We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“02-11-13: warm, welcoming a perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kings Lodge
Ranked #6 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
“02-11-13: warm, welcoming a perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

From the moment that we arrived, we were so make to feel welcome. The warm scone cream tea, was so so a special touch for us. both Amanda and Brian made our 1st short stay in torquay very memorable.

The room was of a standard you would expect in many hotels, and was lovely warm and welcoming. And what can we say about the perfect breakfast the following, it was first class & 4*. With the added touch of local produce, it made it perfect.

This was our first visit to Kings-lodge, and wont be our last. Having a welcoming place to stay when we visit, is perfect, looking forward to our next stay.

To Brian, Amanda (and Scoobie!!) many thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adam_hall2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thankyou Adam for the positive review as this feedback ensures we are providing the good standards that we aim for. You will always be made welcome and we look forward to your next visit to Torquay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
114
166
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
walsall
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

room was immaculate . Amanda and Brian were friendly and welcoming. best breakfast i've had in a bed and breakfast.
we go to torquay most years , kings lodge will be my first call.
made a new friend as well , Scoobie is her name and she is beautiful.
Steve and Lesley

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the quality of the breakfast. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Regards Amanda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

we called on speck and was welcomed with a nice cuppa. Loved our short stay here and will try to get back again and stay longer.amandad & brain made or stay most enjoyable,the breakfast was great and the local cider was a delight ,cheap too.thanks to you and your family keith&jenny

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinder13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Your review is most appreciated and we are so happy you loved your stay and would like to return for longer next time. You can be rest assured of the same welcome and hopefully will see the continuous improvements we are making. (will also keeping the bar tariff at realistic affordable prices for everyone) Regards Amanda & Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night stay with our puppy. If you have a dog, this is a great place to stay. If you don't have a dog this is a great place to stay. Amanda, Bryan and Kate are warm and welcoming and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Cooked breakies are fantastic, accommodation is spotless and location is spot on.
Amanda recommended some great places of interest for us to visit. She knows and loves the area. Our puppy is a bit of a handful but she felt right at home. Thanks for a great holiday. We would recommend Kings Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thankyou for recommending our guesthouse to others and for such a great review. We really enjoyed your stay and Freya kept us entertained. She was so well behaved and we would love you to return so we can see her progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I am writing this review with regards to our stay at the Kings Lodge. We found the accommodation very homely, comfortable, fresh and the hosts were very friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend a stay at this establishment.
Kind Regards Rod and Shelly x

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thanks Rod and Shelly for taking the time to write a review for your stay. Your recommendation is so important to us and potential guests. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Regards Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
from midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband &I have just returned from A Five day break at this beautiful guest house. We have enjoyed marvellous cooked breakfasts , not just full english here, but every thing you could wish for . All local produces, I had a freshly cooked pancake one morning delicious!! Nothing was too much trouble, Spotlessly clean, And such lovely friendly people Amanda, & Bryan. Many thanks for a great break. Dont miss this gem !! you will kick yourself if you do!!!!!Sheba from midlands.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shebaFromMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
That is a fabulous review and we are so happy to have provided you with such a pleasant experience. Thanks for taking the time to write the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed here in August with my son during a chess tournament. We had a lovely time. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was great. Amanda and Bryan were incredibly friendly and helpful. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It is so important and lets us know that we are doing things right. Good luck with the chess and hopefully you can return with a young Grand Master next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Albaston
The Albaston
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Lodge

Property: Kings Lodge
Address: 44 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England (Formerly Kings Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Lodge Guest House is a situated in a tree lined avenue and is perfectly placed for enjoying the facilities within Torquay or for sightseeing around Devon. Our Sunny terraced garden and our relaxing conservatory are perfect for enjoying an evening drink from our well stocked bar. We have onsite parking spaces for guests, along with plenty of on road parking. We are a family and pet dog friendly guest house. We are located within easy access to the beach, marina, town centre, Torre Abbey, the Riviera Conference Centre and Torquay Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Kings Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Torquay
Kings Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing