We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kings Lodge
Ranked #6 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed here in August with my son during a chess tournament. We had a lovely time. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was great. Amanda and Bryan were incredibly friendly and helpful. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It is so important and lets us know that we are doing things right. Good luck with the chess and hopefully you can return with a young Grand Master next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
114
166
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Much like others have said we were also delighted with our 3 night stay at King's Lodge.
Places that can accommodate a family of 5 are as rare as hen's teeth so we had low expectations; we expected the usual shoe-horning in to a room with little space.
So it came as a pleasant surprise to find such a well appointed and capacious room.
The breakfast was wonderful, and enough to last us through most of the day thus saving money on eating out! It was also efficiently served and a real lesson to other places in how to do it.
The garden outside was lovely, especially to watch the sun to down, and scooby the hotel dog was unobtrusive and silent which was great for our little daughter who is nervous around dogs.
As it was a birthday weekend for Dad and Son, we also came back to cards and presents which was an unexpected and much appreciated touch.
The hotel is situated a pleasant stroll from the beachfront, and has a nice little bar to round off the day.
We have stayed in hotels all over the world and can honestly say that this was right up there with the best of them.
We wish them every success and heartily recommend them. Put it this way, when we go back to Devon, they would be first on our hotel list, regardless of cost difference. And given how much we shop around to get the best deal, you cannot get a better recommendation than that ;)
You would be well advised to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tas2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our aim is to make all of our guests feel as welcome as possible and are pleased that we did so in your case.
We would welcome your return visit. Look out for the special offers on our website!

Kind regards
Amanda and Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillmorton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We are a family of 5 - two adults and 3 children. The room was laid out lovely and had a double bed, a single and bunk beds. All beds were comfortable and couldn't fault the overall cleaniness of the room. Tea, coffee and biscuits were provided and all in all the room provided us with a good base for our holiday. Amanda and Bryan made us feel so welcome and looked after us during our week away. A nice welcoming cup of tea on arrival after a long journey was well received. A very friendly run family bed and breakfast with the guests needs catered for. Breakfast was offered with a good selection of choices and compliments to the chef for the daily fry ups. Kings Lodge comes highly recommended by us and we would have no doubts at all in staying there again.
Thanks again to Amanda, Bryan, Callum and Katie for making us feel so welcome and the BBQ on the last night finished off our holiday a treat.
See you all soon, the Nicholls family

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholls37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thanks Louise & Craig for taking the time out to write out a review. We are really greatful for the super comments and it was our pleasure to look after you all during your stay. We hope to see you all again soon. Regards Amanda & Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

You never really know what you're going to get when you book accommodation blind on the Internet. That said, you can do no better than book your stay in Torquay at Kings Lodge.
My husband, daughter and I stayed in the famiy room 4, which had a double bed and a full single bed. The decor was lovely and linen was nice and clean, as was the en-suite bathroom.
Even though Amanda and Bryan had only taken over in March, they play very warm and welcoming hosts. The breakfasts are brilliant, with plenty of choice for even the pickiest of guests.
I wish Amanda and Bryan every success as all their hard work made our stay like a home from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Your review is really appreciated and highly valued. We are really pleased that you were so happy with your stay and thank you for wishing us every success. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I booked two nights at the Kings Lodge, a last minute decision to re-charge batteries, We found this by scrawling through dog friendly accommodation on the net.
We have certainly had a lovely break. On arrival, owners Amanda and Bryan welcomed us into their home, also Scooby the resident beagle. For our dog Toby, it was love at first sight (especially as she shared her toys and treats with him). The B&B is extremely clean and modernised, and we were welcomed at the bar each evening, the hosts and children being very helpful with advice about dog walks etc. Their children Callum and Katie were so polite and helpful during our stay, and I particularly liked the "orgasm" provided by barman Callum on cocktail night! We will definitely return and highly recommend this B&B, breakfast was delicious, and lots of choice.
See you soon guys!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was a king size. Excellent, spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks for the review and so happy that our dog friendly guesthouse lived up to Toby's expectations. Scoobie took a real shine to him. Can't guarantee an "Orgasm" (COCKTAIL) of Callum's standard everytime you stay but will keep the ingredients in stock and will try my best! Regards Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

After several trips over the years to Torquay it was nice to find a great place like Kings Lodge. It was nice to be greeted by Amanda on arrival and a welcoming cuppa. Amanda showed us to the rooms and also helped us with luggage to the rooms. The breakfast was really great and there was a variety of options for breakfast. We had a relaxing evening while we were there and it was a homely feel with Bryan and Amanda perfect hosts. We've already made our minds up to go again next year.
A very friendly hotel and near to local attactions

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anita f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
A big thanks for the excellent review. We are glad you were so happy with your stay and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a fantastic 4 day stay at Kings Lodge. Amanda and Bryan are superb hosts and nothing is too much trouble (even our dog got a grooming). They have recently taken over Kings Lodge and apparently it is a work in progress, although you wouldn't know this as a guest as the decor is warm and welcoming and standards of cleanliness are second to none. Breakfast is a " tour de force" with something for everyone, high quality ingredients and plenty of it to set you up for a days exploring of the local area, of which by the way Amanda is very knowledgeable and more than happy to give you a few pointers. All in all, we cannot recommend Kings Lodge highly enough and are already planning our next stop there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we look forward to your return. Regards Bryan & Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Albaston
The Albaston
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Lodge

Property: Kings Lodge
Address: 44 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England (Formerly Kings Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Lodge Guest House is a situated in a tree lined avenue and is perfectly placed for enjoying the facilities within Torquay or for sightseeing around Devon. Our Sunny terraced garden and our relaxing conservatory are perfect for enjoying an evening drink from our well stocked bar. We have onsite parking spaces for guests, along with plenty of on road parking. We are a family and pet dog friendly guest house. We are located within easy access to the beach, marina, town centre, Torre Abbey, the Riviera Conference Centre and Torquay Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kings Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Torquay
Kings Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing