We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic!”
Review of Kings Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kings Lodge
Ranked #7 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked the Kings Lodge relatively last minute after (and I am ashamed to say) not being able to find any hotel chains with rooms left. I am new to guest houses, and was a little skeptical to say the least. It was therefore such a relief when we were greeted with very warm welcome, and even more delighted when we saw the lovely room we would be staying in for 2 nights, it was perfect.

Our room was the one that was yet to be refurbished (we couldn't tell), but we all loved it the way it was, it was sparkling clean, and had everything we needed.

Amanda and Bryan were so accommodating with our needs, and made our breakfast in time for us to leave for the day. Breakfast was perfectly home cooked, fresh and tasted great (an understatement really).

Its often said that you cant wait to get into your own bed after being away, this in fact was quite untrue, I could have happily stayed there :)

Thank you Amanda, Bryan and Katie (and not forgetting Scooby) for a memorable stay, we are already planning our return trip, of which we will of course be booking with you again.

(PS, Luella danced her solo on Monday and did great, thanks for your encouragement!)

Lisa, Chris and Luella.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Guests wanting to return is the best feedback we can receive as it lets us know we have been able to provide them with a good experience. Chain hotels will always have their place however we do believe that the personal service at a good guesthouse is hard to beat.
The room you stayed in is indeed nice however we are setting ourselves high standards and have a plan for continual improvements.
Thankyou for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased Luella found the courage to complete her solo dance and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at Kings Lodge for two nights with our newborn. Amanda and Brian were simply amazing, and very welcoming and helpful. The room was extremely cosy and modern. Breakfast was of very high quality and delicious! We would recommend it to anybody!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stel4o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thankyou for recommending our Guesthouse to other travellers. Your review is highly appreciated and we are so glad you felt welcomed and comfortable. Max was absolutely gorgeous and we would love to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Well what can you say, absolutely superb from start to finish, warm welcome treated as friends and left feeling as if we have known them for years. As for the room it was spotless and very spacious. If you want a great stay in Torquay this is the place to go, will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

There's not a lot we can say other than thankyou for a very good review and for taking the time to write it. Looking forward to your return and enjoying your company. Regards Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The warm and friendly welcome at King's Lodge made us immediately feel comfortable and relaxed. We agree with all the wonderful comments others have already made. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Amanda and Brian and would not hesitate to highly recommend the guest house and its delightful and helpful hosts (and Scooby too).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Guest recommendations are one of the most valuable assets to a small guesthouse such as Kings Lodge. We are so pleased you had a good stay and will always be made to feel welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the guest house a couple of weeks ago for one night. I wanted a place where I could take my little dog. They were so friendly and very accommodating from the moment I made my booking on the phone. My room was beautiful. Comfortable and spotlessly clean. I had food from the bar menu in the evening and is was great and breakfast the next morning was very tasty. I'm looking forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandstormLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

The bar snacks are a result of guest requests and to date have been extremely popular due to the quality and value for money. We are so grateful for the constructive feedback and you can be assured of a great stay and welcome on your return. See you both soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the Kings lodge with the family (1 toddler, 1 eight month old baby and our lanky big greyhound called Ozzie).
We were met on arrival by Amanda and Brian with tea and scrummy cake, amazing. The room was big enough for all of us and had loads of storage space for all the bits you need carrying babies around! Ozzie was a bit scared of walking on the wooden floor (but that was soon rectified with blankets) and he soon made friends with Scooby the resident dog.
Breakfast was really good. A nice selection of choices but definitely try the full English, It was delicious. We didnt use the bar but did order a couple of hot chocolates, with mini marshmallows mmmmmmmm!
Amanda and Brian were the best part of the stay. They couldn't have made us more welcomed. They lent us Dvd's for the children to watch, made sure the travel cot had the right softness for my baby to sleep on, we're always on hand and gave some great recommendations for where to go and where to eat. We decided to take my toddler to see the dinosaur museum and Amanda kindly gave us all the info and discount coupons. Most of all they were genuine and lovely to be around. Very refreshing as we are used to hotels where the staff are polite but obviously trained and forced.
I will be recommending the Kings lodge to friends when they stay in Torquay.

Room Tip: Call Amanda and Brian before if there is any specification as they will certainly try their utmost t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie_Cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

We are so pleased that you felt so welcome at our guesthouse. We always endeavour to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible. You are right about the room tip as we do try our upmost to meet all guest requests where possible and can tailor your stay in a personal manner. ps it was certainly entertaining watching Ozzie being power lifted through the conservatory. Please return :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We spent two nights at Kings Lodge as part of a short break away from the hustle and bustle in London. We received a warm welcome upon arrival and were very impressed by the standard of cleanliness in our room. Breakfast was truly faultless. It's great value for money and we were also given vouchers for when visiting the local attractions, which was gratefully received!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

We aim to provide great value for money and good service. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay, away from the hustle and bustle of London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
303 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
812 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Lodge

Address: 44 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England (Formerly Kings Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £57 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Lodge Guest House is a situated in a tree lined avenue and is perfectly placed for enjoying the facilities within Torquay or for sightseeing around Devon. Our Sunny terraced garden and our relaxing conservatory are perfect for enjoying an evening drink from our well stocked bar. We have onsite parking spaces for guests, along with plenty of on road parking. We are a family and pet dog friendly guest house. We are located within easy access to the beach, marina, town centre, Torre Abbey, the Riviera Conference Centre and Torquay Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kings Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Torquay
Kings Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing