We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #19 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
llangollen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have just spent a wonderful, relaxing holiday at The Shirley. What a ideal hotel to relax and use as a base for Christmas shopping. Garry and Debbie were perfect hosts, friendly and helpful. Definitely be back for our summer holidays.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LlangollenLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your review. It was really nice to see you both again. The Shirley is a relaxing place to stay and recharge your batteries. We look forward to seeing you again in the Summer with the boys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    93
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
409
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a great place to stay, run by two of the nicest people you'll meet. The rooms have everything you could possible need, including a guide of the local area i.e places to eat etc.

The breakfast was brilliant, we had a large full English, just what you need to start the day!

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you so, so much for your wonderful comments. We really do enjoy what we do and we are pleased that our actions are appreciated. Please come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Lovely warm welcome and we felt at home straight away. After checking in we walked down the hill to town, so very handy for shopping and harbour. Our room was comfortable and warm. Fresh milk available in fridge on landing for drinks supplied. Little extras also supplied eg biscuits and toiletries. Nice large bath towels. And breakfast excellent, plenty of choice. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHart33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Lovely old building and the hosts were friendly and very helpful, however the room was small with far too much furniture in it could have been a lot better, the en suite was so small you couldn't dry yourself in it, great location and lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridgie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry that you found the room and en-suite to be too small. We are currently in the process of upgrading several of our rooms over the Winter. We do hope that you will be able to return to us at some stage in the future to see the fruits of our labours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here a little while ago. The hotel itself was nice and the owners were nice enough too. I think the man was a little bit more friendly than the woman. Even though she was helpful etc, I could not help but feel she was doing it slightly begrudgingly.

Location wise it was near to the main town but at the time we went, there was not really much going on.

The hotel itself was nice enough and clean, but not necessarily anything special about it that I could say. The decor is a bit dated, but not in a Victorian way but maybe a 1970s sort of way. I have stayed at better and I have stayed at worst. Breakfast wise it was ok but nothing really to write home about.

All in all, it was an ok enough place to stay and the hosts were nice enough. But I do not think I would be returning to Torquay any time soon. There seem to be a lot of chav like people around this area too.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smexci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review although we are truly sorry that you only found that your experience was just 'ok'. Unfortunately we have no idea when you stayed with us or which room you occupied.

We genuinely enjoy what we do and are very proud of what we have achieved in our time at 'The Shirley'. Debbie was particularly upset that you felt that her care and consideration was being seen as 'begrudging'. I can honestly say that no-one has ever found her to be this way in any shape or form. This is indeed the first ever review that has ever criticised her manner in any way. Those who know her would challenge this. For her part she is truly devastated by these words and if she knew what she had done to give that impression Debbie would really like to know.

In your review you stated that the breakfast was 'nothing to write home about'. In review after review that we have received our breakfast has always been applauded and for many of our guests is a positive part of their stay with us. We're so sorry that you don't share those opinions.

We do know that in some areas 'The Shirley' is in need of re-decoration and we are in the middle of a major work schedule as I write. New carpets are being laid in the new year. Three ceilings have been replaced within the last three weeks. One bedroom is now completely stripped with new furniture and décor being installed and fitted. This should be completed within the next three weeks.

In summary it is not possible for us to influence the area or the events in the town in which we live, but we can truly say that we give our all to every guest without exception when they pass through our door and into our home. We care passionately about the service that we give and always do everything in our power to ensure that people leave us feeling that we could not have done anything more to have made their stay any better than they experienced with the means at our disposal.

We do hope that you will consider returning in the future when you will be able to see some of the improvements that we are making at present.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Shirley Hotel was a clean and warm hotel with a very welcoming couple at the helm.
Breakfast was wonderful.
Small room, small bed and small toilet/shower is only negative thing we could find to say.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's nice to know that it was perfect including the breakfast !!! We are sorry that you found the bed a little small although it is a standard 4'6" size. We do however offer larger beds in both our Superior and Superior Plus rooms. We are pleased that this didn't detract your enjoyment from your stay with us and we hope very much to see you again on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable and clean accommodation, family room was perfect. Hotel location very well situated. Owners were very nice indeed, helpful and made a wonderful English breakfast. Can recommend with no hesitation.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChunkyM0nk3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your review. It's really great to know that you enjoyed your stay and especially our breakfast. It seems to be a hit with most of our guests. Hopefully we will see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
497 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#7 of 87 in Torquay
1,014 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#9 of 149 in Torquay
1,057 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 149 in Torquay
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing