We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't do more for us!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #14 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't do more for us!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights is Aug 2013.
We were greeted by Garry. Smiley and Joking with a pot of tea, and showed us around the hotel, and outside pool. Which is supposed to be heated, but is COLD, alright once you get used to it.
Our room was at the top of four flights of Stairs, which was a bit of a killer, especially after such a huge breakfast. Not good for disabled people of those who find walking a task.

Our room was a bit small for my liking, and we were at the back of the hotel, and overlooked the garden, which was more like a rubble tip.

2 minute walk down the road into Torquay, and the Harbour. Not much further to the beach.

All very friendly, they even dried our towels from the pool in their dryer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_Rose2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we'll see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    92
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
404
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
carmel flintshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. When we arrived after a very long journey we were greeted by the lovely hosts. A pot of tea was very welcome. Gary helped us with bags and showed us around. This is a very comfortable and friendly place to stay. Room had everything we needed and more. You are very well looked after here towels are lovely and bed is very comfortable. Lots of little luxuries you probably wouldn't get elsewhere. They have great staff here that also makes a difference. Everything about our experience here was wonderful top marks for breakfast faultless! Unfortunately I was not feeling 100% when we checked out and didn't get chance to thank them both very much. You deserve all the good reviews and you should be very proud of yourselves. Thanks once again from Michelle and John.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank arnol9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. Debbie will be particularly pleased with your comments regarding the breakfast . Thank you also for your lovely comments about our girls. They do try so hard to ensure that everyone enjoys their stay with us and we will make sure that your praise is passed onto them. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Had a lovely stay at The Shirley. We were there for two nights in the family room which was very clean and tidy with some added pampering treats. The breakfast was scrumptious. Gary and Debbie were lovely hosts and couldn't do enough for us. We would definitely recommend this hotel (only to the able bodied though as steps and drive are very steep). It was perfect distance from the main town centre, enough to walk and enough to be away from the noise at bedtime :).

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank chixie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
It was lovely being able to look after you all. We're glad that your break was all that you had hoped for and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Returned to the shirley for our 2nd stay after spending our honeymoon here in 2009, stayed for 5 nights.Debbie and gary are brilliant host,lovely location,close to sea/town ,short walk away. Our bedroom was really nice and comfortable and very clean. all them little added touches were lovely, everything we needed right down to a little sewing kit.Has a relaxing lounger to sit in if you don't fancy going out or staying in your room. debbie and gary are always at hand if you need anything.A warm welcome on arrival and a nice cuppa and chat,Breakfast is super with much to offer, perfect cook debbie and gary can't do enough for you making sure you are ok. has a small pool outside with seating area..loved our stay, can not wait to return again for our 3rd stay.

Room Tip: we were on top for both visit,no lifts lots of stairs ,so make sure you ask what floor if you are un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slm924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
It was so nice to see you both again. It's a real tonic for us when we can greet returning guests. Please don't leave it too long before you come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Just returned from after a 5-day break. Had a really enjoyable stay. Gary & Debbie are wonderful hosts. The bedroom was really nice and comfortable whilst the breakfast was all you could wish for. We would definitely stay again and thoroughly recommend the Shirley.
Pete & Pauline H.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thanks very much for your stunning review. We are so very pleased that you both enjoyed your break with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Only stayed one night but enjoyed the warm hospitality in this old Torquay hotel. Great host, good location within walking distance of the centre and very good breakfast. Rooms are quite small but nicely furnished with everything needed for a pleasant stay. Honour bar open to 20.00 and a comfortable lounge to sit and read. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We're pleased that you were able to sit and relax in our lounge which is one of the features of 'The Shirley'. We find that it's a good mixing place for our guests to either talk or relax along with our bar although it is open until 10pm and not 8pm. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

All my family, this included my husband, myself, our 2 sons, their wives and 3 grandchildren Stayed at the Shirley hotel to celebrate my husbands secret 60th birthday and we combined our 39yr Anniversary as well. Garry and Debbie where in on the secret and gave my husband the surprise of his life, they where really helpful so that the surprise wouldn't be spoilt, they did us proud :)
Everything was spot on in the hotel, very clean and well organised establishment, breakfast was lovely, nothing was too much trouble, and staff where very helpful at all times. We would definitely stay there again, and would highly recommend the Shirley to our friends

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thesc0users
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that we were able to assist in making the weekend both a surprise and a roaring success. We do try to go that extra mile if we are able and we hope that it won't be too long before you all come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing