We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!!!”
Review of Kings Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Lodge
Ranked #5 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb!!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights with our 5 year old son. It was such an amazing place. The hosts, Amanda, Bryan and Katie, were incredible - so friendly, so attentive, absolutely wonderful with our boy - nothing was too much trouble; really made us feel home.They have games and DVDs for kids - a real bonus. The room was great - well-furnished, spacious and very clean. Breakfast - that was a masterpiece. I've never eaten such perfect poached eggs. Pancakes were delicious - our boy can vouch for that. Location was perfect - close to the seafront and close to the train station.This was an ideal hotel. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cucciolo939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Our sincere thanks for such a great review and letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We do endeavor to cater for all of our guests, young and older! Your comments about the quality and choices for breakfast is very reassuring that we are providing a good start to the day for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
118
172
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with our Dog Harry. What a great place the owners Amanda Bryan Katie and the boss Scoobie make you feel like your at home. Very Dog friendly even to letting our little dog Harry eat breakfeast in the bar as not to disturbe other guests , just one of those special touches.Bar prices cheaper then Weatherspoons bottle of beer £2.00. Nice rooms friendly bar with nice Gardens.

Plenty of places to park on and of site. Lovely breakfeast and great poeple who will make sure your stay is nice and laid back.

Next time in Torquay the Kings Lodge it is.

Cheers
Chris

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Being dog friendly and having the space, we are happy to facilitate breakfast in our conservatory bar if your four legged friend cannot bear being left as we don't even allow "Scoobie" into the dining room - even though you rightly state she is the boss!
The bar prices are indeed very competitive as we feel the business will prosper from a good value service rather than inflated prices which many licensed premises charge.
Your review is highly valued and appreciated THANKS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Perfect location, perfect facilities, perfect company. We were made welcome on arrival with a cup of tea and the welcome never stopped. We brought our two grandchildren with us (Hayden 6 years and Willow 6 months) and Amanda and Bryan really made them feel at home - with toys and dvds - a travel cot, blankets, washing the baby's bottles for us, highchair waiting at our breakfast table. Nothing was too much trouble. The location was ideal - we had a 10 min walk to the train station for our day on steam trains and boats; walked to the seafront in the evenings and the local pub (Bull and Bush) offered a good, reasonable meal. Paignton Zoo was also just down the road and a lovely day out. We couldn't fault it - and in the unlikely event that we did, Bryan and Amanda would respond immediately. Definitely going back!

Room Tip: The downstairs family room was ideally situated - within hearing of the breakfast room and the loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Your review is highly appreciated. We know only too well how difficult it can be with young children, which is why we have ensured that you don't feel like you have to bring half of your house contents to cater for them. Also if the children are comfortable, parents/grandparents can relax and enjoy the break. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

So glad we found this jewel in Torqays crown.
Amanda made us welcome right from the start with a very much appreciated cup of tea.
King's Lodge is exceptional - spotless, comfortable room, lovely toiletries and delicious breakfast - everything from buffet-style healthy eating to full hearty english.
Centrally placed for easy access to town centre and sea-front and we were lucky enough to experience the good weather and could sit outside the hotel on the seats proivided.
Would highly recommend to anyone wishing to visit Torquay.
Also - many thanks to Kate who served us breakfast with a cherry smile every morning.
All the very best - Ann and Russ

Room Tip: Room 1 was large, overlooking the lovely front garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pottergirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thankyou for such a good review and recognition of Katie's friendly smile and service. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Water Orton nr Birmingham, Warwickshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Thank you to Bryan and Amanda (Katie and Scoobie too!) for making us so welcome - on arrival Bryan made us both a cup of tea which was totally unexpected but very much needed after our long journey. Both Bryan and Amanda are very friendly, perfect hosts and really helpful.
This is our third year in Torquay, we like to come back every year as we were married in Cockington in 2012; we will be back again next year but this time we won't be checking out any more guesthouses as this is the best one we have found so no need to look any further.

See you all in 2015! Deanne & Andy x

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanne62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thankyou Deanne & Andy for your comments and review. Having been compared to other places which I am sure are also very nice, your decision not to look any further lets us know we are providing good accommodation and service. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Kings Lodge. Took our dog who loved playing with their resident dog Scooby. Very clean & tidy, not a dogs hair in sight! Toys & towels especially for dogs to play & use & a perfect room & breakfast (took toast up to the dog aswell) Will deff return 2015!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterflyeffect24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return. We will also be able to watch out for toast trafficking thanks to your review. ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A warm and welcome home from home, excellent host's. We thoroughly enjoyed are stay Aug 2014, Suzy our dog made friends with the hosts dog even had an evening of doggy play while we went to the theatre,very clean hotel ud never guess there was dogs in the house, clean fresh light and airy ,beautiful patio sitting area with a glass of wine to end the night, will return next year, well done AMANDA and family, x MR&MRS SHEEN.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thankyou for writing a review. Scoobie loves making new friends and will look forward to your return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#9 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Lodge

Property: Kings Lodge
Address: 44 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England (Formerly Kings Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Lodge Guest House is a situated in a tree lined avenue and is perfectly placed for enjoying the facilities within Torquay or for sightseeing around Devon. Our Sunny terraced garden and our relaxing conservatory are perfect for enjoying an evening drink from our well stocked bar. We have onsite parking spaces for guests, along with plenty of on road parking. We are a family and pet dog friendly guest house. We are located within easy access to the beach, marina, town centre, Torre Abbey, the Riviera Conference Centre and Torquay Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kings Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Torquay
Kings Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing