We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It gets better every time we go”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #25 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This was not our first visit to the Shirley hotel and this is now our residence when visiting relatives in the Torquay area. Gary and Debbie always make you feel welcome with a cup of tea or coffee on arrival and our "usual room".
We always stay here now as the service and hospitality are second to none. TWe were surprised to find that things have improved. Gary and Debbie now offer fresh milk for your room, so that you can make your own tea in the morning. I have never really liked those little pots you get, even in the highest star rated hotels, so this is a real difference.
Well done for making the difference and impressing your guests again!

Room Tip: The superior rooms are certainly worth the additional cost, with bath robes and slippers as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Thank you for another great review. We do try as much as possible to give that little bit extra to all of our guests. The jugs of fresh milk have been a real hit since we introduced them. The little touches like the top brands that we use for our complimentary items have always been a plus as well with our guests. We promise that we will try to improve even more for your next visit. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

The only negative was that we only stayed the night. I would definately stay again; warm, friendly and very relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nizviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We always like to treat our guests in the same manner as we would like to be treated ourselves. It's so good to know that all of our efforts and the efforts of our staff are appreciated. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

After visiting The Shirley August 2011 for my husbands 50th birthday and having such a wonderful time, we decided to visit it again for my birthday in June this year. As before, we were made to feel so welcome, Garry and Debbie are such a lovely couple and as always nothing is too much trouble. The room was spotless and breakfast first class. Whenever we decide to vist Torquay, we will always book The Shirley. Infact, we would chose Torquay just so we could visit The Shirley again!

Room Tip: All rooms are great but we always choose the superior plus and it really is a wonderful room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbielou_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you very much for our review. We are really pleased that you had such a great time again with us. We always try to make a special occasion as much of an occasion as we possibly can. It was so good to see you all again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

second time we've visited and will be staying again! truly amazing hotel, room, and staff, brilliant breakfast, everything was just perfect! thanks a lot Gary and Debbie!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you for your lovely kind words. (Especially your comments on the breakfast). As you know we source as much as we can locally and Debbie takes a real pride in her cooking. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a great experience at the Shirley. The room was spotless and very well kitted out. The room was big and the toilet was quite spacious. It felt more like a 4 star hotel than a traditional b&b. Garry was an excellent host - always willing to help with itinerary suggestions and with other arrangements; case in point: he was nice enough to help me surprise my partner with a bottle of champagne and glasses sent up to my room after we left for dinner.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the Shirley to anyone visiting Torquay or the region.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments. We will always try to go that extra mile and make a special occasion more memorable if we are able. So very pleased that we were able to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

It was very warm welcome and a nice clean hotel. The room was very clean and decorate very nice. We will be back here again :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptbeebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Really happy that you had a great time. Hopefully we'llsee you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We had a lovely stay with Garry and Debbie, they are great hosts as has been said by others. The room was perfect spacious and clean with nice bathroom. The building has great charm and the breakfast sets you up for the day. It is also only a few mins walk to good restaurants and the centre of town. Highly recommend a visit.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

So very glad that you had a great time. We are blessed with being in such a great location with everything at our fingertips. Really happy that you also loved the breakfasts so much as well!!!!
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#24 of 149 in Torquay
145 reviews
0 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#27 of 149 in Torquay
217 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hillcroft - Boutique unique
1 mi away
The Montana
The Montana
#26 of 149 in Torquay
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £58 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing