We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and good”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #19 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cogorno, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“clean and good”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights in September . We had a lovely room, very nicely decorated and with very comfortable beds. Good location, near the harbour and the town centre. Gary and his wife were very friendly and polite, always willing to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mondreche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will visit us again when you return to England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    93
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
406
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The owners and sraff were very welcoming and friendly. The room was lovely and had everything you could want in it, and more. We arrived early and asked if we could leave the car in the car park, and as the room was ready Gary checked us in. This made our day in Torquay longer and we were very grateful. This is a really lovely place to stay, it has parking, a bar/ lounge, seasonal pool and an outside terrace, plus the best bit was the very easy walk in to town. 10 out of 10 Gary and Debbie, you have a great hotel. We highly recommend you!

Room Tip: We had a superior room and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 303Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky to be located so close to everything in Torquay. Also having such great bus links so close at hand is a real advantage to guests as it makes the car redundant for most days. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife and I spent 1 night here with 5 other friends in 3 separate rooms in early September. Fabulous place with great hosts. Breakfast was a treat and very friendly service. One of our party had to catch a train to Falmouth so Gary jumped on the Internet and printed off the complex logistics needed. Above and beyond service.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review 'The Shirley'. We don't think that we go above and beyond the call of duty. To us it's the way that we have always looked after our guests. We truly hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay in the UK and that hopefully you will return and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast US
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Shirley is wonderful. Our standard double was more than acceptable with a nice ensuite, bottled water, very nice towels, plenty of plugs for our cell phones, tablets, ipads, etc.
As the staff was preparing for the next guests, I looked around the corner at a superior room, and it was lovely. Maybe next time.
The breakfast was very good: I had the English, my husband the enormous omelet. The fruit with the buffet was especially good.
Our only problem was getting into and out of the parking lot, but Garry helped us with both those chores as well as getting our luggage up to the room.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of some very good restaurants; we didn't find the stairs a problem, but some older folks might.
All in all, we were very pleased and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schnauzerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Than you for writing such a warm and kind review. We enjoyed looking after you, even though it was only for one night! We always try to make our guests feel at home and we are glad that you felt that your expectations had been met. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife & I stayed here with our 7 year old son the night before a family wedding in Torquay. From the first time I called regarding our booking to the moment we checked out Debbie & Gary were the perfect, attentive hosts.
They made sure that they knew everyone's name and took every effort to talk to us and our fellow guests without being intrusive.
There was a wide range of options for breakfast and ours was cooked really well (Full English / Smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on a muffin).
The attention to detail shown was lovely - much better than the hotel that we spent the next night in, The Imperial, where we felt a bit underwhelmed by the whole experience - I wish we'd stayed here for the two nights!!
Wholeheartedly recommend & we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for taking time out to write about your experience with us. We do try to give our guests a home from home experience with those few extra touches thrown in. Guests often comment about our breakfasts. Debbie takes a lot of pride and great care to ensure that you enjoy what is the most important meal of the day. Hopefully it won't be long before you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

What a fantastic hotel, This was our first visit to the Shirley and everything about the place including the breakfast was so impressive. Gary and his wife Debbie were the perfect hosts and could not do enough to ensure that our stay was a memorable one.

Thanks again and hope to see you soon,

From John (Notts Co), Jenny, Sue and Steve.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of 'The Shirley'. We are so very pleased that you chose to stay with us and we hope that you won't leave it too long before you make a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with our 10 month old daughter, and we couldn't have asked for better!

The hosts Garry and Debbie were very welcoming and attentive, nothing was too much trouble and they also catered very well for our baby during our stay! The breakfast was lovely and well cooked, and always served with a smile :) !

The room was lovely and little
things like toiletries and bath robes was a very nice touch! Having not been to Torquay for a long time, we were given plenty of ideas of where is good to visit and eat out! We would love to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanLau86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have a saying at 'The Shirley' which is "It's the little things that matter." We are pleased that we made your stay as enjoyable as it was and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#7 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing