We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The white house is the right house”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #14 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Offenbach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The white house is the right house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Uncomplicated booking and a warm welcome of tea and biscuits. A typical seaside B&B, we had room number 9 (top floor, some views), the room was practical and had a brand new bathroom. The bed might not be enough for anyone taller than 1.80m. Breakfast was everything you might expect and more - simply delicious - and served with a smile! The owners are open, welcoming, friendly and can help with anything. Located in a small and quiet side street, but only10 mins from the harbour/city centre, it's a very good location. Water, tea, coffee, milk, biscuits, sweets and a bathroom full of complimentary goodies, you needn't bring anything. The owners gave us some good tips as to what to do when and where in the area (steam train, paddle boat, vintage bus,). Don't miss the Agatha Christie experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rock_and_Doris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to point you in the right direction as far as places to visit etc. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    92
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
404
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

The Shirley....what a place. The whole building is warm, clean and welcoming......never before been offered a cup of tea upon arrival...what a thoughtful touch. Debbie and Garry made the stay - the food is great, plenty of choice and all well cooked. Will definitely recommend this place to all and. hope to return in the very near future. Thanks again x

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Many thanks for taking time out to write a review for 'The Shirley'. We enjoy what we do and hope to see you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

stayed here from 10th May - 12th 2013 and from the moment we stepped through the door we were made to feel welcome. Gary and Debbie are lovely people dedicated to giving a friendly quality service. While we were there Gary's Mum and Dad and their son Adam were staying and what a lovely family they are. On our arrival Debbie immediately made us a cup of tea and we sat chatting in the lounge for nearly an hour. The room was lovely and my wife immediately noticed the soft white towels. The bed was really comfortable and after sitting at Gary's bar chatting in the evening I slept like a log. The location is really convenient, 5 minutes to the harbour and with numerous restaurants in the are. Adam was kind enough to book us into Amicis which was great. All in all this is a gem of a place and we will return.

Room Tip: If you find stairs a problem ask for a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We always like to greet our guests with a cup of tea or coffee. It's usually pretty welcome after a long journey and it's also a good time for us to get to know our guests and to advise them of the best places to eat, drink and visit. We hope that it's not too long before you come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

This was our first trip to this part of the country. The driving instructions to the hotel were invaluable, as we all no know how dodgy sat-nav can be. Our welcome was first rate. Debbie was accommodating and pleasant. She promoted the hotel, Torquey and the surrounding area with the enthusiasm of a local and not a tour operator. Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast menu was as extensive as any one would need it to be, and the food was delicious, proving that breakfast could be tasty as well as the best meal of the day. Our service during breakfast time was also very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. We did however have one downside - we wanted to stay an extra night, and there was no room left in the inn so to speak. So this where the extra customer service bit comes in, The Shirley rang the guest house next door for a room, and even helped to get our cases round to them. I wouldn't hesitate in returning to Torquay, and the place I'd want to stay, rooms available, would be The Shirley.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stc684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thanks for your lovely review and comments. we were upset that we couldn't fit you in for an extra night but at least we were able to help you find somewhere for you.

We really enjoyed your company during your stay and would dearly love to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mountain ash
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

debbie and gary were the perfect hosts, so friendly and accomodating, nothing was too much trouble for them. the rooms and facilities were supurb. breakfast's are hot and delicious and plenty of it. well situated for local resteurants, shops, etc.shall be returning!! full marks.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonytrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you want to return. we're really pleased that you enjoyed the breakfasts and managed to sample some of our breakfast specials. see you soon and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

stayed at the shirley for a two night break nothing was two much trouble for gary and debbie was reccomended by some work mates rooms were lovely and clean with plenty of mod cons and the breakfast was superb gary and debbie sure now how take care of people first class in everything thank you very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review 'The Shirley'. We are very pleased that we lived up to your colleagues recommendation. Word of mouth is always the best form of advertising and we do have many repeat visitors. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Came upon the Shirley just by chance after driving into Torquay without booking any accommodation.Boy did i pick the right place.Garry and Debbie are the best hotel owners i have ever met,They were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble.Room was excellent and very clean,and breakfast was delicious.
I could not find fault with anything,and would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Also had many chats with Garry about football,his team being Torquay and mine Accrington Stanley.He was such a nice guy that i now want Torquay to stay up almost as much as my team.
Well done to the Shirley for making my stay so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 496richarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you for your review. we're really pleased that you stayed with us and that we ticked all of the boxes for you. One thing that we have found is that many of our guests will automatically look up the football results to see how Torquay are doing with many making it their second team choice. It's always a good discussion topic for subsequent visits!!! Hopefully we'll see you next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#8 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing