! Thanks Amanda and Bryan!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thanks for the great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to seeing you again when you return to Torquay. Regards Amanda & Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our first time at Kings lodge and our first time away with the 4 yr old granddaughter so we were concerned how she would adapt to unfamiliar surroundings. We should not have worried the hosts Amanda, Bryan and their family were warm and friendly and made us all feel very welcome. Breakfast was really good and the room was clean with comfortable beds. I would definitely return with the grandchildren.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
A big thanks for taking the time to write such a good review. We hope to see you again soon with your grandchildren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I booked this B&B last minute (as always) and I wasn't expecting much as I didn't plan to utilise the service past the initial bed and breakfast utilities. However upon arrival, I was warmly greeted and rapidly well versed upon the major sights and must do's of the local area. Brian and Amanda (the proprietors) are lovely, very hospitable and welcoming!! They provide money for value accommodation together with a friendly and all-encompassing service which both satisfies the lonely traveller and the quaint family type. Breakfast was all I could hope for and more! They use locally sourced meat for their full English and provide options for the healthy and 'go getter' types as well as the adventurous! A must stay for any 'budget travellers' looking for an ideal spot close to the beach and local amenities. Highly recommended and can't wait to visit again soon! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardial1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thanks for the review Hardial, you will certainly be remembered. Glad you enjoyed your holiday which you made fun for us. Hopefully you will indeed return with your family. Amanda & Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Took my girlfriend for a weekend away to Torquay, and we couldn't of picked a better hotel. The owners Brian and Amanda made us both feel extremely welcome, and our room was very clean and modern, with a new en-suite. Wifi is included and we were even able to get a lovely vegetarian breakfast, which other hotels don't do! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex_aspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Your review is greatly appreciated. Thanks for taking the time to write such positive comments. Regards Amanda & Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#9 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Lodge

Property: Kings Lodge
Address: 44 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England (Formerly Kings Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Lodge Guest House is a situated in a tree lined avenue and is perfectly placed for enjoying the facilities within Torquay or for sightseeing around Devon. Our Sunny terraced garden and our relaxing conservatory are perfect for enjoying an evening drink from our well stocked bar. We have onsite parking spaces for guests, along with plenty of on road parking. We are a family and pet dog friendly guest house. We are located within easy access to the beach, marina, town centre, Torre Abbey, the Riviera Conference Centre and Torquay Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kings Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Torquay
Kings Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing