We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second trip to the Shirley”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #29 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have recently come back from yet another stay at the Shirley and it was as good if not better than the first visit. Debbie and Garry both remembered our names and welcomed us as if we were old friends.
The room was lovely and clean the breakfast was very well presented and tasted lovely. Garry was very helpful with advise and info on local attractions and buses. I am looking forward to booking again in the spring for yet another bit of heaven.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Thank you for you kind review. It's really nice when guests choose to return and see us once again. We are very proud of our reputation at 'The Shirley' and we always strive to make everyone's stay a pleasing and enjoyable experience. It will be great to welcome you both back again this coming Spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

This was our second visit to the Shirley having visited 18 months earlier and I am pleased to say it is still one of the best places we have ever stayed in. Not only is the location ideal (2 mins from bus stop and 5 mins walk from town centre), but the service and food is outstanding. It was also nice that our hosts remembered us from our previous visit and we were welcomed with fresh tea and coffee on arrival.

We stayed for as a birthday/New Year treat and I was greeted with a breakfast surprise of a decorated table, balloons, card, badge and champagne. In the evening we were provided with a delicious buffet and fun quiz to bring in the New Year.

We stayed in room no.4 which has a lovely shower so book this one if you can. The introduction this time of a guest fridge with fresh milk for tea/coffee was a very welcome and clever addition. The whole place is spotless and the bedding and towels were clean and high quality.

Debbie and Garry always do what they can to make your stay perfect and we will definitely be back in 2013.

Room Tip: We always book room 4 which is the most expensive but does have the nicest en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perktwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Thank you very much for your very kind and thoughtful review. We are so pleased that you both visited us again. It was good to know that you enjoyed yourselves. We also really enjoyed putting on the quiz for everyone. It's nice to know that our efforts were appreciated.

Debbie is the brains behind the catering side of things and she has always taken so much care and pride in the selection, preparation, cooking and presentation of the food at 'The Shirley'. We have our Breakfast Award and are really proud to tell people about it though Debbie's cooking.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you both soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

A group of 8 friends stayed for our annual Christmas gathering. The Shirley was perfectly located an easy walk to everywhere. We stayed for 2 nights and our room was lovely, lovely linen and towels. Debbie and Gary were superb hosts and breakfast was very tasty, great bacon. Although some areas need updating the house is constantly being refurbished and will be smashing when finished. Would definitely recommend and will return. Thank you Debbie and Gary.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We're so glad that you all had a great time. We really enjoy what we do and were so glad to make your weekend go with a bang !!!

The building was built in 1888 and we are constantly updating the rooms etc as finances allow. We take great care when decorating of choosing the furniture and fittings for 'The Shirley'. Debbie is the one with the eye for detail on this.

As far as the laundry is concerned we have always made sure that we have only used the best Egyptian Cotton products. They are regularly replaced and the cleaning of linen is carefully monitored.

Once again thank you all so much for your kind words and we hope that we can welcome you all again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Shirley Hotel again whilst visiting family for a brief Christmas stay over. The Shirley Hotel know how to accommodate individual situations ... whether it be a relaxing break, visiting family or touring the bay, Garry and Debbie will help you achieve your reason for visiting. Garry and Debbie are born to be hoteliers, with an immense amount of generosity, compassion, and desire to help you enjoy your stay. I'll be booking my future family visits around their availability.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherThackray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful and thoughful review. We do try so very hard to give all of our guests a reason to want to return. We never forget that every guest has very different and varied individual needs and expectations. If something is within our power we will most certainly find a reason to accommodate it.

Our moto at 'The Shirley' is, has been and always will be 'It's the little things that matter'. We are really pleased that you chose to stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you back at 'The Shirley' next year. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We booked the Shirley for the night before our anniversary. We met Debbie and Gary just as we arrived. They were very welcoming and so friendly. Our room was warm and very comfortable. I had forgotten when I booked the room that I had said we were coming for our anniversay. When we entered our room, there was a bottle of Champagne in a cooler with 2 glasses. Such a lovely thought and so lovely to drink. We sat with Debbie and Gary and watched some of 'Strictly' before we went out for the evening, The breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. On the whole, a really good time at the Shirley. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so happy that we were able to make your special occasion memorable. We love to get to know all of our guests and feel privileged that you chose to stay with us.

We really hope that you will chose to visit us again soon. Once again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We had 3 great days at the Shirley with Debbie and Gary. The breakfast was unbelievable, Debbie even did me 'Dry fried' mushrooms 'cos I'm on a diet! All the Ingredients were locally reared or grown and very very tasty. The bedrooms were very comfortable with all amenities and even fresh milk in a small fridge on the landing. When we arrived we were given a lovely cup of coffee straight away and our luggage was carried to our room, which doesn't often happen in England. We'll be going again in the future without a doubt. This is the place to go in Torquay and it's near to the harbour but in a nice quiet location.

Room Tip: If you find difficulty climbing stairs, ask for the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aloitious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We take a lot of pleasure in making sure that our guests feel welcome and in ensuring that they all enjoy their time at 'The Shirley'. It's nice to know that all our efforts are appreciated. Once again thank you for your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Our time at the Shirley was amazing! At 1st glance we thought we were overseas with the beautiful palmtrees and surroundings! we thought we were actually in Turkey not Torquay! Owners garry and debbie gave us great service and provided us with brilliant information of what to do in the area.Torquay is packed with fun things to do , our 4 days wasnt enough. With only a 10 minuet walk to the main town theres so many places to visit , lots of restaurants , boat trips,shops and walks. Worth the 16 hour drive!

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Firstly, many apologies for not replying to your lovely review earlier than now. It's true what you say that four days in Torquay is never enough. That in itself is a good enough reason to return. For our part, we are happy that we have also given you another reason to return.

We are certainly looking forward to your next visit to us and really hope that it won't be too long before we see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#20 of 86 in Torquay
286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#40 of 86 in Torquay
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 150 in Torquay
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Robin Hill Hotel
The Robin Hill Hotel
#39 of 150 in Torquay
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 150 in Torquay
505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £61 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing