We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #19 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gwent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We have just had our second stay at The Shirley, and it wasn't a disappointment. The welcome you receive is second to none. Our room was very nicely decorated and there where lots of nice little touches- bottled water on each side of the bed every day, fresh milk in a fridge on the landing. The breakfasts were fantastic with lots of choice and locally sourced produce. The location of The Shirley is ideal, close enough to the harbour, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle to ensure a quiet nights sleep. Hosts Debbie and Garry are very nice people and they make you feel at home straight away. We will definitely return!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShineyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was good to see you both again and we look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    94
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
413
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
march
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Firstly we couldn't have wished for a better hotel, Gary & Debbie want you to enjoy your stay and really make sure that you do, if you want to know something they help , if you need something they will try to help you get it. You get the friendly , personal touch when you stay at the Shirley.
We stayed in the standard room and found it really good value for money, nicely decorated and furnished, flat screen tv, en-suite spacious and a pretty good shower too, and most important a very comfortable bed.
Now to probably the most important part , the breakfast, all I can say is if what is on offer doesn't do it for you go self catering because you will have a job to match the quality and choice whether hot or cold. To all Coeliacs out there Debbie really took care and had gluten free products so a full "brekkie" could be had and even supplied g/f biscuits in the room ! ! So all G/F people out there you can be confident that there is someone who knows how to look after you at this hotel.
The location is really good as it is in a really quiet road but close enough that you can walk to all the action and sea front leaving the car in the hotels car park although as in much of Torquay there is a slight hill to walk up on your return. The only downside to The Shirley is that you need to be able to negotiate the incline and the steps that lead to the hotel entrance but I would think anybody that had a problem would know that from the info about the hotel.
My last comment to include in this review is Thank You to all the really pleasant staff and to Gary and Debbie for being wonderful hosts. This is my choice without hesitation when I visit Torquay again.

Room Tip: Don't think there would be a bad room as I never heard anyone complain or comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stotfold-swahili-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
What a lovely review. We are pleased that you had such a good time with us and that you felt at ease with our provisions for your Gluten Free diet that was required. All of our staff are aware of the high importance of the correct method of handling and serving Gluten Free foods. It's nice to know that we were able to relieve the worry that you may have felt initially.

We will also pass on your thanks to our staff who strive to ensure that everyone has a good experience when they stay at 'The Shirley'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at The Shirley and we have to say that it was very comfortable and the hosts are very warm and welcoming.Breakfast was fantastic and so was the table service.Our room was very clean and well appointed.The hotel is in short walking distance from the main centre of Torquay so there was no need to worry about driving or cabs.On the whole we had a wonderful stay at The Shirley an would recommend it to anybody. Thank you for a very pleasant long weekend, just wished it had been longer.. STEVE and RACHELXX

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to a longer return visit in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We only had 1 night here, but it proved to be one of the nicest places we have stayed in, and we have stayed in a few. Gary went out of his way to help us (he'll understand). The room was lovely and spotlessly clean, and the bathroom even better, so nice to have a window in there. Breakfast was superb in every way. No hesitation in recomending this hotel to future customers.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, would suggest a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Debbie and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we both hope that you will return for even longer on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have just come back from a week stay at The Shirley and we had an excellent time.
Right from the beginning we had excellent service, they couldn't be more helpful. We have never been to Torquay before and they suggested restaurants and local attractions to visit. When we said we wanted to afternoon tea they suggested a cafe then booked it for us.
Breakfast was brilliant. There was a wide selection of cooked choices and a wide range of cereals and if you got bored there was additional options such as American pancakes.
Our room was at the top of the house it was comfy and there was complimentary toiletries.
Overall a lovely stay and I would recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Many thanks for your lovely and thoughtful review. We do try to provide little extras such as the water and sweets. We have also found the the fresh milk for teas and coffees has been well received by guests. We also believe that you can have a lovely hotel but if the service is poor the whole experience is degraded. We have always given 100% to our guests and it's nice to know that this is appreciated. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

What a find! Very welcoming and relaxing hotel close to the centre of Torquay. Comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast. We were made very welcome and would not hesitate to return or to recommend to our friends. The hotel even has a heated swimming pool not found in many B & B's.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbins1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Many thanks for your review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Me and my lovely fiancee spend the August bank holiday in the Shirley and we can just recommend it to everyone traveling to Troquay.
Your hosts Garry and Debbie will take care of everything you need and want.
The rooms are perfectly cleaned and fitted with all the amenities you need.
The house is in a perfect location with great views of the Torquay bay (if you are lucky to have the room on the top floor)
All the restaurants and shops are in a short walking distance so you don't need a car or cab.
But the best part of the whole experience is the breakfast, just stunning, everything made fresh to order from superb quality ingredients.
I can just say thank you very much for having us, we will be back for sure
Roman & Erika

Room Tip: Top floor (but they are all good)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you both for your kind words, especially regarding the breakfast. Debbie is rightly proud and always goes that extra mile to ensure that it not only tastes great but looks terrific. It's nice to know that it's appreciated. Our location is also another plus with everything within such easy reach. We look forward to entertaining you on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 150 in Torquay
476 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 150 in Torquay
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#8 of 150 in Torquay
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#12 of 150 in Torquay
300 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#5 of 150 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing