We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class b&b with wonderful hosts”
Review of Kings Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Lodge
Ranked #5 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“first class b&b with wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just returned from a 5night stay and we are so glad that we chose the Kings Lodge . We were made to feel extremely welcome.Amanda Bryan and daughter Katie are fantastic hosts and Scoobie the dog is simply adorable.We had the 4 poster bedroom which was a good size and overlooked the lovely patio. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and there was plenty of choice. We enjoyed sitting in the bar area in the evenings having a drink after an evening stroll.Amanda and Bryan were great company and had good tips for days out and places to visit. We would love to come back next year and would definitely recommend the Kings Lodge to anyone travelling to Torquay. Hope you all enjoyed your family day out you certainly deserve a break you all work so hard. Thank you .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are so pleased that you had a great stay in Torquay and with ourselves.The balustrade did get put in the day after you left, so now you will have to return to appreciate it! Some pics will be on our website and our face book page soon.
Best wishes Amanda and Bryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
118
173
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I've just resently a short break with my wife at the king's lodge what a fabulous b&b no wonder it's our second visit the room's are spotless and the breakfact is beautifull cooked and on arrival ower's brain and amanda are very welcoming there's nothing too much trouble 'thay have got it spot on' it tell's with amount of hardwork thay put in thank you for a great stay we both highly recommed the king's lodge to anyone

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67NIGEL_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to have you stay with us once again and we are pleased that you could see the changes that have been made in our first year.
Look forward to your return, Amanda and Bryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at Kings lodge at the start of June, the welcome was warm and friendly, the guest house, is modern spacious and has everything you need. Amanda and Bryan are amazing hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them! we will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
A sincere thanks for writing your review and for taking advantage of our whole house hire for yourself and your friends. Your group was a pleasure to have and demonstrated that we are able to provide a self contained facility for a small party or re-union. We look forward to your anticipated return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed at this BnB with my boyfriend for a short stay.
The owners were very friendly & made us feel welcome.
The room was very clean! A little small but since its a base for sightseeing..neither me or my boyfriend cared.
Its about a couple of minutes walk from Torre Abbey and roughly 20mins walk to the harbour.
Breakfast was standard..just what you need to start the day.
I would recommend this place & would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jentaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing our guest house. Your views are extremely appreciated and welcomed. We are glad you would recommend our guesthouse and would return where we have larger and more spacious rooms available should you wish to upgrade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here for a business trip, I had already told the owners I would be arriving a little late at night.....I was welcomed with a cup of tea and a sandwich as they knew I had a long journey...the plus was the free glass of wine.

I was also helped with my bags, could not have asked for more,the place was SPOTLESS !
I would definitely recommend and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found your room to your liking. Kindest Regards and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This guest house is lovely and welcoming, The breakfast here has a wide variety of choice and all freshly cooked. The family room we stayed in over the weekend was lovely with very comfy beds great when you have had a long day walking around Torquay and you look forward to going to bed. The patio garden is very nice where you can enjoy a drink from the bar which was cheap too. Amanda, Bryan, Katie and Scooby the dog are lovely hosts and make your stay here very welcoming.

Will definitely be coming here again thoroughly enjoyed our stay.................

Julie, Jason and Summer

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Your desire to return to Kings Lodge assures us that we are catering for our guests and providing them with a good experience. Despite being a small guesthouse we do keep the bar prices very competitive so everyone can enjoy their stay in the knowledge that they are not paying inflated prices. Hopefully Summer enjoyed her stay, particularly having Katie style her hair.
We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed at Kings Lodge last Saturday (31/05) just for the night and would highly recommend it. We were greeted with home made cake and we had this on the terrace in the sunshine. There is a lovely little bar which is very reasonable and with local beers and ciders! The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable, lovely little touches include a bowl of mints in the room. Amanda and Bryan were very friendly and Scooby was a delight!

We walked into town in the evening through Torre Abbey which took us 10 mins and we are slow amblers.

Breakfast was great, you could tell it was all high quality food and was cooked fresh to order.

We would highly recommend Kings Lodge to anyone wanting to stay in Torquay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigblonde72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank You for taking the time to write our 100th review which shows that we are taking our guesthouse from strength to strength. Your feedback assures us that we continue to provide all of our guests with an excellent service and location to base themselves when visiting Devon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#9 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Lodge

Property: Kings Lodge
Address: 44 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England (Formerly Kings Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Lodge Guest House is a situated in a tree lined avenue and is perfectly placed for enjoying the facilities within Torquay or for sightseeing around Devon. Our Sunny terraced garden and our relaxing conservatory are perfect for enjoying an evening drink from our well stocked bar. We have onsite parking spaces for guests, along with plenty of on road parking. We are a family and pet dog friendly guest house. We are located within easy access to the beach, marina, town centre, Torre Abbey, the Riviera Conference Centre and Torquay Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kings Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Torquay
Kings Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing