We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A excellent accommodation that welcome's dogs”
Review of Kings Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Lodge
Ranked #4 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
2 reviews
“A excellent accommodation that welcome's dogs”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A warm and welcome home from home, excellent host's. We thoroughly enjoyed are stay Aug 2014, Suzy our dog made friends with the hosts dog even had an evening of doggy play while we went to the theatre,very clean hotel ud never guess there was dogs in the house, clean fresh light and airy ,beautiful patio sitting area with a glass of wine to end the night, will return next year, well done AMANDA and family, x MR&MRS SHEEN.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thankyou for writing a review. Scoobie loves making new friends and will look forward to your return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
122
189
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our second visit to the Kings Lodge. Great seeing Amanda, Bryan, Katie and Scooby the family dog. It's such a pleasent hotel which is close to the abbey and a short walk to the beach x

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
It was a pleasure welcoming you all for your return visit and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay once again and liked the continual improvements we are making.
Good luck with your wedding and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at King's Lodge with our 11 month old jack Russell (pixie) and we couldn't of asked for a better place to stay, Amanda and Bryan made us feel so welcome, it was like a home from home! Would 100% recommend kings lodge to anyone thinking of staying here! Look forward to visiting again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
We look forward to your return. Pixie was very cute and Scoobie loved her company. Thank you for your kind comments and recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

So many positive reviews and we can only echo them all! Made to feel extremely welcome and nothing is too much trouble for Amanda, Bryan, Kate and Scoobie! Thanks again for the patio blankets making sure our last evening was perfect. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Even though you think that your comments are echoed, the consistency of the comments demonstrates how we cater for all of our guests. Thanks for taking the time to make a review and we would love you to stay again where you will hopefully see our continued improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The difficulty in reviewing Kings Lodge is that its all been said before, but perhaps with no more sincerity than our own comments. It is as everybody suggests a smashing place to stay. The facilities, cleanliness, food and so on are perhaps available elsewhere in Torquay, but what makes this place so very special are Amanda & Bryan who are perfect hosts, work hard and yet always have time for you. To say we enjoyed our stay is an understatement, we too felt as though we were being "cared for" rather than just paying guests. A special place owned by special people. Brilliant

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadLeicsUK&Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Whilst you feel it has all been said before, it is important that we maintain the high standards we set and seeing the positive reviews shows us that we continue to work in the right direction. Thankyou for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend came down for our first holiday and I couldnt of asked for a better place to stay. Rooms were spotless, beds were amazingly comfy and en-suite bathrooms were lush. The family are lovely and will always go out of their way to help with anything needed and always make conversation! Food and drink is great quality, just like eating out at any top restaurant without the huge bill. Had a whole meal with my girlfriend and a drink and it only came to £13!would advise anybody visiting the area to stay here! Perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Along with your great review, your return booking is the assurance that we are providing good value and a quality service for our guests. Thanks for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to seeing you both very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This has got to be the best B&B we have stayed in. A huge thank you to Amanda & Bryan (not forgetting little scoobie) who were very friendly & went out of their way, couldn't seem to do enough to make their guests feel at home from the time we walked through the door until the minute we left, also giving us lots of advise on local places & events. We felt more like visiting friends than paying guests. Everywhere was very clean, the rooms spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast made from all local produce was really tasty. Very family friendly, with lots of extra little things to make the children feel welcome (even though we didn't have children with us we were really taken by this)
Spent some time sitting on their lovely patio just relaxing. Bar snacks and drinks were really nice too and couldn't fault the prices. Would definitely recommend this to others and would certainly go back and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thanks for your recommendation and great review. Hopefully you will consider visiting the area again and stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 149 in Torquay
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#8 of 149 in Torquay
792 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#5 of 149 in Torquay
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Lodge

Property: Kings Lodge
Address: 44 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England (Formerly Kings Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Lodge Guest House is a situated in a tree lined avenue and is perfectly placed for enjoying the facilities within Torquay or for sightseeing around Devon. Our Sunny terraced garden and our relaxing conservatory are perfect for enjoying an evening drink from our well stocked bar. We have onsite parking spaces for guests, along with plenty of on road parking. We are a family and pet dog friendly guest house. We are located within easy access to the beach, marina, town centre, Torre Abbey, the Riviera Conference Centre and Torquay Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kings Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Torquay
Kings Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing