We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome at the Shirley Hotel”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #20 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm welcome at the Shirley Hotel”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Hi,
We stayed at the Shirley last night (27/10/2011). On arival we received a very warm welcome and was offered tea or coffee in the residents lounge while we where booked in, a real nice touch. We was in room 11 which we thought was a little dated, plastic style false ceiling, woodchip wallpaper and coloured bathroom suit, but in defence of the hotel, we got the feeling that they are re-furbing on a room by room basis, and as we got a cheaper deal from another website we thought this was fare enough. The room was very clean and the owners very warm and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffRoberts13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    93
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
406
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tenby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed three nights in October . A very friendly welcome ,lovely room excellent breakfast. Close to seafront and shops would definately go again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Day D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Two nights spent in this excellent hotel run by a really lovely couple. The building itself is quite beautiful and when lit up at noght looks georgeous. Beautiful decor throughout and the breakfasts were really good. Both Gary and Debbie were most attentive and we shall definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Fantastic place to stay, in a great location just a short walk from the front. Staff were really helpful.

The rooms are more than big enough, nice television and comfortable bed, large hot shower.

Food was really good, honestly one of the best I have had whilst away, would recommend the Shirley to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmicChild87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Never left a review before but Gary, Debbie and the Shirley deserve the effort. Had a lovely 2 night stay with my boyfriend recently. Room lovely, bed very comfortable and breakfast delicious. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My wife and I stayed four nights at The Shirley and enjoyed every minute, helped in no small part by the fantastic weather. Gary & Debbie are very attentative hosts and cannot do enough to make your stay memorable. Our room was clean and spacious although the bathroom was small. Breakfasts were excellent quality, my wife particularly enjoying the smoked salmon & scrambled egg. Lots of nice touches like fresh milk available in fridges on the landing, in addition to water coolers and bottled water avaiable in the bedrooms.
Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyChesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2011

My husband and I spent a very enjoyable weekend at the Shirley and we had a great time. On arrival we were met by Debbie and a pot of tea. Everyone was very friendly and were happy to give us advise on where to visit and where to eat. Our room was well appointed with very good decorations and a fab big bed. Fresh white linen and towels. The ensuite was well ordered and very clean. A good size, some hotels convert cubbyholes, so this was a nice surprise.
Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and lashings of good coffee.
Good luck to Debbie and Garry, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#7 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing