We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation run by accommodating people”
Review of Kings Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Lodge
Ranked #6 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This little gem is a great place to stay. It's run by a genuinely friendly couple that do their best to make all their guests (young and old) feel very welcome. Rooms are to a high standard, we stayed in one with our 3 kids aged 8, 13 and 16, without too much problem. Breakfast was great as was the evening conversation with the owners. I highly recommend this guest house if you are planning to stay in Torquay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad we were able to contribute to a great visit to the UK and hope you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Thank you Amanda and Bryan for our brilliant 4 night stay at Kings lodge last week.
They made us very welcome from arrival, making us a much needed cuppa after a long
journey. Lovely spacious room and very comfy bed.
Breakfast is really tasty, so much to choose from, My husband loved the full English, for me it
was the lovely fresh fruit salad, followed by Amanda's delicious pancakes!!
We will certainly recommend it to friends and family. Also we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AngeJ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

A nice drink is always on offer to our guests after their journey and hopefully we can offer you a one soon on your return visit. Thanks for such a great review and taking the time to write it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Thanks Bryan and Amanda for making my stay such a pleasure, as a solo traveller sometimes a hotel can be a lonely place,especially on a first visit but not this time, honestly, they could not have been nicer, going out of their way to help out. Five Star Service, if you can get a reservation do it, you will not regret it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank vinny1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have a lot to live up to for your return visit, but hopefully will live up to your expectations. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Well done to Amanda and Bryan for running such a fantastic bed and breakfast. My wife, myself and our small dog stayed at the Kings Lodge during June 2014. From the moment we arrived Amanda came out to meet us at our car and we were greeted with a very warm welcome and this continued right through to the moment we checked out. We opted to stay in the room with the four poster bed, great room, bathroom good, bed very comfortable and the whole room was very clean. Evenings we spent at the hotel and Amanda and Bryan were great hosts. Easy to talk to and nothing was too much trouble. I am a diabetic and needed to store my insulin in a fridge, this was not a problem and Amanda was helpful and kept my insulin in the kitchen fridge.
As a dog owner we like you have problems with eating out during the evening as most if not all do not allow dogs inside a restaurant. This I can understand so its always an issue to us when we eat out during an evening. Amanda and Bryan offer a dog minding service for a small fee and we on one evening took them up on the offer and we were able to enjoy a summers evening strolling along Torquay's wonderful beach prior to eating a lovely meal at a lovely beach side restaurant knowing our dog was being well cared for. Amanda and Bryan are dog owners too and they have a lovely dog called 'Scooby'.

Their garden at the front of the property was very clean, tidy and a great place to sit and relax in. Breakfast was excellent, ingredients top quality and a lot to choose from. We have stayed in various bed and breakfasts over the years and the Kings Lodge is by far the best we have stayed in. A quality place to stay with or without a dog, we would not hesitate in staying here again or in recommending the Kings Lodge to anyone looking for a quality, great value for money location when staying in Torquay, well done Amanda and Bryan on running such a quality product. Thanks and we will see you both next time we stay at Torquay. Steve, Claire and our dog Minnie.

Room Tip: Four Poster room was excellent. All rooms I would presume to be excellent. A great place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HARLEY26_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

This is a super review and we can only thank you, not only for your kind comments but the time you have put into writing it. We know only too well how hard it can be to find somewhere where your four legged family member is made welcome. This is why we wanted our guesthouse to be dog friendly and demonstrate that being so does not have to impact on quality, experience or cleanliness. Thanks again and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Went to stay at Kings Lodge for 4 nights and it was the best. Amanda and Bryan were so nice and friendly, we felt that we were staying with friends! Breakfast was delicious and of high quality. B & B was very clean and we had a lovely spacious room for the three of us. We will definitely go back again, couldn't have asked for anything more.Thanks for a great stay Amanda and Bryan (and Scooby too!)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JULIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Your review is highly appreciated. We are so pleased you had a great stay and felt welcome. It will be great to see you again soon and you can be assured of continual improvements to our guesthouse which includes further improvements to the room you were staying in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just have to say a massive thank you to Brian and Amanda, the absolute hosts with the most. Right from the moment we arrived at their lovely guest house we were welcomed with warmth and coffee. We sat in the wonderful garden enjoying the sunshine before unpacking our cases. Our room was very comfortable with everything we could wish for and the whole place was spotlessly clean. Brian and Amanda were very attentive and there was nothing they would not do for their guests. The breakfasts were excellent with a good choice of menu. Although they do not offer an evening meal they do offer substantial bar snacks for those wishing to stay at the hotel during the evening. Not a hardship as this guest house is also fully licensed. We were rather reluctant to leave this morning and we shall certainly be returning before the season ends. Thank you both so much for a really enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 381Kazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

We are pleased you had a brilliant stay and it will be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back to Kings Lodge. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights early July this b b ranks as the bestthere is nothing is to much trouble ,so friendly and helpful the room was spotless breakfast lovely what else could you ask for can't wait for my next visit

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank 1961born
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for a great review. We are so pleased you can't wait for your next visit where we can ensure you have a very pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 150 in Torquay
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 150 in Torquay
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 150 in Torquay
505 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 150 in Torquay
1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Lodge

Address: 44 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England (Formerly Kings Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £59 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Lodge Guest House is a situated in a tree lined avenue and is perfectly placed for enjoying the facilities within Torquay or for sightseeing around Devon. Our Sunny terraced garden and our relaxing conservatory are perfect for enjoying an evening drink from our well stocked bar. We have onsite parking spaces for guests, along with plenty of on road parking. We are a family and pet dog friendly guest house. We are located within easy access to the beach, marina, town centre, Torre Abbey, the Riviera Conference Centre and Torquay Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kings Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Torquay
Kings Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing