We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location.”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #30 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The owners and sraff were very welcoming and friendly. The room was lovely and had everything you could want in it, and more. We arrived early and asked if we could leave the car in the car park, and as the room was ready Gary checked us in. This made our day in Torquay longer and we were very grateful. This is a really lovely place to stay, it has parking, a bar/ lounge, seasonal pool and an outside terrace, plus the best bit was the very easy walk in to town. 10 out of 10 Gary and Debbie, you have a great hotel. We highly recommend you!

Room Tip: We had a superior room and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 303Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky to be located so close to everything in Torquay. Also having such great bus links so close at hand is a real advantage to guests as it makes the car redundant for most days. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife and I spent 1 night here with 5 other friends in 3 separate rooms in early September. Fabulous place with great hosts. Breakfast was a treat and very friendly service. One of our party had to catch a train to Falmouth so Gary jumped on the Internet and printed off the complex logistics needed. Above and beyond service.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review 'The Shirley'. We don't think that we go above and beyond the call of duty. To us it's the way that we have always looked after our guests. We truly hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay in the UK and that hopefully you will return and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Shirley is wonderful. Our standard double was more than acceptable with a nice ensuite, bottled water, very nice towels, plenty of plugs for our cell phones, tablets, ipads, etc.
As the staff was preparing for the next guests, I looked around the corner at a superior room, and it was lovely. Maybe next time.
The breakfast was very good: I had the English, my husband the enormous omelet. The fruit with the buffet was especially good.
Our only problem was getting into and out of the parking lot, but Garry helped us with both those chores as well as getting our luggage up to the room.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of some very good restaurants; we didn't find the stairs a problem, but some older folks might.
All in all, we were very pleased and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schnauzerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Than you for writing such a warm and kind review. We enjoyed looking after you, even though it was only for one night! We always try to make our guests feel at home and we are glad that you felt that your expectations had been met. Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife & I stayed here with our 7 year old son the night before a family wedding in Torquay. From the first time I called regarding our booking to the moment we checked out Debbie & Gary were the perfect, attentive hosts.
They made sure that they knew everyone's name and took every effort to talk to us and our fellow guests without being intrusive.
There was a wide range of options for breakfast and ours was cooked really well (Full English / Smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on a muffin).
The attention to detail shown was lovely - much better than the hotel that we spent the next night in, The Imperial, where we felt a bit underwhelmed by the whole experience - I wish we'd stayed here for the two nights!!
Wholeheartedly recommend & we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you for taking time out to write about your experience with us. We do try to give our guests a home from home experience with those few extra touches thrown in. Guests often comment about our breakfasts. Debbie takes a lot of pride and great care to ensure that you enjoy what is the most important meal of the day. Hopefully it won't be long before you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

What a fantastic hotel, This was our first visit to the Shirley and everything about the place including the breakfast was so impressive. Gary and his wife Debbie were the perfect hosts and could not do enough to ensure that our stay was a memorable one.

Thanks again and hope to see you soon,

From John (Notts Co), Jenny, Sue and Steve.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of 'The Shirley'. We are so very pleased that you chose to stay with us and we hope that you won't leave it too long before you make a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with our 10 month old daughter, and we couldn't have asked for better!

The hosts Garry and Debbie were very welcoming and attentive, nothing was too much trouble and they also catered very well for our baby during our stay! The breakfast was lovely and well cooked, and always served with a smile :) !

The room was lovely and little
things like toiletries and bath robes was a very nice touch! Having not been to Torquay for a long time, we were given plenty of ideas of where is good to visit and eat out! We would love to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanLau86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have a saying at 'The Shirley' which is "It's the little things that matter." We are pleased that we made your stay as enjoyable as it was and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel is beautiful, the owners and staff are a delight, so friendly and helpfull, the breakfasts were delicious and we had a fantastic time. The pool was clean and just the right temperature!! Our room was beautiful and the little touches like water and sweets in the room were a lifesaver!

Gary and Debbie and their son Adam were wonderful hosts, they made us feel so welcome and the children cried as they didn't want to leave!

Gary and Debbie were so helpful and even advised us of the best beaches, restaurants etc I would recommend this hotel to anyone especially families

Room Tip: If you have problems with exercise or mobility then don't take a room on the top floor as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

We so enjoyed having you and your family to stay with us. The children are an absolute delight and so well behaved. It really was such a pleasure. Thanks for the comments regarding the pool. We work very hard to keep it at a comfortable temperature and its so nice to see people enjoy using it, especially as we can only open it during the Summer. We would dearly love to see you all again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#40 of 85 in Torquay
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
0 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hillcroft - Boutique unique
1.1 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#25 of 149 in Torquay
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £58 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing