We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Great hospitality in lovely B&B"”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #18 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Great hospitality in lovely B&B"”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My family and I stayed at the Shirley in July for 2 nights. We were late on arrival but nothing was too much trouble for the owners Garry and Debbie. He showed us to our room and helped with luggage and we settled in very comfortably. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and plentiful in a beautiful dining room. Full English breakfast with tea, coffee, juice, nothing was missing. Garry was full of knowledge of the area which helped us decide where to go for the day so with his expert knowledge, sense of humour and bellies full of food, we were set for the day ahead. I would recommend the Shirley to anyone visiting this lovely area of England and above all, would recommend our lovely hosts, Garry & Debbie!!! If driving to the Shirley, recommend not to get there too late as there are not too many car spaces.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, ask for a lower floor so you don't have to carry heavy suitcases u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and thoughful review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us. We enjoy looking after our guests and if you can inject some humour now and again all the better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    93
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
406
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We road tripped around cornwall for about 10 days staying in different hotels for no more than 2 nights. The shirly is the hotel that we paid the least amount of money for, but was the one that was absoluty the best.
The staff where very accomodating and made us feel as if we were at home.
We stayed in room 11 which was right at the top of the building and had a lovely view over torquay and the sea, it was very clean and well equipped with everything you would need to stay for a week let alone 1 night.
The bed was a regular sized double but it was very comfy, the shower was really powerful and the towels were huge and fluffy! and the supplied toiletries were very nice to.
The pool on the sun deck was stunning to.
Overall very pleased with the quality and hospitality considering the price we payed.
We will definatley stay here again and for a longer period to!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fern P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Really pleased that you enjoyed yourselves whilst you were here. There is so much to do in Torbay so you really need to come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I booked in with my Mum into the Shirley for 3 nights in July. We were greeted by Garry who was very welcoming and chatty. Garry made us a nice pot of tea when we arrived and showed us to our room. The room was lovely with twin beds and the Bathroom immaculate with lovely fluffy towels and we even had gowns and slippers. Garry makes his guests feel welcome and the Hotel is very Homely. The Breakfast was lovely and served fresh, made to order when ready. The staff were very sweet and always smiling. Garry liked to ensure he spoke to all his guests over breakfast and would pop out of a room when we were entering or leaving to check we were ok. There is a lovely gift cabinet in the hotel and in particular if visiting ensure you ask about the Con the bottom shelf who desperately needs a home. There is a lovely little pool which is heated and guest can enjoy a bit of sunshine. Biancos restaurant 5 minute walk away we found lovely and Garry had given us a voucher for a buy one get one free main course.
We have some friends staying in Torquay this week, and it is their wedding anniversary, so Garry if you have any vouchers for Biancos please let me know. We look forward to visiting again and would highly recommend this hotel to anybody stopping in Torquay. Thanks Julie and Jackie from up North who still do not know whether more than once computer mouse is mouses or mice. Bye for Now

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joolsgorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We're so very glad that you both had a nice time whilst you were here. We try to make 'The Shirley' home from home.

Just to let you know there is also no correct answer to 'mice or mouses' as far as a computer mouse is concerned. Next question.................
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Myself and my fiancée stay at the Shirley Hotel for 3 nights from 16th July. We were made to feel very welcome straight away by Garry and showed around and helped take our bags to our room.
The room was comfortable and furnished very well and the double bed was comfy. The only negative about the room would be that there was no ceiling fan or air con and with the weather being so hot and sunny it made the room very warm.
The rooms were cleaned everyday and fresh towels provided when required.
Breakfast was lovely. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the service was great and very quick. Lots of choice on the breakfast menu - I personally had the award winning full English breakfast each morning and it was absolutely delicious and definitely deserves the "award winning" title! There is also cold water dispensers on each floor that are very handy.

The hotel has a lovely little outdoor pool and terrace area too and with the weather being so good we enjoyed a refreshing afternoon dip in the pool and a couple of drinks out on the sun terrace.

Garry was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and gave us some discount vouchers for Paignton Zoo.

The hotel is in a good location and only a 10 minute walk away from the harbour and shops, bars and restaurants although it is up quite a steep hill. Parking at the hotel was ok, although only room for approx 6 cars on a very steep driveway. However there is parking on the road outside the hotel.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and the Shirley and would highly recommend it to people.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crock81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review. We go out of our way to ensure that when you stay with us at 'The Shirley' you are both fed well and have clean and pleasant surroundings.

The comfort and wellbeing of our guests is and always will be our prime concern. I think that everyone will agree that we have had some really spectacular and unusually hot weather over the last few weeks so I agree that the building was exceedingly warm.

We're really pleased that you want to visit us again. We really look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We found Debbie and Gary to be absolutely wonderful hosts. They served a fantastic breakfast menu and as a vegetarian they were extremely accommodating. The rooms are clean and well proportioned, with the added benefit of a swimming pool. The hotel is ideally located for all local attractions and is just a ten minute stroll from the harbour. Well recommended and if we ever visit Torquay, it will be top of my list for places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheresamD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love what we do and really get a buzz when we know that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We have always had a 'can do attitude' and are always able to accommodate the wishes of those guests who require a vegetarian diet.

We are glad that you managed to use the pool. The weather certainly warranted it. It's such a sun trap there and is so ideal for relaxing after a day of touring our many local attractions. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We have just returned from a three day stay. We were made to feel instantly welcomed by Garry with a cup of tea. There was room to park our car in the car park. Our room was outstandingly clean and the breakfast was excellent. The swimming pool was lovely and a great place to relax. The hotel was five minutes walk from the harbour. A huge thank you to Garry and Debbie who make this hotel so great.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and I'm sorry that it's taken a little longer to answer than I normally do. debbie and I are pleased that you had such a good time. The pool is lovely and I managed to take my first dip in it for a year last week.

We are especially proud of the cleanliness at 'The Shirley'. Our staff are excellent and it's down to their supreme efforts that we have such a clean establishment. Hopefully you will visit us again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed for one night at the Shirley B&B in June. Gary was the perfect host and was happy to store our bags until our room was ready [as we arrived very early 10am!]. Comfortable room. Bed comfortable with feather pillows :-) Good selection of bathroom toiletries. Great to have fresh milk available from the fridge on the landing.
Breakfast was of an excellent standard with plenty of choices from the menu as well as fresh fruit/ cereal/yoghurts available. Fried breakfast was non greasy and delicious. I had smoked salmon and scrambled egg on a GF muffin – beautifully cooked. There are numerous B&Bs in Torquay but The Shirley stands out because of Gary and his genuine interest in his guests and his passion to ensure we enjoyed our stay [albeit one night] which we did.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSK085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to know that even though you were only with us for one night you did enjoy yourselves. At 'The Shirley' we do try to cater for specialist diets where possible nand we have many returning guests who require a gluten free breakfast menu. We also have started to provide gluten free biscuits for our guest rooms.

Although you travelled some distance we do hope that if you ever come back to Torquay that you will come and see us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#7 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing