We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Kings Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Lodge
Ranked #4 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atherstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

You never really know what you're going to get when you book accommodation blind on the Internet. That said, you can do no better than book your stay in Torquay at Kings Lodge.
My husband, daughter and I stayed in the famiy room 4, which had a double bed and a full single bed. The decor was lovely and linen was nice and clean, as was the en-suite bathroom.
Even though Amanda and Bryan had only taken over in March, they play very warm and welcoming hosts. The breakfasts are brilliant, with plenty of choice for even the pickiest of guests.
I wish Amanda and Bryan every success as all their hard work made our stay like a home from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Your review is really appreciated and highly valued. We are really pleased that you were so happy with your stay and thank you for wishing us every success. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
119
175
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I booked two nights at the Kings Lodge, a last minute decision to re-charge batteries, We found this by scrawling through dog friendly accommodation on the net.
We have certainly had a lovely break. On arrival, owners Amanda and Bryan welcomed us into their home, also Scooby the resident beagle. For our dog Toby, it was love at first sight (especially as she shared her toys and treats with him). The B&B is extremely clean and modernised, and we were welcomed at the bar each evening, the hosts and children being very helpful with advice about dog walks etc. Their children Callum and Katie were so polite and helpful during our stay, and I particularly liked the "orgasm" provided by barman Callum on cocktail night! We will definitely return and highly recommend this B&B, breakfast was delicious, and lots of choice.
See you soon guys!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was a king size. Excellent, spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks for the review and so happy that our dog friendly guesthouse lived up to Toby's expectations. Scoobie took a real shine to him. Can't guarantee an "Orgasm" (COCKTAIL) of Callum's standard everytime you stay but will keep the ingredients in stock and will try my best! Regards Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

After several trips over the years to Torquay it was nice to find a great place like Kings Lodge. It was nice to be greeted by Amanda on arrival and a welcoming cuppa. Amanda showed us to the rooms and also helped us with luggage to the rooms. The breakfast was really great and there was a variety of options for breakfast. We had a relaxing evening while we were there and it was a homely feel with Bryan and Amanda perfect hosts. We've already made our minds up to go again next year.
A very friendly hotel and near to local attactions

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
A big thanks for the excellent review. We are glad you were so happy with your stay and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a fantastic 4 day stay at Kings Lodge. Amanda and Bryan are superb hosts and nothing is too much trouble (even our dog got a grooming). They have recently taken over Kings Lodge and apparently it is a work in progress, although you wouldn't know this as a guest as the decor is warm and welcoming and standards of cleanliness are second to none. Breakfast is a " tour de force" with something for everyone, high quality ingredients and plenty of it to set you up for a days exploring of the local area, of which by the way Amanda is very knowledgeable and more than happy to give you a few pointers. All in all, we cannot recommend Kings Lodge highly enough and are already planning our next stop there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we look forward to your return. Regards Bryan & Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Amanda and Bryan were just fantastic hosts, they always found time to talk or advise us about the local attractions. Nothing was too much trouble - Amanda helped us with our luggage on arrival and made us a cuppa and Bryan even helped us when we had a problem with our car. The breakfast menu had a variety of options (including vegetarian) accomodated for all tastes and the food was delicious! The hotel is victorian and has been carefully renovated but still has a feeling of granduer and elegance. The double room was immaculately clean, spacious, comfortable and well furnished. We had a brilliant time - thank you so much Amanda Bryan and family.

Room Tip: The hotel offers a room with the kingsize bed if you require more space. It has a patio area which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thanks for the great review. We hope to see you again soon with your new grandchild. Good luck. Bryan & Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed here four years ago and loved it. Booked early this year for a week in August. By then it was under new management. It is just as warm and welcoming and small improvements appear to have been made (compared with four years ago, at least), including a cheaper tarrif. I booked through an agency, but the current tarrif appears to be at least £35 per night cheaper (for single occupance of a small double room) than I paid. Of course, sonce the hotel had paid commission, they were not going to give me any money back, but I was happy with the value that I was getting, and you will find it even more so. Still good, within easy reach of the sea front, and Torquay has become livelier (in a good way) in the last four years.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutchlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thankyou for your positive review and comments. As new owners, we have reviewed and simplified our room prices. In this instance, your booking was one which was made through a previous owner along with charges which we had no control over. Should you wish to return, you can be assured of a warm welcome and will be charged with the tariffs we have now set.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

we found this hotel through pet friendly and my wife and i travel with her Dad 93 years old and is disabled, its the first time a hotel has come up with all the boxes ticked for us and Amanda and Brian Callum and Katie look after us magnificantly and especially our dog who along with Scooby became friends, it was a wonderful week away, and have no hesitation in recommending them
Robin Sue VIv and Pledger

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
We are so glad you had an excellent week staying in our familiy friendly guesthouse and that we were able to meet all of your needs. Pledger and Scoobie did look as though they have become friends. We will look forward to seeing you all again and thankyou for your review. Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
235 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
765 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#7 of 149 in Torquay
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 149 in Torquay
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Lodge

Property: Kings Lodge
Address: 44 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England (Formerly Kings Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Lodge Guest House is a situated in a tree lined avenue and is perfectly placed for enjoying the facilities within Torquay or for sightseeing around Devon. Our Sunny terraced garden and our relaxing conservatory are perfect for enjoying an evening drink from our well stocked bar. We have onsite parking spaces for guests, along with plenty of on road parking. We are a family and pet dog friendly guest house. We are located within easy access to the beach, marina, town centre, Torre Abbey, the Riviera Conference Centre and Torquay Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kings Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Torquay
Kings Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing